That Fish Place - That Pet Place Reviews | Glassdoor

That Fish Place - That Pet Place Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Rick Amour
4 Ratings
  1. "It was great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at That Fish Place - That Pet Place full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There were fish, lots of them

    Cons

    Smelled fishy and was very wet

    That Fish Place - That Pet Place2019-04-30
  2. "Terrible pay for professionals, get your experience and get out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lancaster, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at That Fish Place - That Pet Place full-time

    Pros

    Pet friendly office, I always liked working with dogs around. Great place to build some experience or a portfolio. Nice people. Company is a local pillar of Lancaster community.

    Cons

    Pay for professional office employees is dismal. You're making nearly minimum wage for work that you'd be making $40k and up for at another company.

    Advice to Management

    Pay people what they're worth.

    That Fish Place - That Pet Place2017-11-21
  3. "You"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at That Fish Place - That Pet Place

    Pros

    Great place. Every weekend off.

    Cons

    To many cheifs. Not enough indians.

    Advice to Management

    Less cheifs. Trust your hourlys

    That Fish Place - That Pet Place2017-05-23
  4. "Good company; terrible compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at That Fish Place - That Pet Place

    Pros

    Friendly, easy going, fun company. Pet-friendly workplace. Good way to get entry-level experience.

    Cons

    Poor pay, middle management is under trained and over worked, no benefits other than health insurance, no room for expansion/development; dead-end job.

    That Fish Place - That Pet Place2016-10-03
  5. "Buyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Buyer in Lancaster, PA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at That Fish Place - That Pet Place full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    There are a great group of people that work there. Independently ran family business.

    Cons

    Business seems to be collapsing, they've sold the warehouse and are running entire business out of the store.

    That Fish Place - That Pet Place2016-06-19
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Poorly run company, no room for advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at That Fish Place - That Pet Place full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Easy workload; no drug testing; weekly pay

    Cons

    GOD AWEFUL PAY. terrible upper management. the nepotism runs rampant. the standards for the lower level team is not at all reflected by the standards of supervisors and upper management. Idiots run this place into the ground. barely an employee discount. this place doesnt value its employees at all.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees with some respect and pay them for their work. This place will only continue to drown if you don't treat your employees right and pay them real wages.

    That Fish Place - That Pet Place2016-03-25
  7. "Doesn't meet its potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at That Fish Place - That Pet Place full-time

    Pros

    New upper management seems hopeful to change. Easy workload.

    Cons

    management expects staff to meet expectations which are unclear and ambiguous. No real training or coaching. Supervisors are nice, but seem overworked and uninformed of what's happening with the company. No opportunity for advancement

    Advice to Management

    Provide real training, get rid of managers who don't deserve to be in their position. Listen to your employees ideas more

    That Fish Place - That Pet Place2015-08-24
  8. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at That Fish Place - That Pet Place for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Good people on my Team.

    Cons

    Challenges with leadership. Low pay with small annual

    Advice to Management

    Get your employees involved in decision making and consult them for how to improve the workplace.

    That Fish Place - That Pet Place2015-07-30
  9. "Great local company, very nice people, terrible pay for professionals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at That Fish Place - That Pet Place

    Pros

    Dogs in the office, nice people, fun vibe around the office. I learned a lot in my time at That Fish Place that gave me a foundation for my career. It was a great job right out of college.

    Cons

    The pay is very poor for marketing professionals. While it was great for building experience for the next job, I wouldn't recommend staying here more than you need to. If you're entry level, the work can get a bit mind numbing.

    That Fish Place - That Pet Place2014-03-28
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Would be a nice place to work if it was still run by the founders."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Lancaster, PA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at That Fish Place - That Pet Place

    Pros

    There are some great employees, does not promote drug testing, casual dress code, will hire experienced employees at a slightly higher rate than minimum wage.

    Cons

    Narcissitic bosses, no retirement plan, no vacation until you have worked there a year, no sick time for non-professional employees, performance reviews are few and far between without increases most of the time, mgnt has a double standard, and the CEO places little or no value on lower level employees.

    Advice to Management

    Share important information with employees and share the wealth with associates, not just with senior management. A company cannot survive without the worker bees!

    That Fish Place - That Pet Place2012-03-20
Found 11 reviews