Textron "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Textron Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Textron Chairman, President and CEO Scott C. Donnelly
Scott C. Donnelly
220 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Employee turnover is pretty rapid at some of the smaller business units(in 14 reviews)

  • "No work life balance, would receive calls at 11PM at night(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Very good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Textron for less than a year

    Pros

    The working environment is very good.

    Cons

    There are no cons in Textron.

    Textron2019-05-21
  2. "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Engineering in Wichita, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Textron for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment good people to work with and great projects. I was in a good group and had a great work experience there.

    Cons

    not many negative really but they do need more active programs to keep staffing stable

    Advice to Management

    need more active programs to keep staffing stable and better foresight.

    Textron2019-12-12
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Overall a good place to work; be ready to network to advance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Textron

    Pros

    Good working environment, pay, benefits and vacation. Most people are also very personable.

    Cons

    Sometimes there is a lot of politics with respect to advancement. Not always the most qualified gets the job.

    Advice to Management

    Placing people into a job to 'retain talent' when someone else is more qualified and put in the work/years to move up kills morale. Do what is best for the company and not what is best for you.

    Textron2018-11-06
  4. "Accounting Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Textron

    Pros

    Managers were friendly and informative. Very easy to communicate with coworkers

    Cons

    The work environment is a little slow paced and old fashioned.

    Textron2018-02-05
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Mechanical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Textron full-time

    Pros

    Great hands on experience, Exposure to Executive level management, Great health benefits, Young average age of co-workers, Freedom for creativity in choosing designs specific to your input.

    Cons

    Below average salary pay, Work environment is such that you feel obligated to work 50+ hours a week to be successful and move up, misalignment of goals set across different sides of the business, short timelines

    Advice to Management

    Align focus to a more cohesive goal that benefits all sides of the business, set and stick to proper process even if enforcing the process may effect temporarily line productivity

    Textron2017-12-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Leadership Development Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Leadership Development Program in Providence, RI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Textron full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stimulating work environment with great opportunity for training and advancement.

    Cons

    Low compensation with old school corporate culture.

    Advice to Management

    Change leadership style to recruit and retain early in career talent.

    Textron2017-12-17
  7. Helpful (12)

    "Run for your life!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electrical Engineer in Augusta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Textron full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not much to do. It feels you are not doing anything in the whole day.

    Cons

    The most soulless, sexist, racist, discriminating workplace you can work for. Supervisor used dirty words about ladies, different races, etc. The work environment is polluted (literally), a lot of noise, a lot of office policy, too. If you want to decrease your life span by 25 years, this is the best place to work for. I quit after 3 months, and this is the best decision I made in my life. And after Textron, I knew where exactly I DO NOT WANT TO WORK FOR. This is a talent killer company. Big name, nothing inside!!!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please monitor lowe level managers.

    Textron2017-12-19
  8. "Staff Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Textron full-time

    Pros

    Managers and supervisors are nice and helpful, good working environment

    Cons

    HR can be a headache

    Textron2017-11-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Material Handler in Lavonia, GA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Textron for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, decent pay for area

    Cons

    terrible work environment, terrible management,

    Textron2017-12-12
  10. "Average firm to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Textron full-time

    Pros

    Nice folks, decent work environment

    Cons

    Low pay, boring work, and bad office locations

    Textron2017-04-12
Found 28 reviews