Textron Systems Principal Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Textron Systems Principal Engineer Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
87%
Recommend to a Friend
Textron Systems President and CEO Lisa Atherton
Lisa Atherton
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Engineer in Slidell, LA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Textron Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    All of the employees have a great working attitude and are very helpful when you are working with them

    Cons

    The work is mainly Government related so if no contract no work

    Continue reading
    Textron Systems2017-09-19
  2. "Challenging Defense industry changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Wilmington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Textron Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Easy work although repetitive at times. Very little pressure and good work/life balance. Peers are friendly.

    Cons

    Little room for advancement. Perhaps driven by lack of future contracts. Responded too late to the market and was punished for it. Went through the motions for change instead of establishing true programs that will add value for the future of the company and employees. Culture was antiquated but made attempts to modernize.

    Continue reading
    Textron Systems2015-07-07
  3. "Functional Mechanical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Principal Engineer in Hunt Valley, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Textron Systems

    Pros

    Diverse and innovative work within the engineering dicipline. Excellent and knowledgable staff.

    Cons

    Management style is profit centric, not as much customer centric. Some management is ignorant of the product and needs to get on board with how and what they produce.

    Continue reading
    Textron Systems2015-04-18
  4. "really bad - biased management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Principal Engineer in Slidell, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Textron Systems for more than a year

    Pros

    not that I know off

    Cons

    hostile work environment not conducive to creative engineering

    Continue reading
    Textron Systems2015-05-08
  5. "Gurgle, gurgle..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Textron Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You get to work in a decent office space with covered parking.

    Cons

    Everything was cut to the bone so all the engineering talent left for greener pastures. Then they started cutting into bone, then amputating limbs. I'm surprised they're still in business.

    Continue reading
    Textron Systems2015-03-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Out the door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Systems Engineer in Wilmington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Textron Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I was with this company for 5+ years and found it to be a good working environment. At the time of my employment there were a bunch of PMs that were due to retire in the next 3 years and I had an eye on advancing my career in that area. Perk and time-off policies were industry standard for that time.

    Cons

    No mentorship. No forward vision and 500 of us got laid off on a Thursday. For three years we asked what the strategic vision was, why weren't writing proposals for new work as the major programs were winding down. Then we lost two programs in a month and most of the experience was shown the door.

    Continue reading
    Textron Systems2014-09-28
  7. "This is a mediocre company with dead end career paths."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Engineer in Wilmington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Textron Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting engineering projects do occur occasionally. Some of them have good resources, at least for a while. Decent hours.

    Cons

    There is a lot of engineering process garbage that is required as part of the job. Most of it adds little value but allows Textron to charge the government for it. There are lots of big time wasting tasks. The raises are terrible even if you excel.

    Continue reading
    Textron Systems2014-06-05
  8. "Below Average Defense Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer in Wilmington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Textron Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Textron does pay very well. Many of the employees are good people who are loyal to the company and have been around for a long time. It's possible to learn from them, however many of the systems are outdated and therefor what you learn may not be as valuable. The benefits are average.

    Cons

    The Textron Systems, Wilmington, MA facility is a stagnant to contracting business unit. There is currently one production contract that supports several small development projects. Unfortunately, the developments are seriously underfunded and don't have much of a chance of surviving to maturity. There is very little stability, with most employees worrying about layoffs regularly.

    Continue reading
    Textron Systems2014-03-26
  9. "Enormous waste of talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Textron Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The work can be challenging and interesting, and the projects are meaningful: they affect the safety and effectiveness of our military personnel.

    Cons

    Financial floundering leads to knee-jerk layoffs, sabotaging morale and causing talent flight. Large military programs are frustrating because they can be way too complex, are managed using inefficient waterfall processes.

    Continue reading
    Textron Systems2012-11-27
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Slowest Sinking Ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Textron Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Once upon a time the complexity and pace of the work was wonderful. It challenged you to be the best while serving your country. "ADC" (Additonal Compensation) was very rewarding.

    Cons

    I'd complain about the horrible HDHP medical plan, long hours (death marches), lack of remote work (classified labs makes that hard) and so on but the real problem is this company is simply dead. Innovation is dead, new business prospects have died up and there has been a drain in talent ( by choice and by not ) for the last several years. This company isn't going anywhere.

    Continue reading
    Textron Systems2012-12-15

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 14 reviews