Texas Tech University Instructor Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Instructor

Texas Tech University Instructor Reviews

Updated Jun 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Texas Tech University CEO Dr. John Opperman
Dr. John Opperman
3 Ratings
  1. "Very good school for Graduate study"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Part-Time Instructor in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Tech University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Good financial assistantship available during graduate studies -Professors are helpful -Good lab faciities for conducting research -Its a Good research school

    Cons

    -The location is a little far from major big cities in Texas -Weather is very unpredictable in Lubbock

    Advice to Management

    Need more collaboration between industry and school

    Texas Tech University2018-04-25
  2. "Overall good considering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor, College Or University 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Tech University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    TTU is a great place to work.

    Cons

    However, not every department values instructors (compared to tenure trac faculty), despite the fact that they may carry a great deal of responsibility and make significant contributions.

    Advice to Management

    Keep authority in tandem with responsibility.

    Texas Tech University2019-06-30
  3. "Graduate part-time instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Instructor in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Tech University part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    acceptable salary friendly environment thriving school low cost of living Awesome mentor

    Cons

    little room for promotion distant from other companies small city low competitiveness high work-load

    Advice to Management

    consider graduate schedules and work-load

    Texas Tech University2017-07-13
  4. "Part Time Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Part-time Instructor in Lubbock, TX

    I have been working at Texas Tech University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Texas Tech is a beautiful campus.

    Cons

    Lubbock is in middle of nowhere. The nearest big city is Dallas which is 5 hours drive from Lubbock.

    Texas Tech University2017-03-18
  5. "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineering Instructor in Fairfield, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Texas Tech University for less than a year

    Pros

    I started as a Teaching Assistant. I was promoted to Graduate Part-time Instructor then to instructor. Very nice work environment. Competitive pay and affordable living expense.

    Cons

    I requested for H1B but they did not offer

    Texas Tech University2016-10-29
  6. "Great Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Part-Time Instructor in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Tech University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Texas Tech College of Engineering pays one of the top salaries to its graduate students in the nation.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, the bureaucracy works extremely slow and there are a lot of fundamentalists in the system.

    Advice to Management

    Keep increaasing the salaries to stay competitive and try to hire more graduate students, since the number of undergraduates are growing extremely.

    Texas Tech University2016-09-18
  7. "Mathematics Department -- Instructor Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mathematics Instructor in Lubbock, TX

    I worked at Texas Tech University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The mathematics department gives you many liberties in structuring your classroom, and they will help when you have a question or problem.

    Cons

    The mathematics department drags its feet in proactively giving critical advice, and they are distant from their employees. There is hardly a culture of camaraderie. The university as a whole infamously places money at the forefront, not people, service, or education.

    Advice to Management

    With depression and stress being frequent in the university setting, I'd suggest hiring a very proactive, sensitive, kind but firm HR branch.

    Texas Tech University2016-08-23
  8. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Texas Tech University for more than a year

    Pros

    friendly environment and good proessors

    Cons

    not having relationship with industry

    Texas Tech University2016-07-12
  9. "Amazing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Academic Instructor in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Tech University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment. Very helpful office management. Head of the department is willing to work with the instructors.

    Cons

    Classrooms are not always perfect. Homework system is good but still there are some work needed.

    Texas Tech University2016-03-03
  10. "Graduate Student Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends

    I have been working at Texas Tech University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Students here are nice, and most seem eager to learn. Other instructors are friendly and willing to help develop curriculum.

    Cons

    The department I work in (Mechanical Engineering) is running out of space, which results in offices being small. Hopefully construction in other buildings will fix this in the future.

    Texas Tech University2015-07-09
Found 21 reviews