Texas Tech University Student Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Texas Tech University Student Assistant Reviews

Updated Sep 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 97 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
97%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Texas Tech University CEO Dr. John Opperman
Dr. John Opperman
17 Ratings
  1. "Student Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Assistant in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Texas Tech University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Adjust to your class and homework schedule

    Cons

    Demanding environment, can be very physical at times

    Texas Tech University2017-12-17
  2. "Student IT Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    IT Student Assistant in Lubbock, TX

    I worked at Texas Tech University for more than a year

    Pros

    Able to work around class schedule. The managers are very friendly. You get a lot of downtime in between tasks.

    Cons

    Can only work 20 hours max per week. Work stations are cluttered

    Texas Tech University2017-12-04
  3. "Student assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Assistant in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Texas Tech University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work because they allow students to have the freedom in their schedules

    Cons

    The pay could be a little more

    Texas Tech University2017-08-25
  4. "Best first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Student Assistant 

    I worked at Texas Tech University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are nice and friendly, learned a few valuable management skills while working.

    Cons

    My overall experience was great, no cons.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Texas Tech University2017-07-02
  5. "Student Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Assistant in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Texas Tech University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, coworkers, included somewhat in staff meetings

    Cons

    Pay could be a little better

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Texas Tech University2017-07-12
  6. "Student Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Assistant in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Texas Tech University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with students and school system, working close with people of influence within the university, and a flexible schedule

    Cons

    Not the greatest pay, but that is the trade off for a very flexible schedule and good people to work alongside with.

    Texas Tech University2017-07-06
  7. "Student Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Student Assistant in Lubbock, TX

    I have been working at Texas Tech University for more than a year

    Pros

    The people I worked with were very professional.

    Cons

    The pay is little less comparing to other jobs.

    Texas Tech University2017-04-19
  8. "Great Place to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Assistant in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Tech University part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours and the shifts stay the same weekly. they know we are students first and get that we have projects and tests

    Cons

    We are open till midnight most nights so staying late is kind of a drag but you do get to work on homework so not too bad

    Texas Tech University2017-04-24
  9. "great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Student Worker/Office Assistant 

    I worked at Texas Tech University for less than a year

    Pros

    good place for students to work

    Cons

    poor pay due to it being a student position

    Texas Tech University2017-04-16
  10. "CoMC IT Student Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Student Assistant in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Tech University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible Hours - Always something to work on - Coworkers are friendly

    Cons

    Sometimes politics get in the way of getting things done

    Advice to Management

    Keep politics and responsibilities separate.

    Texas Tech University2017-03-30
Found 97 reviews