Texas Tech University Student Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Texas Tech University Student Assistant Reviews

Updated Sep 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 97 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
97%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Texas Tech University CEO Dr. John Opperman
Dr. John Opperman
17 Ratings
  1. "Flexible timings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Library Student Assistant in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Texas Tech University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are friendly and helpful. Got to learn a lot about work ethics and working was easy as it's a stress free zone

    Cons

    Monotonous work. Sometimes its boring to do the same thing over and over again. Only one break time for lunch is allowed.

    Continue reading
    Texas Tech University2017-02-19
  2. "Great place to work part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Assistant in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Tech University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1) Flexible hours, can reschedule if needed. 2) Friendly coworkers 3) Ample training before start of work

    Cons

    Slightly low pay rate as compared to other University part-time job wages

    Continue reading
    Texas Tech University2017-01-19
  3. "Student Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Assistant in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Texas Tech University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They always make you feel welcomed and are always very friendly. They are very caring for you since they know you are a college student and they try their best for you to learn while working.

    Cons

    As a student and worker, i never had a bad experience with Texas Tech, they always worked with my schedule for both events and regular office hours. I really liked my Program director and coordinators.

    Continue reading
    Texas Tech University2017-01-11
  4. "Loved working at TTU!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Student Assistant in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Texas Tech University for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great staff, very flexible and wonderful environment to work in

    Cons

    I do not have any complaints!

    Texas Tech University2016-12-31
  5. "I am working as a student assistant in hospitality services on a part time basis"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Student Assistant in Lubbock, TX

    I have been working at Texas Tech University

    Pros

    They have a great flexibility for the shifts and can actually get complete hours to get maximum out of it

    Cons

    The places won't be working for vacation which is a downside

    Texas Tech University2016-12-16
  6. "Top Tier Catering Has Issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Texas Tech University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Getting hired on as a student is pretty easy. Student employees are given a large amount of schedule leniency for their classes. There isn't much you need to learn usually.

    Cons

    Almost exclusively manual labor unless you work a thankless fast food position. Any position clearly tied to the university itself (like Top Tier Catering) is obsessed with maintaining a good public image while giving next to nothing for the employees to be proud of themselves. Only one supervisor I had actually seemed to care about their employees. Top Tier's scheduling is awful and erratic. I was meant to only go to 20 hours as a student employee, but regularly was tasked with more than that. I had to argue over why I couldn't work a 30+ hour week while taking classes that took place during some of the shifts I was given. Top Tier brings in a lot of temp workers for large events. This wouldn't be a problem if so many of them were more consistent in their performance and reliability. We had several of them either do nothing or leave in the middle of a shift for the flimsiest excuse.

    Continue reading
    Texas Tech University2016-11-21
  7. "Student Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Student Assistant in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Texas Tech University

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, friendly people, flexible hours

    Cons

    Low pay and not always busy

    Texas Tech University2016-10-12
  8. "Student Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Assistant in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Texas Tech University part-time

    Pros

    Easy, Steady, Have time to get school work done

    Cons

    Can often be quite boring

    Texas Tech University2016-06-29
  9. "Student Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Student Assistant in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Texas Tech University for less than a year

    Pros

    Laid back environment and you get to learn a lot from the directors of the university!

    Cons

    minimum wage....They could bump it up a little bit.

    Continue reading
    Texas Tech University2016-03-31
  10. "Had Awesome Historical Time Spending At Southwest/Special Collecions Library"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Student Assistant in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Texas Tech University

    Pros

    Amazing place to come across Southwest history, awesome people to work with.

    Cons

    less opportunities and limited scope of experience

    Continue reading
    Texas Tech University2016-04-06
Found 97 reviews