The BOSS Group Reviews | Glassdoor

The BOSS Group Reviews

Updated 30 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
88%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
The BOSS Group CEO Conor Smith (no image)
Conor Smith
35 Ratings
  1. "Overall Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The BOSS Group

    Pros

    Great level of transparency throughout the company related to financials, employee performance, and future initiatives. Good incentives offered to employees i.e. President's Club trip. Continuous opportunities offered for learning and development.

    Cons

    Turnover in the Branch Manager position is high and should be focused on a little more.

    The BOSS Group2016-11-08
  2. Helpful (2)

    "A truly great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The BOSS Group

    Pros

    Listen, no place is perfect. So I read reviews with a grain of salt in that everyone has a different perspective and a reason for sharing that perspective. I can give you mine. The BOSS Group is a high growth company in a tough industry that truly cares about its people. It is a fun place to work with many people who have been here 5 to 10 years - which can be rare in the staffing industry. The BOSS... Group also has very high expectations of its people and that can be tough for new people to adjust to. But if I look at the core issues of importance of what makes a great company to work for The BOSS Group meets all 3. 1) Do they follow a set of values and operate with ethics? HUGE YES 2) Is there growth opportunity and is the company moving in the right direction. HUGE YES 3) Are the pay and benefits fair? HUGE YES. It is a pay for performance environment. There are so many great perks - casual attire, generous time off, sabbaticals, nice offices, getting off every Friday at 3 PM and much more.

    Show More

    Cons

    Again, no place is perfect. But the management at The BOSS Group is very transparent and addresses things that come up.

    Advice to Management

    Keep communicating!

    The BOSS Group2016-10-12
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Look out for employees leaving misleading reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The BOSS Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None, this is company is terrible. Maybe the getting off at 3 pm on Fridays is the only ok thing about working here.

    Cons

    Upper management doesn't know how to grow and lead an organization. Micromanagement and negative reinforcement are not the way to motivate a team. This is a dead end job. If you want to make very little money and have no work life balance this is the place to go to. They will lie to you in the interview telling you this is a growing company, but ask for the numbers and you'll see the company can't hit their budget... or make up for terrible markets like Chicago and Dallas. Don't get fooled.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit lying and scamming people.

    The BOSS Group2016-10-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Easy to work with and for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The BOSS Group

    Pros

    This is a very easy company to contract through. The interview process was easy and they made it very comfortable for me. No problems getting paid.

    Cons

    Beyond a weekly auto-generated email reminder to turn in time sheet, there is no communication with the company. I have worked for The BOSS Group for over a year and have had no review or pay increase. I have had no contact with my recruiter and am not even sure who that is now.

    Advice to Management

    Provide a little more feedback to employees. Not much is necessary. Maybe a quarterly check-in.

    The BOSS Group2016-10-05
  5. "My office is great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The BOSS Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team ! , supportive co workers , good training ,ability to advance , decent salary for my position , caring management team, good vacation package

    Cons

    ThecInsurance package could be better. I have really no other complaints . I been here less than a year and really like my job

    The BOSS Group2016-09-07
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Horrible place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at The BOSS Group

    Pros

    The only pro is that their office is nice.

    Cons

    This place is filled with immature people with no work ethic.

    The BOSS Group2016-04-09
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company, Values, and People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales and Recruiting Coordinator in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The BOSS Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is hands down one of the best companies I have ever worked for. The people at BOSS truly care about their employees on both a personal and professional level. Everyone was very welcoming and invested in my career from day one. The training and resources available to you are ongoing and outstanding. The BOSS Group lives by their core values: Employee Centricity, Passionate Performance, Service Excellence, and... Entrepreneurial Spirit, and this represented by my colleagues on a day to day basis. If you are looking for a fast paced career in sales with a ton of room for growth, I would highly recommend BOSS.

    Show More

    Cons

    The staffing industry is very fast paced and quickly changing. If this is not the type of work environment for you then this may be a con. However, for me specifically it has been a pro because everyday is interesting and something new!

    Advice to Management

    None at this time

    The BOSS Group2016-02-25
  8. "My FANTASTIC Experience with The BOSS Group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The BOSS Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee Centricity - the people here truly care about their colleagues and will do what it takes to help them succeed. The Dallas branch specifically is a work hard, play hard environment, and everyone is professional and respectful as co-workers, but also friends outside of work. I love coming to work everyday because I feel valued by my colleagues. In addition, this company's values are easily seen throughout... it's culture and are brought up every day. Some companies hide their values in a long, vague mission statement, but the BOSS Group wears them on their sleeve for all to see. Employee Centricity, Passionate Performance, Service Excellence, and Entrepreneurial Spirit - all of which I experience daily.

    Show More

    Cons

    The only con I can think of is that the different branches don't get to hang out enough! I have made such amazing "virtual relationships" with so many people across the country. My only wish is that we had more opportunities to meet the people we work with in person!

    Advice to Management

    Continue to keep an open and transparent communication style, the branches love it! Also, a quick thank you for all you do for us and have done for me!

    The BOSS Group2016-02-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Career Mapping 101"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The BOSS Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have nothing but great things to say about my experience at The BOSS Group. I started as a Recruiting Manager 3 years ago and have been promoted on 2 different occasions. The BOSS Group looks at individual’s personal skill sets and will work with them to advance their craft during their one on one meeting. Hiring people with the right aptitude drives the philosophy that if one is equipped with the right... attitude, leadership will ensure to provide the management support to empower employees to move up the rankings.

    Show More

    Cons

    The BOSS Group leans on their employees to make ethical decisions and leadership is often willing to be flexible with changing times and market trends. However, I find that employees tend to struggle at The BOSS Group if they do not like to work in an environment motivated by personal entrepreneurial spirit. Honestly, the belief that what is best for you is best for the company rings true in the offices and some are... empowered by very clear direction; and some find this increased decision-making can come with stress.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Leadership takes pride in supporting their employees through their beliefs in professional development, learning & development and training initiatives. I have also noticed that they are more than willing to create roles that meet their employee’s skill sets. My advice, keep it up.

    The BOSS Group2016-01-29
  10. "Great People; Better Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The BOSS Group full-time

    Pros

    The BOSS Group is hands-down the best company I've had the opportunity of working for in my career. The company is well financed, and it is run by a very smart, hard-working leadership team who focus on rewarding hard work and authentic passion for success. When I started here as a regional manager, upper management was clear about the opportunity, the challenges I'd be facing, and their expectations. They were... also clear about the culture they expected me to drive, the company's core values, and their commitment to ensuring I had the resources I needed to make each and every member of my team successful. This is a place where hard working A-players will feel supported by management and surrounded by other A-players who will challenge them to be their best. Far from the "dog-eat-dog" cultures you may hear of in this industry, the environment is more like a sports team where the success of all depends upon the actions and accountability of each team member. The company is nimble, entrepreneurial, and growth-focused. The corporate support staff are second to none. From IT, to contracts, to human capital, to legal, you will never find a more revenue-minded corporate support structure to foster sales growth and recruiting delivery. For anyone (like me) who's ever been in a revenue generating role without solid support infrastructure, you know just how valuable this can be. If it sounds like I'm "drinking the Kool-Aid", I am. If you are willing to work hard, be accountable, and win, The BOSS Group will give you the opportunity, resources, and developmental tools for serious financial success and career growth.

    Show More

    Cons

    The nature of the business and our services focuses on people (clients and talent). People (both clients and talent) can always be unpredictable, and can often let you down. Being the broker of opportunities between talent and clients can often come with challenges. There are times where despite your most earnest efforts, delivering on expectations of a talent or client may be out of you control. Mediocrity is... not accepted. For me, this is actually a positive, because mediocrity kills sales and recruiting offices. In the spirit of full disclosure, this is not a place where someone can coast or simply rely on a few legacy accounts. The company has lofty goals - only people with a winning attitude and the willingness to work are successful. Those who have both are very successful here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up. Despite the comments of any "naysayers" or any scorned employees who were not up to the challenge, this place is growing exponentially. I've been lucky enough to experience personal rewards for my part in this growth. Between the financial opportunity, the career growth, and the just plain awesome people at The BOSS Group, this is a place I plan to spend as much of my career as possible.

    The BOSS Group2016-01-20
Found 68 reviews