KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Textbroker International

Is this your company?

Textbroker International

Add a Review

Textbroker International Writer Reviews

Updated Sep 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 91 of over 175 reviews

3.2
61%
Recommend to a Friend
Textbroker International Managing Director  El-Hadi Zahri  (no image)
El-Hadi Zahri
0 Rating

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Textbroker International and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Company

    Aug 26, 2021 - Content Writer in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture, high degree of flexibility with work hours, interesting work, smart people and an engaged and responsive management team.

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Freelancer

    Content Mills Suck

    Sep 22, 2021 - Content Writer in Boerne, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Being able to work from home when you want

    Cons

    Not enough jobs, very very low pay

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Contractor, more than 1 year

    It's ok if you're just starting out

    Sep 3, 2021 - Freelance Writer in Bellevue, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You pick and choose what you want to write, can reject if you change your mind, and clients aren't allowed to reject your content without a justifiable reason.

    Cons

    It feels exploitative; you're paid pennies for a lot of hard work. You aren't allowed much growth outside of the company or allowed to build a clientele base on your own and forfeit all rights to your work no matter what. The style and grammar rules are often based on the opinion of whoever is reviewing you at the time rather than actual rules, and it feels as though some are unnecessarily put there to keep your star levels low. This is coming from someone who actually rose the ranks, joined many teams, and got several regular direct orders. It's really only good if you're starting your freelance writing career and need the experience. Then, once you feel ready, branch out.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Contractor, more than 1 year

    you won't make much but you can get experience and a bit of cash

    Aug 30, 2021 - Content Writer in Miramar, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - make extra cash - get experience as a content writer - variety of assignments - many assignments available if you're a 4-star rating

    Cons

    - low pay - they are sticklers for details of grammar and punctuation (some of which are not even best copywriting practices), and can lower your rating for the tiniest mistake

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Temporary Employee, more than 5 years

    Low pay, horrible staff

    Jul 26, 2021 - Content Writer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None. This company has no positives in my humble opinion, only negatives and I could not recommend it to anyone

    Cons

    They have not raised their rates for their writers in ten years. Answers to question and concerns typically begin with :if you don't like it you can close your account." Worst of all is their hideous rating system. Writers are given a rating from 2 to 5 stars supposedly based on the quality of their work. In reality, ratings are based on one small part of the writing...commas. That's all the editors know how to do is nitpik on commas, and even the EDITORS don't agree...so depending on who reviews your article, you could be wrong 100% of the time. Even worse is that you are treated like a newbie forever. Every 6 weeks they "evaluate" you all over again, and the evaluation is based on your most recent article. So you could have reached level five and been at that level for a year, but if some virtual assistant editor got up that morning on the wrong side of bed and didn't like a comma, you're demoted...just like that. I hung in there with them for several years and regret every minute l gave to them. I was a favorite author of 33 clients, writing at the top level and all clients' overall satisfaction with my writing was 97% across the board. You guessed it: a picky editor woke up on the wrong side of bed one morning and didn't like a comma so l was sent back to the minor leagues at a 3rd of my previous pay. Yep...one comma an editor didn't like wiped out my entire body of work that it took years to build up. RIDICULOUS! I closed the account and never looked back.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Extremely shady

    Jun 21, 2021 - Content Writer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    First, they make you go through a writing "test." You can ace it, run your writing sample through a grammar-checking app... doesn't matter. They will still give you a low rating initially. A 3-star rating means you write for a penny a word... you're better off working minimum wage at a fast food joint. There is zero capacity to speak to an actual human. You have to write to an email address which ignores or misunderstands questions. When will your rating be reviewed so you can be eligible for higher-paying jobs? They won't tell you. Want to know why they take 35% of all bonuses clients pay for good work? They won't answer to that either. You can check the Better Business Bureau for countless stories of writers they froze out without warning, refusing to pay them for articles already written. And don't even get me started on the scam of asking people to send pictures of their government-issued ID as "proof of identity." Who knows if that is even legal or what they're doing with data they're demanding be delivered through the unsecured means of email.

    Cons

    It has questionable business practices. It's exploitive. You end up working for less than minimum wage. Work is boring.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Freelancer, more than 1 year

    Okay

    May 29, 2021 - Content Writer in Oxnard, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You pick the jobs you want.

    Cons

    Sometimes there was not much work depending on your star rating.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Freelancer

    Not Bad

    May 22, 2021 - Content Writer in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I get to work on my own schedule.

    Cons

    They need to do better communicating with Content writers and have more topics that pay more.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Contractor, more than 8 years

    Don't Work Here

    Jun 7, 2021 - Content Writer in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I get paid a bit of money I have freedom to complete my assignments whenever I want

    Cons

    The pay is absolutely and completely abysmal

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    YOU NEVER REACH 5 STAR

    May 2, 2021 - Content Writer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Easy to work for and accept work

    Cons

    I worked here for four years and then when I was finally accepted to a 5 star they first blocked my account and said some crap about using a VPN which I never do. Figured that out and they let me back on and then after writing one article I was notified by Payoneer that they closed my account and would give me no reason why. Tried calling Textbroker and they said that it's closed and they can't do anything. This place still owes me $75 for articles written and released. They are thieves and refuse to give any information. They took the money and refuse to send it to me. As soon as working my butt off to get to 5 stars and make good money everything changed. These people want you to work your butt off for them making barely anything and then as soon as you are high enough to make good money they drop you. The worst part is when you ask why and what happened they just tell you they can't say anything and they don't have access to that information. Save yourself the trouble and look elsewhere. Guru.com and Upwork are bidding sites but at least theyre honest. These people are shady.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 91 Reviews

Popular Careers with Textbroker International Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Textbroker International? Share Your Experiences

or