Texas Tech University Reviews | Glassdoor

Texas Tech University Reviews

Updated Aug 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 894 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Texas Tech University CEO Dr. John Opperman
Dr. John Opperman
141 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Texas Tech University part-time

    Pros

    People are nice and professional

    Cons

    I can not think of any

    Texas Tech University2019-07-07
  2. "ok to work here as researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Undergraduate Researcher 

    I worked at Texas Tech University part-time

    Pros

    easy money, good people to work with

    Cons

    none really, depends on who you work with

    Texas Tech University2019-07-17
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Academic Counselor in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Tech University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very good on campus culture and support.

    Cons

    You pay to park at work, raises are minimum and infrequent.

    Texas Tech University2019-06-27
  4. "A great way to give back and get paid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Transfer Ambassador in Lubbock, TX

    I worked at Texas Tech University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible develops ones soft skills meet new people

    Cons

    Less hours during Fall semester

    Texas Tech University2019-07-10
  5. "Videography Intern for Texas Tech Athletics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Videographer/Editor in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Tech University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, amazing opportunities, good people to work with. You wont find any other unique jobs out there for a college student.

    Cons

    A huge time commitment that is 100% worth it.

    Texas Tech University2019-06-20
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Texas Tech University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Loved working with peers and fellow tech students and working at the sporting games.

    Cons

    Some late nights at end of games. low pay

    Texas Tech University2019-06-20
  7. "Overall good considering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor, College Or University 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Tech University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    TTU is a great place to work.

    Cons

    However, not every department values instructors (compared to tenure trac faculty), despite the fact that they may carry a great deal of responsibility and make significant contributions.

    Advice to Management

    Keep authority in tandem with responsibility.

    Texas Tech University2019-06-30
  8. "Wreck Em"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant 

    I worked at Texas Tech University part-time

    Pros

    Working at Tech gave me great experience to be able to take into the real world after finishing up my Masters degree

    Cons

    The organization of some departments is laughable. There were some hurdles throughout my grad career and organization could have been a quick fix to them.

    Texas Tech University2019-06-29
  9. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrator 

    I have been working at Texas Tech University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits! Most people are easy to work with. Have been lucky enough to have a wonderful boss that cares about others.

    Cons

    You have to write something here. No complaints!

    Texas Tech University2019-06-13
  10. "Great Mission, Poor Upper Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Texas Tech University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Great Benefits - Structure, Clear Goals and Tasks - Training - Professional Development offered annually - Experience in several areas including recruitment, data gathering, strategic management - The company provides vehicles for travel and expenses

    Cons

    - The toxic, political environment - Favoritism - Little room for upward mobility - A lot of work for little pay - Must sacrifice quite a bit of personal time due to required attendance at several recruitment events, limited opportunities to take a vacation - Workplace gossip

    Advice to Management

    Clear boundaries need to be set between management and staff, consequences for harassing and/or inappropriate behaviors, and clear pathways to upward mobility/promotions. There were several instances of microaggressions based on sex, race, gender, and orientation of which Human Resources and Upper Management turned the other way.

    Texas Tech University2019-06-27
Found 894 reviews