The Author Incubator Reviews

Updated Jan 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 of over 21 reviews

4.4
86%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
The Author Incubator CEO   Angela Lauria (no image)
Angela Lauria
16 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Progressive, forward thinking environment

    Jan 13, 2021 - Executive Assistant in Reston, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Progressive, inclusive environment with smart, dedicated teammates.

    Cons

    No cons come to mind.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Will give you PTSD

    Sep 14, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The only two pros are that it looks good on the resume (Unless of course someone knows the company and who runs it) and that, if your lucky, you get flex work hours and work from home.

    Cons

    Gaslighting to the nines. Constant undermining and emotional abuse from management. Company is extremely unstable (management blows all the money on private jets). Don't waste your time.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee

    don't waste your time

    Jul 29, 2020 - Finance Team 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great coworkers who truly care about each other.

    Cons

    Racist company that uses the black lives matter movement as a guise, but then lay off 7 people of color and 0 white people.

    1 person found this review helpful

    The Author Incubator Response

    President

    While I concede our company, like most in America, is probably filled with unconscious bias and built on a foundation of white supremacy, I work hard to counter that. I am open to the idea I failed in a recent round of coronavirus-induced layoffs. Here are the facts: 2 space managers were laid off. One black. One white. 2 senior managers were laid off. One black. One white. 1 finance person was laid off. There were 2 on the team. Both black. We laid off the more junior member and offered some contract work. All editors and designers were laid off and offered contracts as a change in employment structure. 9 lay offs. 2 black. 7 non black. 14 Total lay offs. 5 black. 9 non-black Note: most but not all non-black people are white. I didn’t want to spell out the other races to avoid identifying people. I’m sorry this person felt discriminated against in the lay offs. Lay offs suck. So does this pandemic.

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Unbelievable place to work for.

    Dec 3, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This place is beyond incredible. Convention is abhorred, and there's absolutely every effort to avoid the kind of stifling dehumanization you get at any other job. It's not a slot to stuff a body in to get a task done. It's actually, genuinely a place to work together with awesome people to do awesome things. Very strong commitment to values. In other, more technical terms, great policies for vacation and hours and all that stuff. Company policy is to take care of staff first. Beautiful, comfortable, modern office. Best pro is the people here. No nasty personalities to suffer through; everyone is caring, sweet, supportive, and friendly. It's a joy to talk with them every day, and everyone steps up to help you when you need it.

    Cons

    I have not personally found any. If you're lazy and a procrastinator, looking for a job where you have a lot of downtime and get to watch Netflix all day, this isn't for you. It requires that you put all your effort in. It's easy to do, and mistakes are not punished but a lesson to be learned from. You just have to be willing to actually work and try.

    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Integration and Alignnment

    Dec 5, 2018 - Client Success Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working with The Author Incubator means being willing to be in alignment in all areas of your life. It means constantly checking in on your life goals and being truthful with yourself and those around you about how your job supports you in turning your dreams into a reality. If it doesn't come natural to you already, you will quickly learn how to be an integrated person - how to be all of you all of the time. Having a job that is in alignment with who you are as a person is the only option here.

    Cons

    We grow and move fast here! It's important to be open to change and easily adaptable. We pivot when necessary and are ever-evolving. If you want a job where you come into work and do the same thing all day, everyday then The Author Incubator is not your fit!

    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Incredibly Happy to Be Here!

    May 24, 2018 - Production Coordinator in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Living in an area where people spend so much of their potentially productive time in traffic or commuting on public transportation to their jobs has made me so much more appreciative of companies that support virtual working. The Author Incubator gets it! Having the ability to work remotely in my role, using online tools and resources that make connecting with my coworkers seamless--and leaving me with the time and energy to focus on this work that I love so much--completely makes the difference in my work-life balance. Add to that the fact that I am a creative who simply doesn't fit into Corporate America but has indeed found her tribe of quirky creatives--and I can honestly say this is the perfect job for me. Can't even tell you how amazing that feels.

    Cons

    For me, there are no downsides.

    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Amazing Mission. Great Team.

    May 23, 2018 - Administration in McLean, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Management really cares about the clients. Great flexibility. I work from home and I love it. I really believe in the mission and the clients are the best. I love telling people about my job because everyone wants to write a book. Our clients actually get it done. Very gratifying place to work.

    Cons

    It's a start up so things can be disorganized but at least there are good intentions and things are always getting better.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Best place to work

    Dec 7, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I can't tell you how refreshing it is to work somewhere where the employees legitimately love their jobs. There are no arguments, no gossip, no backstabbing or corporate ladder climbing. We come together and work as a team and enjoy doing it. There are so many wonderful people who work here and I consider myself lucky to be a part of this diverse team. The benefits are awesome, hard work doesn't go unnoticed and I love the company's commitment to diversity and equality.

    Cons

    Honestly don't see this as a negative as it keeps the work interesting, but we move fast and change constantly which may not be a fit for everyone.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Dream Job

    Dec 3, 2018 - DIrector of Acquisitions in Studio City, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been hired for my strengths and encouraged to occupy my zone of genius. I'm asked to develop these skills in order to master my role for the benefit of myself, those I work with, and most importantly our clients.

    Cons

    There is no hiding here! It isn't a true con--there aren't any--but if you want a job where playing small is rewarded, you won't be happy here. You are asked to grow into becoming your best self on a daily basis. If you aren't up for that, don't apply to work here or join this team.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Do you believe magic is real?

    Dec 5, 2018 - Event Coordinator in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -You are free to express yourself -hard work doesn't go unnoticed -we constantly have team building - everyone loves being at the office -we have fun - we love - we work in a magical place with magical people - honest communication

    Cons

    Every job comes with bad days and good days, but my good days shine so far beyond the bad days, I can't think of any cons that would change your mind about this magical place

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews

Popular Careers with The Author Incubator Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at The Author Incubator? Share Your Experiences

The Author Incubator logo
or