Texas Land and Cattle Reviews | Glassdoor

Texas Land and Cattle Reviews

Updated Nov 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
39%
Recommend to a Friend
25%
Approve of CEO
Texas Land and Cattle CEO Scott C. Smith (no image)
Scott C. Smith
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 4 reviews)

  • "Flexible schedule if you are a student taking classes(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "Frequent menu changes going on too right now(in 3 reviews)

  • "Upper management were not partial to ones feelings and when something went wrong the lower management were always to blame(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Line Cook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Land and Cattle

    Pros

    Nice atmosphere. Steady wages during summer months.

    Cons

    Slow during off months of winter.

    Texas Land and Cattle2015-11-11
  2. "Not what you'd expect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Texas Land and Cattle full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    friendly customers, easy menu, flexible schedule

    Cons

    inexperienced managers, extremely lean staff at times

    Texas Land and Cattle2019-11-07
  3. "Out of Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Bedford, TX

    I worked at Texas Land and Cattle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Making good friends there and people that I still stay in touch with.

    Cons

    They sold and closed over half their stores putting a lot of people out of work.

    Continue reading
    Texas Land and Cattle2019-10-15
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good Pay, but a Dishonest Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Texas Land and Cattle full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay was good for my position (45K with bonus potential based on location's sales) Local management was good (Area Manager was a great guy!) Food was great sale Individual restaurant location was great (located in high business area)

    Cons

    Bonuses only came for first year, then only promises Rarely given money for facilities requests. Often had to switch facilities providers since we couldn't pay our bills. Constant menu changes which drove away customer base. Upper management is the worst I've seen; they insult individual managers during weekly meetings on a personal level for store performance Turnover rate for managers was high (we went through 5 in our location alone in a year) We had no General Manager for most of my time working there Told to lie to customers about product quality to drive up sales Barely any notice that our city's locations were being closed No opportunity to move up unless you're willing to keep the same salary

    Texas Land and Cattle2019-06-27
  5. "One of the better places to wait"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Waiter in Bedford, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Texas Land and Cattle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Well run place. Great management.

    Cons

    Not always getting enough days

    Continue reading
    Texas Land and Cattle2019-02-13
  6. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Server in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Land and Cattle part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome coworkers. Good paid and good experiences

    Cons

    None to provide cons to work there

    Texas Land and Cattle2018-10-23
  7. "It was a decent place to work but changes in management had a negative effect on my experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Texas Land and Cattle part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management, good food, higher menu prices to increase check averages

    Cons

    Low pay, do not have the tools to effectively do job, no marketing to increase sales

    Continue reading
    Texas Land and Cattle2018-07-16
  8. "server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Texas Land and Cattle full-time

    Pros

    the food is taste good.

    Cons

    no longer open not that busy

    Continue reading
    Texas Land and Cattle2018-04-27
  9. "My experience was bad enough to give details honestly. Bad they are BAD."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Texas Land and Cattle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch, and the few excellent workers.seriously there is nothing else good about this place.

    Cons

    Managment, managment, ignorance along with power is always a bad combo. Not to mention dishonesty to their patrons and employees,

    Continue reading
    Texas Land and Cattle2018-02-18
  10. "Bartender/server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server Trainer/Bartender in Katy, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Texas Land and Cattle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best people ive ever worked with!!! Well with rhe exception of a few managers. Everyone was one big happy family and i miss them

    Cons

    A stupid manager or two! Nobody really cared and it showed!!

    Continue reading
    Texas Land and Cattle2017-11-26
Found 51 reviews