Texas Health and Human Services Commission Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
33%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Texas Health and Human Services Commission Executive Commissioner Courtney N. Phillips (no image)
Courtney N. Phillips
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits; friendliness; team work; flexibility; good hours;(in 42 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and good hours to work(in 36 reviews)

Cons
  • "Very low pay for all the requirements expected to be met(in 50 reviews)

  • "NO family oriented, the mandatory overtime is huge and they don't like the absent for sick or family reasons(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great job in IT"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Analyst V 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Health and Human Services Commission full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, caring Managers and Supervisors

    Cons

    Non competitive Pay, very few chances to increase your pay

    Texas Health and Human Services Commission2019-09-13
  2. "Great opportunity for growth"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Texas Health and Human Services Commission full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Multiple locations, helping those in need

    Cons

    Close proximity to clients, outdated offices

    Texas Health and Human Services Commission2020-06-04
  3. "Have a positive attitude and Success will surrender"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Texas Works Advisor II 

    I worked at Texas Health and Human Services Commission full-time

    Pros

    Employed 10yrs with HHSC in San Antonio. My office location was 7 minutes from my home. I wore several hats during my time with the agency and I can honestly say that every day was a challenge internal and external. I realized that my salary evened out with my great health benefits!

    Cons

    The management was becoming a bit of Micro managing. Not all teams on the same page. The moral was a bit declined

    Continue reading
    Texas Health and Human Services Commission2020-06-02
  4. "Great job, great career path, wonderful team and work environment and benefits are superb!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Texas Works Advisor in Mexia, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Health and Human Services Commission full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The benefits, paid time off, career track and team. Compensation is great too!

    Cons

    It’s customer service so just like anywhere else they have their bad days haha!

    Texas Health and Human Services Commission2020-05-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing workplace"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Senior Business Analyst in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Health and Human Services Commission full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, culture, environment, friendliness, pay, health benefits

    Cons

    old buildings, slow pace, sometimes the people,

    Texas Health and Human Services Commission2020-05-13
  6. "Great coworkers who care"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Texas Health and Human Services Commission full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers and meaningful work.

    Cons

    Always a lot of work to be done.

    Texas Health and Human Services Commission2020-05-12
  7. "Question"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Working Capital Advisory 

    I have been working at Texas Health and Human Services Commission full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and good hours to work

    Cons

    Too much info and very little people

    Texas Health and Human Services Commission2020-04-28
  8. "Generous Holiday and Sick Time"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - LVN in Kerrville, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Health and Human Services Commission full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Generous size time and holiday pay , leave policy, pleanty of over time available

    Cons

    Lower take home pay than my last job

    Texas Health and Human Services Commission2020-04-25
  9. "Unrealistic expectations and Low morale"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Disability Examiner in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Health and Human Services Commission full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Paid State Holidays, Offers Health Insurance

    Cons

    Insane caseloads, low pay, high turn over rates, low morale, many employees have anxiety trying to meet their stats

    Continue reading
    Texas Health and Human Services Commission2020-05-06
  10. "Great for Data Entry"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Purchasing Agent in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Health and Human Services Commission full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The organization does great work and there is much more attention to improve purchasing. The people are also wonderful. Solicitations are interesting!

    Cons

    Purchasing is entirely data entry. There is little way to add value outside of that. Those efforts are sometimes more labor-some than they should be because of past data entry errors, misunderstandings across departments, and the variance of scenarios with the problems and constraints presented. In these scenarios, you're quite dependent on guidance.

    Continue reading
    Texas Health and Human Services Commission2020-04-19
Found 563 reviews