Textron Aviation "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Textron Aviation Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Jan 24, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Textron Aviation CEO Ron Draper
Ron Draper
25 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working for Cessna was my favorite job(in 35 reviews)

  • "Great work life balance, positive culture, growth and development oppotunuties(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are no Downsides in Cessna(in 27 reviews)

  • "Upper management does not understand basic engineering practices(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Proposal Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Proposal Analyst 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Textron Aviation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible Work Hours, As long as you work your 40 hrs of the week they don't really mind how you distribute it. - Laid Back Work environment - Depending on position attire is business casual (emphasis on the casual) - Offer free fruit (2x a week) - Caters food for events - High Moral (85% of the time) - credit union ATM in every building - For my position I only worked with my coworkers, so I didn't interact with customers or new faces (that's a plus for me, don't like customer service)

    Cons

    - No Bonuses - Applying/Interview/Hire takes forever...HR is slow - Depending on the position, Its difficult to measure work performance for reviews - For my position I didn't have a "regular" work load. Whenever upper management had work for me I would do it and when I didnt, I had to go find work or just do "busy" work. - I would randomly get slammed with work that needed to be done in a ridiculous turn around time. Some of the Upper management wouldnt keep my team in the loop and then dump the work on us last minute. - There are alot of export regulations that needed to be followed but most employees either didn't know about or adhere to. So when working with those individuals there would be some arguments on how things got done. - Not a Secure work environment, there is always layoffs.. I was there 11 months and they did 4 layoffs, I made it to the 4th round :( - No admins, if you need to order supplies you have to find someone with an Ariba Acct and pray they have a large credit balance.

    Continue reading
    Textron Aviation2017-01-25
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Textron Aviation Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wichita, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Textron Aviation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have new programs going every few years. Just about all of my coworkers have been extremely helpful and nice to work with. Really good benefits.

    Cons

    Upper management needs to learn how to communicate with engineers better, stop making unrealistic deadlines for projects. Very low starting salaries for engineers. I was recently forced from my engineering position to a customer service position to fill the needs of the company so don't expect to be working in the position you signed up for, for too long.

    Continue reading
    Textron Aviation2018-01-24
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Engineers getting sick of it at leaving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Design Engineer in Wichita, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Textron Aviation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Used to be a nice work environment. Decent healthcare

    Cons

    They keep trying to push schedules to the left, with less people, and less resources. Upper management does not understand basic engineering practices. So more people leave and they do not fill those positions. Then ask to push the schedule on projects even more. They just don't get it.

    Continue reading
    Textron Aviation2018-01-18
  4. "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Textron Aviation full-time

    Pros

    Great expense budget. Get to fly in private jets sometimes

    Cons

    Poor strategy and human capital management. Large disconnect between sales people in the field and upper management. Office politics can take precedent over collaboration.

    Continue reading
    Textron Aviation2017-12-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Stable, but lacking realism."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Test Engineer in Wichita, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Textron Aviation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employee flying club, stable career prospects, no shortage of work for engineering.

    Cons

    Upper management is seriously disconnected from the impacts of business decisions on product development cycles, and staffing requirements.

    Continue reading
    Textron Aviation2017-10-10
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Airframe Design Engineer (2+ years)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Engineer in Wichita, KS
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Textron Aviation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the best known names in the industry (Cessna and Beechcraft), and a good place to start a career. They give a lot of freedom to new grads and you will have the opportunity to "wear a lot of hats", as this is a much smaller company than giants like Boeing, Lockheed, etc. This could be both good or bad, but those capable of managing this will leave with much more experience in a much shorter amount of time that what is possible elsewhere. Individual designers have a great deal of reach and decision making capabilities. It is common for engineers to point areas of aircraft and claim it as their own, which is a great point of pride as a designer and carries a lot of weight when discussing future opportunities both within and outside of the company. When it comes to design, your voice will carry a lot of weight, and this is something that will not be found at larger companies. Overtime compensation exists even for salaried employees (up to a certain pay grade). The compensation is by hour based on the equivalent hourly rate of your salary. During busy stages of a program, it isn't uncommon for "drawing pushes" to require more than 40 hours a week, and it is nice to receive this compensation directly rather than having to hope for a bonus at the end of the year/quarter. Working schedule is very flexible. Most people set their own hours (within reason) and most managers allow for flex time, where you work 40 hours in a week, but not necessarily five eight hour days.

    Cons

    Small warning to interns considering full time positions: your experience an intern is not reflective of a full time position. As a new grad that did not intern here prior, it was frustrating to see how well the interns are treated, while the new grads are simply dropped at a desk. New grads do not receive paid flight training, social dinners, field trips, networking events, or any of the benefits that interns enjoy. This shouldn't be a deal breaker on it's own, but it is important to be aware of this when considering any offers. Much of what is listed above in the pros section is a double edged sword. The design freedom puts a great deal of burden on an individual, and leads to a great deal of finger pointing when something goes wrong. The overtime compensation means that working beyond 40 hours is expected and not optional during high workload periods. And the freedom to new grads comes at the cost of any formal training or mentoring programs. Everything is learned on the job, often while actively working toward some impending deadline. Upper management seems out of touch with the business and those below them. Proposed schedules are comically unrealistic, and are often disregarded entirely because of their impossible nature. Mid and low level managers that buy into this form of leadership as yes men are promoted, while those that resist it are pushed out. The appearance of progress is often more important than actual progress, which leads to a lot of questionable decisions and a great deal of wasted time and resources. Additionally, profits come above all else. In a little over two years, there have been three rounds of voluntary retirements followed shortly by layoffs. This isn't because the company is struggling, but simply because we didn't "meet our numbers". The culture this breeds is toxic to say the least, and people regularly fear that they will not make it through the next round when it comes.

    Continue reading
    Textron Aviation2017-09-03
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Used to be the best company in Wichita"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Supervisor in Wichita, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Textron Aviation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Decent job security, good friends, freedom

    Cons

    Management, upper management, HR, you know all the typical things that kill moral and productivity. Before 08-09 layoffs this was a very family friendly company, now its ran by former intern idiots who have no ideas what's going on.

    Continue reading
    Textron Aviation2017-05-20
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Pay your employees better!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - A&P Mechanic in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Textron Aviation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    As a mechanic, there is stable work, and a guaranteed 40hrs a week even when slow. Its either feast or famine. Overtime is abundant and typically mandatory, meaning you have to work at least 8 extra hours a week or be disciplined. The work is good and the training is good. Seems like they'll hire anyone.

    Cons

    The only reason to work here is to gain experience and seek a better job. Think of Textron Aviation as JV. This company is a classic revolving door. Countless employees have come and gone in my few short years working here. Annual raises are a joke because managers constantly quit, are are terminated, or are rotated to different crews so no one really gets to knows you. The Upper management mentality is that everyone is expendable. Textrons super lean business approach is cutting corners in all the wrong places, from glitchy computer software to tooling that should have been replaced ten years ago.

    Continue reading
    Textron Aviation2017-04-01
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Textron Aviation full-time

    Pros

    Good coworkers and interesting products.

    Cons

    Allot of crazy scatter brained decisions by upper management. Reality is an unknown concept.

    Textron Aviation2017-02-12
  10. "Great people, terrible management (Software Developer)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Software Developer in Wichita, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Textron Aviation for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible in projects People are nice in general Benefits are nice

    Cons

    Terrible upper management Management DOES NOT listen to the people under them They set unrealistic time goals They cannot manage documentation They hire contractors WITHOUT vetting them first, so you have to baby sit them They do not care about design patterns or code reviews.

    Continue reading
    Textron Aviation2017-01-27

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 22 reviews