Textron Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Textron Intern Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
99%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Textron Chairman, President and CEO Scott C. Donnelly
Scott C. Donnelly
14 Ratings
  1. "Great experience at a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Textron for less than a year

    Pros

    The team I was placed on was not afraid to give the interns rewarding projects that could actually make a different to the company. Each employee wanted to help you learn the different technologies the team used, and it definitely helped out with building my resume. As long as you put in effort and do your best you have a good chance at getting a job offer.

    Cons

    It all depends on the location. Where I was at it was pretty great and I had no complaints.

    Textron2019-10-10
  2. "Specialized Vehicles Division - Augusta, GA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Mechanical Engineering Intern in Augusta, GA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Textron for less than a year

    Pros

    Very interesting work Very nice people Interesting products

    Cons

    Location is not that great Supply chain management and production/forecasting was a mess

    Textron2019-10-16
  3. "Great place to grow and advance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Textron full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    One industry that utilizes all fields of engineering and fosters interdisciplinary cooperation

    Cons

    Initial job training can improve

    Textron2019-10-02
  4. "Very good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Textron for less than a year

    Pros

    The working environment is very good.

    Cons

    There are no cons in Textron.

    Textron2019-05-21
  5. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern - Hourly in Hunt Valley, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Textron for less than a year

    Pros

    people, hours, career development, environment

    Cons

    There are none that I can think of

    Textron2019-04-09
  6. "Textron Internship- Sherman and Reilly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern - Hourly in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Textron for more than a year

    Pros

    Great experience. A lot of opportunity and exposure to projects.

    Cons

    Cross-functional communication could use improvement.

    Textron2017-12-11
  7. "Good Culture, Mission, and People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Test Engineer Intern in Augusta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Textron

    Pros

    -Great Culture -Great opportunities for career path changes and advancement -Friendly Employees -Real, hands-on work -Great diversity of products

    Cons

    -Workspace isn't the greatest -Occasionally lacked work

    Textron2017-09-15
  8. "Internship Experiences @ Textron"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Engineering Intern in Rockford, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Textron for more than a year

    Pros

    People are great, environment is generally pretty relaxed, work gets done, and everyone seems to care about helping the company achieve success. Since Textron has a variety of Business Units, your ability to rotate through different industries or roles is pretty good. Depending on which Business Unit you work at, things may vary. I was with Greenlee Textron (known as Textron Tool & Test internally) in the 2014/2015 timeframe.

    Cons

    HR is normally excellent but I witnessed a few major flops where they "forgot" about people or dropped the ball on specific issues. The company also seems to have over-hired and later had to "right size" and fire a bunch of people. This manifested in several veteran employees, a handful of new employees, and some shop floor personnel being let go across the enterprise. I know this happens, but it felt a little fishy to me. One thing that made me particularly upset is that they rejected me from their Engineer Development and Leadership Development programs based on my degree. Being rejected is fine: their programs, their choice. Claiming that my degree is insufficient because it's not "Mechanical Engineering" or "Electrical Engineering" is not. I felt that was extremely short-sighted and disrespectful to the body of individuals studying Manufacturing in academia. (I was working on my BS Manufacturing Engineering Technology at the time.)

    Continue reading
    Textron2017-09-09
  9. "Decent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Engineering Intern in Augusta, GA

    I worked at Textron for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a smaller company in Augusta, GA (EZ-GO), and it was very good for learning experience, and because of the size of the company, it was more of a family type feel. Everyone was helpful to me, no matter how small the task was. This was my first internship, so it was very eye opening, and over all a good experience.

    Cons

    I did not want to go back to working there because the management did not seem to have all their ducks in a row. Some people were managers that probably shouldn't have been, based on their experience. Education isn't everything when you don't know how your own product is designed, but you're in charge of a team thats making it. They aren't fans of new ideas , especially if they didn't come up with it. The internship was kind of a joke sometimes because personal feelings got in the way of engineering.

    Continue reading
    Textron2017-02-10
  10. "Intern at TSV"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Sales Intern in Augusta, GA

    I worked at Textron for less than a year

    Pros

    Had access to many different departments within Textron Specialized Vehicles. The entire company was very dedicated to the interns and answering any questions we may have had.

    Cons

    There was very little for us to do. I felt like I was not giving much to the company, which was something I was looking forward to doing.

    Textron2016-11-14

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 20 reviews