The Berry Company Account Executive Reviews | Glassdoor

The Berry Company Account Executive Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
The Berry Company CEO James Continenza
James Continenza
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "GREAT WORKPLACE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Executive in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Berry Company

    Pros

    Great family oriented company. Everyone treats each other like family. They truly care about the customer and doing the right thing. Great money, well compensated. You have the ability to make over 100k annual if you work at it. You have uncapped commissions.

    Cons

    The procean for keying paperwork are updated. Too many manual processes. Program needs to be launched to process everything digitally.

    Advice to Management

    You guys truly care about us. Put more motivation into our incentives. The money to do things is there, put up better prizes and collateral.

    The Berry Company2015-04-03
  2. "Senior Account Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in Saint Paul, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Berry Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fellow employees would help new employees to be able to do a better job.

    Cons

    Management was not trained to supervise employees. Watched us like a hawk.

    Advice to Management

    Training on how to motivate employees specially the new hires.

    The Berry Company2018-09-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Outside Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Berry Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Can make decent money. People you worked with.

    Cons

    everything else. Micro-managed, terrible products, management could care less about you...what did you sell today mentality. Do yourself a favor and just STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Advice to Management

    Find a new job.

    The Berry Company2016-09-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not what it seems..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Premise Account Executive in Honolulu, HI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Berry Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, great Customers, enjoy working with good people. Made some good friends

    Cons

    Management has no clue what goes on day to day, commission structure is not favorable, Hawaii local office very disconnected, some managers have no selling experience

    Advice to Management

    Training and development, higher commissions, new leaders

    The Berry Company2014-06-06
  5. Helpful (2)

    "The management here is Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Honolulu, HI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Berry Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Compensation is okay, fellow peers are willing to help and seem professional, benefits such as medical and dental are good.

    Cons

    Previously I worked in magazine sales and when I was offered this sales job I was told that it's more consultative and we get to know are customer. Once I completed training the consultation approach went down the drain. My manager wanted me to sell like a "car salesman". He was previously from this industry and wanted each of us to sell like that.

    Advice to Management

    Look at how your managers are training the sales reps, upper management is disconnected from day to day operations, get better digital products.

    The Berry Company2013-09-12
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Don't be fooled by this Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Honolulu, HI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Berry Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good health benefits, medical/dental. 401K program

    Cons

    Local Management not in sync with needs of market. Corporate Management continues to change selling styles, inconsistent with market needs. Company does not treat customers fairly when it comes to billing errors and customer service. Dying yellow page product still makes up majority of revenue

    Advice to Management

    If you want to become a digital company you need to sell like a digital company, bill like a digital company and have vision like a digital company.

    The Berry Company2013-06-10
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Poor vision from management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Berry Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good employees, benefits are good

    Cons

    Poor work ethic from managers, bad compensation plan, old dying yellow page product

    Advice to Management

    Treat customers as if each were your last, get your own products instead of being a reseller. Change your local management that has customer service focus and vision for change

    The Berry Company2013-06-05
  8. "Advertising sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Premise Account Executive in Lacrosse, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Berry Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Possibility of mid 80K Health care and match 401

    Cons

    Brutal travel all over the country. If your a premise sales person you may end up with a one day weekend ....if you even go home. Declining print product....have to make that up with digital products that are not the best and lousy support. Most people last a year or so;

    Advice to Management

    I have no confidence in them. My bosses all left and the company was bought by a holding company. This is the third owner I have worked for in 5 years.

    The Berry Company2013-01-25
  9. "Cyber division review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Executive in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Berry Company

    Pros

    One of the main reasons that I liked working at the Berry Company is the benefits plan. It is second to none.

    Cons

    I would say that one of the downsides of working at The Berry Company is micro management. I also feel that managers spend too much time worrying about things that don't matter in the long run instead of focusing on the bottom line.

    Advice to Management

    Do not focus on things that do not matter in the long run. Focus on achieving division wide sales goals.

    The Berry Company2009-09-09
  10. Helpful (1)

    "The Berry Company is a good place to gain sales experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Executive in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Berry Company

    Pros

    The Berry Company has challenging work and really pushes you to do your best. They do have great training and management seems to care about the well being of employees.

    Cons

    Tough economic conditions make their products difficult to sell. Competitive enviromnment.

    Advice to Management

    Shift focus away from directory advertising to online advertising. This media is less expensive and provides data for customers to measure their return on investment.

    The Berry Company2008-12-29
Found 12 reviews