Textron Aviation "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Textron Aviation Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Textron Aviation CEO Ron Draper
Ron Draper
25 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working for Cessna was my favorite job(in 35 reviews)

  • "Great work life balance, positive culture, growth and development oppotunuties(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are no Downsides in Cessna(in 27 reviews)

  • "Upper management does not understand basic engineering practices(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance Engineer in Wichita, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Textron Aviation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance, positive culture, growth and development oppotunuties.

    Cons

    I have not experienced any cons

    Continue reading
    Textron Aviation2019-03-11
  2. "Doesn't last long"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Support Engineer in Wichita, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Textron Aviation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers, good work environment, good work-life balance

    Cons

    Unstable company, layoffs are inevitable

    Textron Aviation2020-01-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to gain experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Wichita, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Textron Aviation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to work on various A/C models (new product development, current and out of production). Good work life balance.

    Cons

    Past 5 yrs has been a rather hostile environment for engineering due to perception of having too many engineers. Although promotions are starting to happen again, they are overdue and way behind. May be necessary to leave the company to advance your career.

    Continue reading
    Textron Aviation2019-06-15
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Nowhere else in town"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Wichita, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Textron Aviation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The work can be interesting if management lets you branch out.

    Cons

    CEO has no idea how to design and certify an aircraft, and doesn't trust engineers who do. Anybody in upper managment who told the truth or gave honest opinions are gone. Upper mamagement down to first tier are all yes men. Nobody can ever say no, regardless whether what they ask you to do will hurt the company in the long run. There is no competition left in town, so they have no incentive to treat employees well. Raises barely cover cost of living changes. Deadlines are totally unrealistic! Daily meetings to "help" you make your deadline. After finishing your work, it may get outsourced anyway! Then you have to walk someone through the work you already completed! Terrible decision making. What work life balance? Mandatory overtime (includong unpaid!) has been the way of life for the better part of 3 years! Nothing is cutting edge. All tech is 20-30 years old. No money is spent on R&D. Sometimes you get put in compromising positions.

    Continue reading
    Textron Aviation2018-05-14
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Maybe the worst job I've ever had. (Avionics Tech)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Avionics Technician in Milwaukee, WI
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Textron Aviation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Met some really good people working out on the floor with the guys. They had some old timers there who were very knowledgeable but unfortunately not a lot of time available to learn from them. Also, the severance package was pretty good (90 days paid) and afforded me enough time to pursue new options.

    Cons

    I worked there for a couple years right after A&P school. Coupled with my military experience I thought it would be a great fit. However management has very high expectations and they provide very little training. It's definitely a sink or swim type atmosphere. If you do not preform to their high standards quickly enough you will have issues. They talk a lot about being a 'family' during group meetings, and it may have been that way in the past but it is definitely not that way now. Also, lots of forced overtime, poor work/life balance leading to very poor morale in the hanger. I was employed from '12 -'14 so this review is a bit dated and things might have changed but they probably haven't. -D. M.

    Textron Aviation2018-01-19
  6. "Customer Support - Textron Aviation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support in Wichita, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Textron Aviation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance. 401k match is fair. Management really tries to listen to the ideas of individual contributors. I also like the ability to work a flexible schedule.

    Cons

    No cons. I really enjoy working for this organization and would encourage anyone who is interested in working here to apply.

    Continue reading
    Textron Aviation2017-10-05
  7. "Supply Chain Quality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Textron Aviation full-time

    Pros

    Excellent work life balance. Plenty of mentors and mentoring opportunities. Ability too learn more than just your current position.

    Cons

    As with any position in aviation, it is volatile depending on the market.

    Textron Aviation2017-06-05
  8. "Hectic with Constant Change - but good learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Business Partner in Wichita, KS
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Textron Aviation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Career opportunities, networking opportunities, cool products, and hands on experience

    Cons

    No training, work-life balance, and workplace turnover

    Textron Aviation2017-06-20
  9. "Overall, great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Textron Aviation full-time

    Pros

    Work/life balance, pay, company perks, and benefits were all fantastic. If Cessna weren't in Wichita, KS, I'd still be working there today.

    Cons

    Main downside was the general politicking you get in larger corporations. New ideas also moved slowly as the FAA is involved in everything.

    Textron Aviation2017-03-09
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Poor Management and Planning Skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Wichita, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Textron Aviation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only pro I can think of is the coworkers. They made the job doable and offset the negatives of management.

    Cons

    Company doesn't care about the engineers. You're just a dollar sign to them. Mandatory overtime and sometimes weekends too. I know engineers here who are doing 70-80 hour weeks. Poor work life balance. Interned with the company in the summer of 2015. Started full-time June 2016. Was laid off last week. Didn't even make it 5 months at this company. This speaks to this company's poor market analysis and planning skills. CEO doesn't care about the engineers, just wants his deadlines met. I would not recommend this company. You are just a warm body that is replaceable here.

    Continue reading
    Textron Aviation2016-11-17

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 36 reviews