Textron "business units" Reviews | Glassdoor

Textron Employee Reviews about "business units"

Updated Feb 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Textron Chairman, President and CEO Scott C. Donnelly
Scott C. Donnelly
219 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Employee turnover is pretty rapid at some of the smaller business units(in 14 reviews)

  • "No work life balance, would receive calls at 11PM at night(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "business units"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great company to start with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Infrastructure Analyst in Augusta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Textron full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Textron is a massive company with many different business units you can transfer to get a better overall experience. There is always so much going on, and so much to do. I really enjoy my job.

    Cons

    Sometimes I would rather just focus on one project instead of four, but that is the nature of my position.

    Advice to Management

    The management does an excellent job most of the time with their direct reports, sometimes I feel a tug of war between other managers that need me to help them with various tasks and projects.

    Textron2016-04-28
  2. "Mixed Feelings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Event Marketing Specialist 

    I worked at Textron full-time

    Pros

    Great opportunity for growth if you are willing to move throughout the country.

    Cons

    If you work at a smaller business unit you really get put on the back burner. Large business units get the most focus and resources.

    Textron2019-02-13
  3. "Textron as a whole"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Infrastructure Analyst in Augusta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Textron full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Textron as a whole is a healthy company to work for.

    Cons

    Employee turnover is pretty rapid at some of the smaller business units.

    Advice to Management

    Work on employee retention

    Textron2019-02-04
  4. "LDP ISC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Textron full-time

    Pros

    Experience four different jobs related to manufacturing operations/ supply chain at four different business units. Good visibility to senior leadership. Fast track to a management position. Living in four cities over two years was great.

    Cons

    Pay could be better. Not the best at communicating between roles, making the transition difficult sometimes.

    Advice to Management

    Corporate needs to get more involved in selecting the roles at the business units. Some of the roles can be difficult if your direct manager is not supportive of the program.

    Textron2018-04-03
  5. "VP Engg"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Textron full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Solid corp business mgt; strong technical foundation; strong ethical foundation

    Cons

    Large culture variations between business units - Large vs small, commercial vs gov't products & customers. People focus and efforts at reducing silos diminishing.

    Advice to Management

    Steer back to people and communication principles.

    Textron2017-12-18
  6. "Internship Experiences @ Textron"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Engineering Intern in Rockford, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Textron for more than a year

    Pros

    People are great, environment is generally pretty relaxed, work gets done, and everyone seems to care about helping the company achieve success. Since Textron has a variety of Business Units, your ability to rotate through different industries or roles is pretty good. Depending on which Business Unit you work at, things may vary. I was with Greenlee Textron (known as Textron Tool & Test internally) in the 2014/2015 timeframe.

    Show More

    Cons

    HR is normally excellent but I witnessed a few major flops where they "forgot" about people or dropped the ball on specific issues. The company also seems to have over-hired and later had to "right size" and fire a bunch of people. This manifested in several veteran employees, a handful of new employees, and some shop floor personnel being let go across the enterprise. I know this happens, but it felt a little fishy to me. One thing that made me particularly upset is that they rejected me from their Engineer Development and Leadership Development programs based on my degree. Being rejected is fine: their programs, their choice. Claiming that my degree is insufficient because it's not "Mechanical Engineering" or "Electrical Engineering" is not. I felt that was extremely short-sighted and disrespectful to the body of individuals studying Manufacturing in academia. (I was working on my BS Manufacturing Engineering Technology at the time.)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Mind your p's and q's. Business has to get done but internal processes need to be clean in order to keep an effective operation going. Don't let one function (HR, Marketing, Sales, etc) dominate the others and create a poor work environment or fuel poor business strategies.

    Textron2017-09-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Financial System Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Textron

    Pros

    Laid back work life, gym onsite, emphasis on moving around every few years (to other business units also) get to work with awesome products that you can be proud of, decent benefits, education focused for employees who want to obtain higher degrees

    Cons

    High emphasis on the LDP(leadership development program)/intern program and forget their other employees. Not all employees are treated equally. Lots of layoffs around all the business units. Only 1.5 weeks of vacation for new employees which isn't a lot. Especially since you have employees from other states.

    Advice to Management

    Try to be an inclusive company where all employees matter. Not just the LDPs.

    Textron2017-07-24
  8. Helpful (1)

    "HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Textron full-time

    Pros

    Textron provides excellent opportunities to grow and develop. Expectations are high for employees to contribute and deliver.

    Cons

    Most of the teams are under-resourced as the company has grown rapidly. Unfortunately, advancement opportunities are limited unless you're willing to move to other business units.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more training opportunities for new managers.

    Textron2017-06-26
  9. "Many Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Textron

    Pros

    Many opportunities; job flexibility; variety of business units and products

    Cons

    Mgmt unwilling to recognize talent with compensation; High level talent is driven away

    Advice to Management

    It takes more than just senior management to run a company. Compensate high performance employees to retain them.

    Textron2017-06-22
  10. "Leadership development Program: ISC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ISC LDP in Amarillo, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Textron full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Provides a lot of opportunities to get experience in different areas of ISC. Upper management really takes time to build up LDPs, so a lot of exposure to executives. Provide really good moving packages to make the moving a lot easier.

    Cons

    Moving every 6 months is difficult (once you get in your grove you have to move). Some business units treat you like an expensive intern and you are a paper pusher. A lot of it is based on how much you take the initiative. Big company so it takes a while to do anything or get anything approved.

    Advice to Management

    Work with LDP managers to have legitimate word for the LDP's to do. We didn't join this program to push papers and sit around all day.

    Textron2017-04-04
Found 23 reviews