Textron Systems Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Intern

Textron Systems Intern Reviews

Updated Jun 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
97%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Textron Systems President and CEO Lisa Atherton
Lisa Atherton
1 Rating
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Intern - Hourly 

    I have been working at Textron Systems

    Pros

    Amazing people and environment to work in.

    Cons

    None. I love being here.

    Textron Systems2019-06-26
  2. "Slow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Finance Intern 

    I have been working at Textron Systems

    Pros

    The people are nice. Full-timers seem to love their jobs

    Cons

    It can get really slow and boring for most of it. It felt more of an accounting role

    Textron Systems2019-02-19
  3. "Relaxed, Encouraging Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Electrical Engineering Intern in Hunt Valley, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Textron Systems for less than a year

    Pros

    Understanding, Encouraging, Plenty of work to do, Some bosses are flexible about hours

    Cons

    Far away from city center, depending on project there can be a lot of red tape, not many intern events

    Continue reading
    Textron Systems2019-01-28
  4. "Average Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Human Resources Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Textron Systems

    Pros

    -Flexible Work Schedule -Lots of intern oriented networking events

    Cons

    -No many meaningful job tasks

    Textron Systems2019-01-22
  5. "Great place to intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Business Development Intern in Hunt Valley, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Textron Systems

    Pros

    Helpful management, very welcoming culture, training and development opportunities for interns, they try and get you a full time job while you are there

    Cons

    Had a lot of downtime while working almost like they ran out of things for the interns to do

    Textron Systems2017-11-17
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good Company, Strong Growth Potential, Some Issues with Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Electrical Engineering Intern in Hunt Valley, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Textron Systems for less than a year

    Pros

    Period of growth in Electronic Systems Increasing in hiring Experienced engineering middle-management in ES Team New Projects and Bids on the Horizon

    Cons

    Some culture issues - "Everybody should want to be the CEO someday" More new product and new project development Facilities and lab spaces are a bit overcrowded due to growth of new teams and projects (a symptom of a good problem) Invest in good facilities. A good place to work starts with a good physical environment to work in.

    Continue reading
    Textron Systems2017-07-20
  7. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern in Hunt Valley, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Textron Systems for more than a year

    Pros

    casual Fridays, friendly environment, room for growth

    Cons

    disorganized, communication could be better

    Continue reading
    Textron Systems2017-07-17
  8. "Friendly work environment, miserable office space, and lack of vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Slidell, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Textron Systems for less than a year

    Pros

    Textron is a great place to work. Steady work-life balance, friendly co-workers. As an intern, the employees will always take time out of their day to explain something if you have a question. I got some great experience and met some great people while working there. If you are a person who enjoys working in the defense sector but needs plenty of time outside of work for other life priorities (family, travel, relaxing, etc.) then I think you would enjoy working at Textron. Textron also has a fantastic internal promotion system. Starting your career there seems like it has almost limitless opportunities to move across businesses (i.e. Textron Systems to Bell Helicopter) and across different career paths.

    Cons

    The office space is absolutely miserable. It might just be me, but I have a hard time working in a gray cubicle in a large room on the second story with no windows. Really though, 50% of the building has no windows. Fluorescent lights and gray interiors wear me down after a while. Welcome to corporate America, I suppose. Another thing I noticed is that interns are treated like snowflakes (without the political implications). We went of field trips to ride in Commandos, look at the SSC in production, and tour all the local factories. We had the opportunity to speak to senior leadership and present work to them. We had social events and could set up meetings to speak with anyone in the office. An employee of similar age seemed disappointed at how they "baby" interns and provide interns with opportunities that employees are not given. The biggest complaint I have about Textron is a lack of innovation in their company. They seem to be outdated, and it feels like they are being overtaken by competitors who are more willing to do a bit more innovative R&D.

    Continue reading
    Textron Systems2017-02-19
  9. "Nice people but depressing culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern - Hourly in Wilmington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Textron Systems for less than a year

    Pros

    -Senior Leadership was friendly, everyone greeted each other -not bad pay for second year internship -HR staff will help you find a position you want

    Cons

    -everyone there seemed a little unhappy with their lives -lots of busy work for interns -company was going through a large period of layoffs, culture not too great -have to pay for everything (coffee, paper cups, etc.)

    Continue reading
    Textron Systems2016-10-24
  10. "Some interesting work, some frustration to get things done"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern - Hourly in Blackstone, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Textron Systems for less than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers were very nice, helpful and friendly Not too stressful of a job generally Good pay and benefits if you're there full time Got to see some really cool stuff because of the facility operations

    Cons

    Took a long time to get anything approved or done Not in corporate office so you have little exposure to hire ups

    Continue reading
    Textron Systems2016-10-19

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 26 reviews