The Barracuda Group Reviews | Glassdoor

The Barracuda Group Reviews

Updated Apr 6, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

1.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
14%
Recommend to a Friend
The Barracuda Group CEO Charles Taylor
Charles Taylor
0 Ratings
  1. "Different environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I have been working at The Barracuda Group

    Pros

    Recruiter Dulce, Job process, Friendly staff, and fast response

    Cons

    Waiting line, application, and assessment

    Advice to Management

    To train the rest of the recruiter to have some sympathy

    The Barracuda Group2015-10-10

    The Barracuda Group Response

    October 12, 2015General Manager

    Thank you for your response – it is great to hear that you had a friendly and quick experience with our office. We continuously work to improve our candidate processing times to reduce the waiting time for all candidates in order to move people through the process as quickly as ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (2)

    "9 Warnings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at The Barracuda Group

    Pros

    If you have never had experience in recruiting, and can overlook the information in this and other reviews for 6 months or a year, then you will come away with some actual marketable recruiting experience. This is assuming you don’t get fired first. More on that later. If you are a temp worker, much of this does not apply to you. You can use them to get a job without much risk to you.

    Cons

    I am writing this as a warning for others. Beware of the Barracuda Group, or Hire Barracuda, or Barracuda International, or Ice Card Inc, or whatever they are calling themselves right now. I won’t rehash the drama of the other reviews - though they are mostly accurate. Below are 9 specifics to look for as you consider employment with these people. Warning 1: Your offer letter will state that your commissions are... ‘discretionary.’ This is not normal business practice. You have the right to know, in writing and before accepting a job offer, how your commissions will be calculated. Ask for examples. Honest companies tell you in writing how your commissions are determined. Warning 2: The Barracuda Group typically doesn’t hand out benefits information or an employee handbook in writing. A benefits package will let you hold the company accountable for what they promised. A handbook lets you know what you will be held accountable for in the future. Barracuda management has a tendency to make many changes to what is expected of you weekly, if not daily. Things like quotas and daily plans come and go - but they will hold you responsible for living up to the changing expectations. Get it in writing! Warning 3: The managing partner frequently looks at interviewing/hiring as a dating service. Female candidates in an interview alone with the male partner are on a date, not in an interview. You can tell by whether you are talking about the job or about yourselves. Warning 4: Sexual harassment is the norm. And don’t believe that the female partner will help you. She believes him when he says, “Women just throw themselves at me and wear me down.” The harassment starts as simple favors like a vanilla Blue Bell Ice Cream, sometimes just for you and other times just for the women. Warning 5: Employment here is not secure. Management believes that employees perform better when in fear for their jobs. You may be fired for no reason. You will have no warning and no severance. They will tell you that Texas is an “At Will” employment state and they don’t have to give you a reason. Warning 6: Barracuda has many names. Your paycheck may say anything, like Ice Card, or Barracuda International or something different still. Stable, honest companies don’t frequently change names. Make sure your offer letter matches what your paychecks are going to say. Make sure they are paying you W2, not 1099. Warning 7: The managing partner is somewhere between a con man and a cult leader. He will tell stories. He is charming. You will feel good - for a while. Ask a lot of questions and think critically. Be sure any changes are written down. After the conversation, make sure you understand what you were told. You will want to trust what he tells you, but that’s a mistake. Warning 8: Be clear on the work/life balance. It will slowly erode as you work there. Soon, leaving at 5 isn’t good enough anymore, and you will hear that you should WANT to be there later because you should be devoted to your career. 5 will become 5:15. 5:15 will become 5:30. 5:30 will become ‘you should be working from home each night.’ You shouldn’t have to prove loyalty through longer hours and working from home. Warning 9: There have been many more employees of Barracuda than you would expect. Ask why. When they tell you it’s a ‘high turnover environment,’ be aware that this is not normal business practice in the recruiting industry. Why would a client company trust a recruiting firm to recruit for them if the recruiting firm isn’t able to recruit long term employees for themselves?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Consider the benefits of transparency in employment practices.

    The Barracuda Group2017-04-06
  3. "Don't waste your time. This group simply tries to fulfill positions to keep their personal salaries paid."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Barracuda Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You can where what you want keeping it causal.

    Cons

    No one is going to tell you the truth and resumes are just pooled.

    Advice to Management

    Treat all of your employees great and don't get rid of the ones who'll actually work.

    The Barracuda Group2017-02-23
  4. "Great for experience, bad for a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at The Barracuda Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hands on experience, good medical benefits

    Cons

    Low pay, unprofessional/hostile environment, high turnover, low employee morale, no training, unclear company policies, unattainable job expectations

    Advice to Management

    Invest in and value your employees more because 95% of them are there until they find a better job

    The Barracuda Group2015-10-01

    The Barracuda Group Response

    October 5, 2015General Manager

    Thank you for the candid feedback. Recruiting is in many ways a sales based career. With any sales position there is some amount of turnover as the pay is performance based. While what we do isn’t for everyone, those who apply themselves and take advantage of the training program ...

    Show More
  5. "Great Career Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Houston, TX

    I have been working at The Barracuda Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Recruiting Development, Success Driven, Transparent Environment, Strong Work Ethic, Attitude, Dependable, Innovative, Open Minded

    Cons

    Hiring Process, High Turn Over

    Advice to Management

    Be less lenient in hiring process to yield people that compliment the company culture, attitude, and expectations.

    The Barracuda Group2015-07-21

    The Barracuda Group Response

    July 28, 2015General Manager

    Thank you for your candid review! We hire people from a diverse set of experiences, often with no previous exposure to recruiting. As people move through our intensive training program, some determine that recruiting is not a career they want to pursue and move on to other opportunities.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good recruitment learning experience, but that's it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Barracuda Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learning the ins and outs of recruiting, helping my candidates get hired, and still staying in contact with them even after I left the company.

    Cons

    Where do I start... I understand recruiting is a hit or miss thing. Either you like it or you don't, either you're good at it or you're not. This company has a very high turnover rate. GOOD employees are not truly valued within the company; they just need warm bodies to act as gophers until they decide to either get rid of you or you get so fed up that you leave. There is no job security whatsoever even if you... are doing everything right and are performing well; management may just feel like firing you. Sometimes they won't even give you a chance to prove yourself and I witnessed this on several occasions. They are unprofessional. There was constant sexual inappropriateness. One of the male managing partners in the company who thought he was God's gift to women would frequently hire certain women coming in for interviews just for the sole intent of being his "eye candy" (for the short-term) and/or to sleep with them. He never intended for them to actually work/train to recruit. I would genuinely feel bad for these women because they thought they were being LEGITIMATELY hired. In turn, the actual COMPETENT employees had to "so call" train these women in vain, because they would only last a few days at the most a few weeks, which was a complete waste of time. This was so unnerving because precious time was taken away from our already hectic and stressful schedules as well as not being compensated for training his "eye candy" because it was definitely not apart of our job descriptions. A lot of our client companies were horrible and would request unethical things in order to get certain candidates. Our supervisors/managers were frequently untruthful with a lot of the candidates about potential jobs (i.e. bait & switch job offers/salaries). On many occasions we were instructed to do the same. It was all about filling the job orders by ANY means necessary; which could include being forced to stay at the office (located in a high crime/shoddy area of east downtown with no security) until late in the evening or being made to try and reach candidates after legal calling hours. I know that not all recruitment/staffing companies are like this, but this one takes the cake in my book. I'm glad I finally left when I did, even though it should have been A LOT sooner. Although there is so much more that can be said, this is just a warning to anyone considering accepting a job from this company whether it be man or woman.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Value your GOOD employees and get rid of your unethical business practices.

    The Barracuda Group2015-05-25

    The Barracuda Group Response

    July 28, 2015General Manager

    Thank you for your detailed comments which have been forwarded to our HR partner who, as an equal owner, is fully empowered to address any concerns related to harassment. We wish you the best as you move on to other opportunities.

  7. "Terrible place to be."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Barracuda Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Learned what I didn't want to do. The owners seemingly made quite a bit of money

    Cons

    - Unprofessional enviornment - Sexual Harrassment - Verbal Harassment - Threatening Enviornment - Drinking and drug use in the office

    Advice to Management

    Turn yourselves into the police, or seek rehab.

    The Barracuda Group2015-04-24

    The Barracuda Group Response

    July 28, 2015General Manager

    Part of our policy going forward is to respond to all employee reviews. We will respond to this one only to say we regret that you felt this way during your tenure with us and we take claims of harassment very seriously.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good if you're looking for something to tied you over between jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at The Barracuda Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Reasons to work there are none unless you're working as a contract employee and not an internal employee. Medical and dental are covered by the company

    Cons

    Unprofessional management. Sexual harassment. Will get laid off at the drop of the time for no reason and the owner will claim that Texas is an at will state. Never clear on your vacation, 401k plans. If you start off as salaried they will have you change to a draw system.

    The Barracuda Group2014-10-17

    The Barracuda Group Response

    July 28, 2015General Manager

    Thank you for your comments. As you stated, we do cover 100% of the cost of medical insurance for our employees. Sexual harassment claims are handled by our HR partner who is an equal member of the ownership team. We regret that your benefit plan, as outlined on all offer letters, ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Barracuda Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was a good way to learn about recruiting and how it worked.

    Cons

    Horrible management, bad pay, and unprofessional

    The Barracuda Group2014-07-17

    The Barracuda Group Response

    July 28, 2015General Manager

    Thank you for your comments. We are glad you were able gain valuable knowledge about the recruiting industry during your time with us. Our current compensation structure is marketplace competitive and allows for merit based salary increases over time in addition to commissions and ...

    Show More
Found 9 reviews