The Babcock & Wilcox Company Reviews | Glassdoor

The Babcock & Wilcox Company Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 210 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
26%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
The Babcock & Wilcox Company CEO Kenneth Young
Kenneth Young
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fellow employees and the 9-80 work schedule(in 64 reviews)

  • "the 9/80 work week is nice to have(in 32 reviews)

Cons
  • "Many rounds of layoffs in the past years and upper management is constantly turning over(in 12 reviews)

  • "B&W still continues to be middle and top heavy(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Interesting Work with Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Worker 

    I worked at The Babcock & Wilcox Company full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Interesting Field Smart Coworkers Flexible Hours Bountiful Opportunities for New Responsibilities

    Cons

    Tough Time for the Industry Period of Rapid Change

    The Babcock & Wilcox Company2019-02-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Engineer Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Babcock & Wilcox Company full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    A lot of opportunities to learn about the boiler industry.

    Cons

    Poor management. Negative atmosphere based on constant reductions in force.

    The Babcock & Wilcox Company2019-03-29
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Nepotism Rules - The ship is sinking fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in Akron, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Babcock & Wilcox Company full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Most people are great, but only on the individual contributor side, not management.

    Cons

    Nepotism over experience. New President and New CFO are being snowed and manipulated by remaining management.

    Advice to Management

    To the New President and New CFO - Stop nepotism. Hire competent people. Remove anyone with the same last name as any upper management you’ve let go. They are manipulating you by being the only voice, they are inexperienced and a huge part of the problem. Listen to the workers with real outside industry experience not those from Babcock alone. To the New President and CFO, Good luck, guys!

    The Babcock & Wilcox Company2019-04-15
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Not a stable, growing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Barberton, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Babcock & Wilcox Company full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    The 9/80 workweek is a great benefit (every other Friday off). Work/life balance is also very good.

    Cons

    There is no job security at all at B&W. They have layoffs just about every 6 months. Benefits aren't good. They keep taking more and more away. The company is near bankruptcy. Awful management decisions have landed the company in financial straits. They have had to take out bank loans to keep afloat and make payroll. This used to be a great company to work for - great people and culture. Unfortunately I recommend...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop reorganizing! It has just caused suspicion and chaos among the employees. And your current management structure, implemented 2/19, is going to self-implode. I hope the CEO recognizes quickly the mistakes he made with the people he put in place.

    The Babcock & Wilcox Company2019-03-07
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Don't apply there!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Engineer in Barberton, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Babcock & Wilcox Company full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    It WAS a great company, with important name..

    Cons

    incapable management, benefits reduced to the bone, layoffs every week

    Advice to Management

    resign please

    The Babcock & Wilcox Company2019-04-02
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Will we stay in business or be sold?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rather Not Say in Barberton, OH

    I have been working at The Babcock & Wilcox Company full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Every other Friday off! Free Coffee and can wear jeans.

    Cons

    Cost cutting, not sure they're going to get through a major downturn caused by 6 losing projects. There's a salary freeze in effect. Also froze pension in 2015 and now they took away service based 401K.

    Advice to Management

    You've taken away every incentive for long term people to stay, losing the service based 401k was the last straw!

    The Babcock & Wilcox Company2019-01-25
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Time for everyone to suck it up."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support in Barberton, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Babcock & Wilcox Company full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    B&W has some of the hardest working people I've ever had the pleasure to work with.

    Cons

    B&W still continues to be middle and top heavy. My department has almost as many supervisors as it does subordinates. And a few of them want to continue on like it's 1990 and all is well here. And this free coffee thing, is just ridiculous. I'd love to see what the bill for that is a month.

    Advice to Management

    There are many people here doing a job that use to be done by three. But there's quite a few that just want to make excuses and continue working the same way they have been the last 30 years. They don't want to step up and do what's right for their support staff and the company. The last thing B&W needs are people who want to sit on the sideline and ride out their career.

    The Babcock & Wilcox Company2019-01-28
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Would Look Elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Babcock & Wilcox Company full-time

    Pros

    Very intelligent employees, many with 25+ years experience

    Cons

    Poor management from the top down...

    The Babcock & Wilcox Company2019-02-05
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Service engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Construction Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Babcock & Wilcox Company full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great place to learn Decent Management

    Cons

    Too much travel Didnt get paid for extensive overtime

    Advice to Management

    If your going to charge the customer pay your employees

    The Babcock & Wilcox Company2018-12-12
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Tough times for the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Babcock & Wilcox Company full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    My coworkers have been amazing. Everyone i have worked with in the company has been competent and amicable.

    Cons

    The company is financially on the rocks. Many rounds of layoffs in the past years and upper management is constantly turning over.

    The Babcock & Wilcox Company2018-11-30
Found 210 reviews