Texas Tech University Graduate Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Texas Tech University Graduate Assistant Reviews

Updated Aug 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 88 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Texas Tech University CEO Dr. John Opperman
Dr. John Opperman
13 Ratings
  1. "Graduate Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Assistant in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Texas Tech University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, made a lot of friends!

    Cons

    Some professors don’t explain exactly how they prefer things to be done. There’s a learning curve to it

    Continue reading
    Texas Tech University2019-08-19
  2. "Student Success & Retention Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Student Research Assistant in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Texas Tech University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful work-life balance, very flexible hours with school schedule, and lots of opportunity to learn.

    Cons

    Didn't do the job I was hired to do, instead worked as a Peer Success Coach. Little direction from management (top-down issue), and ridiculously long and unnecessary meetings make it IMPOSSIBLE to get anything done. Also, the management stifled his student employees because (it seemed) he was very self-conscious about seeming lesser than his workers, and therefore took all their credit for himself.

    Continue reading
    Texas Tech University2019-08-16
  3. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 

    I worked at Texas Tech University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good experience and staff, you'll make some money

    Cons

    you'll work more than 20hr/week

    Continue reading
    Texas Tech University2019-08-12
  4. "Wonderful employer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Student Assistant in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Texas Tech University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Incredible supervisors, positive work environment, flexibility

    Cons

    Coming from more professional backgrounds, some staff members lack professionalism as their only job has been at Tech

    Continue reading
    Texas Tech University2019-07-13
  5. "Wreck Em"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant 

    I worked at Texas Tech University part-time

    Pros

    Working at Tech gave me great experience to be able to take into the real world after finishing up my Masters degree

    Cons

    The organization of some departments is laughable. There were some hurdles throughout my grad career and organization could have been a quick fix to them.

    Continue reading
    Texas Tech University2019-06-29
  6. "Great part-time job for demanding graduate work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Student Assistant in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends

    I worked at Texas Tech University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible with school schedule, good experience

    Cons

    Low pay, no parking access

    Continue reading
    Texas Tech University2019-06-26
  7. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 

    I worked at Texas Tech University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Each professor has different requirements and projects, but usually it is 20 hours per week, and you receive a tuition waiver and stipend,

    Cons

    Confusing process to get hired with administration

    Continue reading
    Texas Tech University2019-06-11
  8. "Rawls College of Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 

    I have been working at Texas Tech University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Rawls College of Business Administration has a relatively good reputation.

    Cons

    Not super friendly environment for internationals

    Continue reading
    Texas Tech University2019-05-27
  9. "Graduate Student Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Lubbock, TX

    I have been working at Texas Tech University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pretty social life and people are friendly

    Cons

    Stipend is terrible...Its hard to survive on it.

    Continue reading
    Texas Tech University2019-05-25
  10. "review grad life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Tech University part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Small city, good environment, if you find a good advisor, you can do a good job here

    Cons

    sometimes you get bored, due to the city location.

    Continue reading
    Texas Tech University2019-05-01
Found 88 reviews