Texas Tech University Graduate Teaching Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Texas Tech University Graduate Teaching Assistant Reviews

Updated Jun 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Texas Tech University CEO Dr. John Opperman
Dr. John Opperman
2 Ratings
  1. "Great experience as graduate teaching instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends

    I worked at Texas Tech University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Helpful supervisor Great training Awesome peers were very helpful

    Cons

    I have no cons I can think of

    Texas Tech University2018-07-02
  2. "Wreck Em"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant 

    I worked at Texas Tech University part-time

    Pros

    Working at Tech gave me great experience to be able to take into the real world after finishing up my Masters degree

    Cons

    The organization of some departments is laughable. There were some hurdles throughout my grad career and organization could have been a quick fix to them.

    Texas Tech University2019-06-29
  3. "Graduate TA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Lubbock, TX

    I have been working at Texas Tech University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, department stands with the graduate students, opportunities to work in a multitude of positions.

    Cons

    Somewhat political but that's the case with most universities. At least most professors care about the graduate students.

    Texas Tech University2019-05-06
  4. "Graduate Teaching Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Texas Tech University part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Illustrious faculty; wide connections in the academia; and research

    Cons

    Low pay;high faculty movements; and dwindling student enrollment

    Advice to Management

    Make good hires--renew focus on students and research.

    Texas Tech University2018-07-27
  5. "Pretty Good salary for grad students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Tech University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Large campus, Good graduate student salary and low living cost

    Cons

    Public transportation not good. must buy a car soon

    Texas Tech University2017-11-25
  6. "TTU is awesome, but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant 

    I worked at Texas Tech University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The academic programs are on an upward trend and the faculty are, for the most part, supportive.

    Cons

    No health insurance for graduate students unless you want to pay a high premium.

    Advice to Management

    Start including health insurance in your teaching assistant packages (or at least a lower premium). Graduate students have health care needs too.

    Texas Tech University2017-12-08
  7. "Teaching Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Texas Tech University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, the work itself is not very intense.

    Cons

    Sometimes there are a lot of annoying managerial things that have to be done. A lot of weekly grading.

    Advice to Management

    Cut out parts of the curriculum that don't truly benefit the department/school.

    Texas Tech University2017-10-02
  8. "A great University to work for and better yourself"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends

    I have been working at Texas Tech University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great stipend Fee waivers are applied If hired, you get the in-state tuition rate if you're not from Texas Easy to get around campus

    Cons

    No medical coverage/insurance benefits for Teaching Assistants Athletics Fee isn't covered No special parking privileges

    Texas Tech University2017-07-25
  9. "Overall Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Lubbock, TX

    I worked at Texas Tech University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Texas Tech is a beautiful campus. The workload is okay. Nice and friendly working environment.

    Cons

    No pay increase for five straight years. Health insurance was way too expensive.

    Advice to Management

    Teaching assistants should have been limited to teaching two lab courses instead of three. Pay should be increased in order to keep up with the rising living expenses.

    Texas Tech University2016-12-04
  10. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Tech University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The camaraderie of students is very helpful, hours can be flexible, can learn how to use different machines, can learn about looking up publications.

    Cons

    Faculty can be petty, a lot of professors do not care after getting tenure and get lazy, very big egos in a small space.

    Texas Tech University2016-06-15
Found 15 reviews