The Author Incubator Reviews

Updated Jan 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.9
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
The Author Incubator CEO   Angela Lauria (no image)
Angela Lauria
18 Ratings
  1. "Absolutely Wonderful!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Proofreader in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Author Incubator for less than a year

    Pros

    • Editors are lovely to work with and great at giving constructive feedback. • Assignments are fun and interesting. Lots of unique perspectives from authors. • Efficient management of assignments.

    Cons

    • Company contact information (phone number) is hard to locate at first. • No staff directory - hard to contact someone in the organization directly.

    Continue reading
    The Author Incubator2020-01-06
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Integration and Alignnment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Success Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Author Incubator full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with The Author Incubator means being willing to be in alignment in all areas of your life. It means constantly checking in on your life goals and being truthful with yourself and those around you about how your job supports you in turning your dreams into a reality. If it doesn't come natural to you already, you will quickly learn how to be an integrated person - how to be all of you all of the time. Having a job that is in alignment with who you are as a person is the only option here.

    Cons

    We grow and move fast here! It's important to be open to change and easily adaptable. We pivot when necessary and are ever-evolving. If you want a job where you come into work and do the same thing all day, everyday then The Author Incubator is not your fit!

    The Author Incubator2018-12-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Best place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Author Incubator full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I can't tell you how refreshing it is to work somewhere where the employees legitimately love their jobs. There are no arguments, no gossip, no backstabbing or corporate ladder climbing. We come together and work as a team and enjoy doing it. There are so many wonderful people who work here and I consider myself lucky to be a part of this diverse team. The benefits are awesome, hard work doesn't go unnoticed and I love the company's commitment to diversity and equality.

    Cons

    Honestly don't see this as a negative as it keeps the work interesting, but we move fast and change constantly which may not be a fit for everyone.

    Continue reading
    The Author Incubator2018-12-07
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Unbelievable place to work for."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Author Incubator full-time

    Pros

    This place is beyond incredible. Convention is abhorred, and there's absolutely every effort to avoid the kind of stifling dehumanization you get at any other job. It's not a slot to stuff a body in to get a task done. It's actually, genuinely a place to work together with awesome people to do awesome things. Very strong commitment to values. In other, more technical terms, great policies for vacation and hours and all that stuff. Company policy is to take care of staff first. Beautiful, comfortable, modern office. Best pro is the people here. No nasty personalities to suffer through; everyone is caring, sweet, supportive, and friendly. It's a joy to talk with them every day, and everyone steps up to help you when you need it.

    Cons

    I have not personally found any. If you're lazy and a procrastinator, looking for a job where you have a lot of downtime and get to watch Netflix all day, this isn't for you. It requires that you put all your effort in. It's easy to do, and mistakes are not punished but a lesson to be learned from. You just have to be willing to actually work and try.

    The Author Incubator2018-12-03
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Magical place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Author Incubator full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, growth, stability, inspiring & genuine!

    Cons

    Traffic but it's worth it!

    Continue reading
    The Author Incubator2018-12-03
  6. Helpful (2)

    "A magical Place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Media Manager in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Author Incubator full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    So many pros it would be impossible to list them all here! One thing that sticks out is that this place in accepting of all diversity and is results-oriented! LOVE IT!

    Cons

    Cant think of one just yet!

    The Author Incubator2018-12-03
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Dream Job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - DIrector of Acquisitions in Studio City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Author Incubator full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been hired for my strengths and encouraged to occupy my zone of genius. I'm asked to develop these skills in order to master my role for the benefit of myself, those I work with, and most importantly our clients.

    Cons

    There is no hiding here! It isn't a true con--there aren't any--but if you want a job where playing small is rewarded, you won't be happy here. You are asked to grow into becoming your best self on a daily basis. If you aren't up for that, don't apply to work here or join this team.

    Continue reading
    The Author Incubator2018-12-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Do you believe magic is real?"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Event Coordinator in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Author Incubator full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -You are free to express yourself -hard work doesn't go unnoticed -we constantly have team building - everyone loves being at the office -we have fun - we love - we work in a magical place with magical people - honest communication

    Cons

    Every job comes with bad days and good days, but my good days shine so far beyond the bad days, I can't think of any cons that would change your mind about this magical place

    Continue reading
    The Author Incubator2018-12-05
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Magical Place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Author Incubator full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Diversity Growth mindset You can absolutely be yourself at work Flexibility Creativity

    Cons

    I don't have real cons yet. Maybe just that we are growing to fast, its hard to keep up sometimes!

    Continue reading
    The Author Incubator2018-12-03
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Fast-changing work that matters"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Author Incubator full-time

    Pros

    Exciting place to work. Small, very committed team. Diverse employees. Fast-growing business.

    Cons

    Not for people who like stable systems.

    The Author Incubator2018-11-19
Found 18 reviews