Textron "business units" Reviews | Glassdoor

Textron Reviews

Updated Feb 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Textron Chairman, President and CEO Scott C. Donnelly
Scott C. Donnelly
222 Ratings
  1. "Good company with exciting opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I have been working at Textron

    Pros

    Experience in evolving brand Exposure to many business units Travel opportunities

    Cons

    Knee jerk management decisions No data to support decision making

    Textron2017-02-21
  2. "Diversified business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leadership Development Program 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Textron full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very mobile workforce, able to move around business units with relative ease Different businesses provide lots of opportunities

    Cons

    Heavily reliant on military spending Some business units have regular lay offs

    Textron2017-01-29
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Depends on your personality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Textron full-time

    Pros

    Textron is a large conglomerate that prioritizes promoting from within and is focusing on mainly hiring from its intern pool. They also are interested in people who are willing to be mobile and move to difference business units, industries and functions. If you are willing to push hard for your own career goals its a good place to be.

    Cons

    This is a large company and if you struggle with introversion it can be difficult. Networking is pushed all the time and it can be draining. My biggest complaint is that there is a real lack of diversity. I've never run into any sexism or racism or anything, but I think diversity of perspectives drives innovation and make work more interesting.

    Continue reading
    Textron2016-12-01
  4. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Textron full-time

    Pros

    Good compensation; internal promotion opportunities at business units

    Cons

    Micro managers; lots of individuals who have been with the company for quite a while, so there's a lot of stagnancy and difficulty to get into "inner circles"

    Textron2016-08-02
  5. "Senior process executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Senior Process Executive in Providence, RI

    I have been working at Textron for less than a year

    Pros

    I complete my SLAs on time and help the juniors in completing the SLA as well

    Cons

    I do like to process multiple business units but when given in a reasonable way

    Textron2016-04-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Bad Financials"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Textron full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Looking for younger team players.

    Cons

    Poorly managed at the corporate level and business units.

    Continue reading
    Textron2016-05-12
  7. "Large Company - Great Opportunities if Your Manager is Active"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Finance and Accounting Analyst in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Textron

    Pros

    -Multiple industries and business units to gain experience in -Excellent communication across business units and corporate -Networking opportunities with the higher ups -Average to Above Average Salaries -401k Match (50% of the first 10% of your base salary) -Holidays/Time Off

    Cons

    -Avoid the Smaller Business Units. While you can get diverse exposure in the smaller businesses that textron owns, the management is often strained and wear too many hats and it adversely affects their hiring standard of young professionals to train and develop. -Shifting management around makes it difficult for the younger members of the team to adjust and understand expectations at times -Not many opportunities for training unless you are at one of the larger business units -The dress code wasnt enforced universally -Not a fan of their health insurance options

    Continue reading
    Textron2016-02-28
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Old School, Dated and Boring Company - Potential is there!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leadership Development Program - Finance 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Textron full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting product line: Helicopters, Armored Vehicles, Smart Bombs, Private Jets Diversified Conglomerate Global Business Units locations History of business (proven)

    Cons

    Old workforce Workplace feels like an old high school at times Lack of Textron brand recognition Bleak business outlook

    Continue reading
    Textron2013-04-17
  9. "Not what I expected...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Business Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Textron

    Pros

    Gained skills that I may not have gotten otherwise.

    Cons

    Separation of employees within and between business units, lack of opportunities for career development/growth, observe mediocre or poor performance being rewarded while commitment and decidation is ignored or overlooked.

    Continue reading
    Textron2009-05-17
  10. "Textron review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Textron full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic opportunity to move to various jobs around the company during and after the program. Many opportunities to meet with senior leadership. Great experience working in one of the most complex supply chain's in the world.

    Cons

    Textron corporate has unrealistic goals for the business units. Corporate seems to have a bad understanding of the challenges each business unit faces.

    Textron2017-02-12

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 23 reviews