Texas Tech University Research Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Research Associate

Texas Tech University Research Associate Reviews

Updated Mar 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Texas Tech University CEO Dr. John Opperman
Dr. John Opperman
2 Ratings
  1. "It's good to work in TTU"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Tech University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Research projects are attractive and innovative. People are kind here. School has many activities.

    Cons

    The weather is too dry here. But after raining, the roads would be easily flooded.

    Advice to Management

    Good management. Not too much complaining.

    Texas Tech University2017-10-31
  2. "I have working here for 2 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate 

    I have been working at Texas Tech University full-time

    Pros

    Very good research opportunity in the engineering and science

    Cons

    Lubbock is very far from big city

    Texas Tech University2019-03-20
  3. "Viper Pit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate Professor in Lubbock, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Texas Tech University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The library is nice.

    Cons

    Texas Tech is nothing but a viper pit. I feel sorry for anyone that works here.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to everyone, not just managers.

    Texas Tech University2019-02-14
  4. "Love Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Lubbock, TX

    I worked at Texas Tech University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Balanced life, friendly people, nice working environment

    Cons

    lbk is kind of isolated from major cities

    Texas Tech University2017-06-04
  5. "Great Student Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends

    I worked at Texas Tech University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great boss, flexible hours, responsibilities, manageable work load

    Cons

    moderate disorganization, low pay, short-term employment, politics

    Texas Tech University2016-09-06
  6. "Research associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate in Lubbock, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Texas Tech University for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supportive faculty, lots of physical lab space, low cost of living, lots of extracurricular resources.

    Cons

    Not a lot of career resources. Funding for faculty such as assistant professors that can become mentors and supervisors for research associates appear to be lacking.

    Advice to Management

    Have more professional development resources such as seminars, workshops, meetings, discussions.

    Texas Tech University2016-09-04
  7. "Great for beginners"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate in Abilene, TX

    I worked at Texas Tech University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work as a beginner in Research departments. Excellent Faculty and staff in Abilene campus.

    Cons

    Ph.D program must begin in Abilene campus.

    Texas Tech University2016-04-05
  8. "Great School & Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Tech University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Ability to work around class schedule, good pay, great environment for technical on the job training.

    Cons

    Purchasing from certain contract vendors costs researchers more money than necessary.

    Texas Tech University2015-08-27
  9. "Graduate research assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Pullman, WA

    I worked at Texas Tech University for less than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment and good colleagues.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Texas Tech University2015-04-27
  10. "Texas Tech was a pretty good university to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Texas Tech University

    Pros

    It was very flexible and allowed me to schedule work around school. The work was not very stressful and the environment was easy to work in.

    Cons

    Occasionally, payroll was a little hard to deal with. The parking at Texas Tech can some times be a hassle as well. It is just such a big campus.

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing on and making Texas Tech a great place to work. Remember the values of the university and strive for honor!

    Texas Tech University2015-03-18
Found 14 reviews