Textron Analyst Reviews | Glassdoor

Textron Analyst Reviews

Updated Feb 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
46%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Textron Chairman, President and CEO Scott C. Donnelly
Scott C. Donnelly
13 Ratings
  1. "Great company to start with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Infrastructure Analyst in Augusta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Textron full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Textron is a massive company with many different business units you can transfer to get a better overall experience. There is always so much going on, and so much to do. I really enjoy my job.

    Cons

    Sometimes I would rather just focus on one project instead of four, but that is the nature of my position.

    Continue reading
    Textron2016-04-28
  2. "No Complaints"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Textron full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities for growth Subject matter

    Cons

    Can be clique-y Lack of degree is too hindering

    Continue reading
    Textron2019-09-17
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Where career dreams go to die"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Textron full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, 401k and stock options

    Cons

    This company needs a lot of work when it comes to promoting within and by promoting within it's promoting qualified candidates for the job and not leadership favorites who are not qualified. They also don't post all jobs and pick and choose who goes into management positions. They have too much focus on interns and LDP's. These LDP's end up seeing the toxic culture and do not stay.

    Continue reading
    Textron2019-08-14
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Somewhere in the Middle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Business Analyst in Providence, RI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Textron full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work/life balance but with the expectation that you can be called upon for nights/weekend work every once in a while.

    Cons

    Company doesn't follow it's talent model. They preach about promoting from within and moving employees up the ladder based on merit, but more times than not, it's about who someone knows and as a result, people tend to leave around their 5 year point (when they become fully vested in 401K).

    Continue reading
    Textron2019-07-18
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Cool Products & Horrible Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Digital Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Textron full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get to show up to work where they make some of the coolest, most advanced products in the world.

    Cons

    Unfair practices. If you are not on their favorites list, you don't get any of the non-standard benefits (tuition reimbursement for instance)

    Continue reading
    Textron2019-07-22
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Not Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Textron full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Work/life balance - They make cool products so if you're in engineering I'm sure the work is interesting. - If you aren't a change agent, or you like "old school" this place will fit you well

    Cons

    Note: All of my cons are limited to their finance function - The function is run by an old boys club that is very much stuck in their ways. Many individuals in the upper ranks are sexists. - During the hiring process, the firm is sold as one that embraces change and is innovative. However, most employees and management hate automation and fear technology. - Pay is significantly below the market rate(as an FA expect 60-65K as an SFA expect 68-70K, as a manager in finance expect 85-90K with only a few breaking 100K after many years of merit increases) - The company will promote you but you have to be willing to relocate to undesirable locations (ie: Wichita, Augusta, Thief River, Providence) - The performance review process is binary. They say they run a scale of 1-5 but in reality, almost nobody ever gets above a 3 or below a 2. If you get 2 it means your on the chopping block, if you get a 3 yours in line with 95% of the rest of the Org. It's done this way mainly to keep budgets intact and to avoid giving higher raises. - The above performance measurement system results in many employees that should have been fired or improved their performance from feedback staying employed and clogging up processes. - Merit increases are only slightly above inflation even for well-performing employees(typical is 2.75%) - Bonuses are not available for employees below the manager level. - The culture is very much a 9-5, " I do it this way because I've always done it this way" or an "I want simply don't try and innovate" type culture.

    Continue reading
    Textron2019-05-18
  7. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 

    I worked at Textron full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance is good, opportunity to move between various companies

    Cons

    Compensation is low compared to market

    Textron2019-03-29
  8. "Textron as a whole"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Infrastructure Analyst in Augusta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Textron full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Textron as a whole is a healthy company to work for.

    Cons

    Employee turnover is pretty rapid at some of the smaller business units.

    Continue reading
    Textron2019-02-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good entry level job but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Analyst in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Textron full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great for entry level people looking to start their career with a company

    Cons

    Focus more on their new talent and give them much more perks and benefits - not fair to mid level and seniority Very heavy politics being played - "friends and family" get hired and promoted first with little to no experience. Senior level gets pushed out by promoting them to departments where they have little to no experience causing stress and chaos within a department and to the individual. Constant shuffling of employees and managers. I was promised an analyst role but ended up performing day to day operations and support - this wasn't in the job description.

    Continue reading
    Textron2018-07-31
  10. "Textron, Good People, Questionable HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Providence, RI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Textron full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are great to work with, Middle Managers know what they are doing, the business is interesting

    Cons

    HR, lack of transparency in decision making, slow to modernize

    Continue reading
    Textron2018-04-06

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 25 reviews