The Biodesign Institute Reviews | Glassdoor

The Biodesign Institute Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Wish I Could Work Here Forever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Biodesign Institute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing research. Amazing people.

    Cons

    Outside people/groups trying to take over the institute.

    The Biodesign Institute2018-06-15
  2. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at The Biodesign Institute part-time

      Pros

      Great foot in the door

      Cons

      Low pay since its in academia

      The Biodesign Institute2017-07-04
    • "Great research but mentorship lacking"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at The Biodesign Institute full-time

      Pros

      World-class research programs; a variety of opportunities available, access to excellent training and facilities under certain conditions. You can definitely start a research science career here if you know what to look for.

      Cons

      No mentorship or career guidance even for young ppl in training programs, even if it's repeatedly requested. Tends to hire ppl who were trained elsewhere rather than providing training. Everyone-for-themselves type environment. Environment is best for ppl who can turn to their own outside networks for career guidance, project management, mentorship. They kind of ignore and disparage your efforts, providing little help...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Behind the times compared to other institutions in terms of transparency about mentorship roles. PIs and researchers should adopt contracts used by other departments at ASU (such as SoLS) to establish expectations and responsibilities of students and PIs about mentorship/menteeship before working together.

      The Biodesign Institute2017-06-21
    • "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at The Biodesign Institute full-time

      Pros

      Interesting people Great research opportunities Innovative thinking

      Cons

      Somewhat isolated from the rest of ASU... they need to collaborate with other ASU schools more.

      The Biodesign Institute2017-03-30
    • "UnderPaid research"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tempe, AZ
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at The Biodesign Institute for more than a year

      Pros

      Lot of vacation days for the full time employees.

      Cons

      Highly underpaid for software development.

      The Biodesign Institute2016-11-11
    • "Postdoctoral Research Fellow"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Tempe, AZ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Biodesign Institute full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good for biology related multidisciplinary researches.

      Cons

      Nothing to say about negative.

      The Biodesign Institute2016-10-25
    • "Student Software Engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Student Software Engineer in Scottsdale, AZ
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at The Biodesign Institute part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Cutting edge research on breast cancer.

      Cons

      Lack of consideration of skills. I was asked to finish up a graduate student's masters paper when I was an engineer in a completely different field in my first year of school.

      The Biodesign Institute2016-04-07
    • "Great place to work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at The Biodesign Institute

        Pros

        Flexible hours and friendly environment. My supervisor was always available to answer any questions I had about the tasks given to me. There were also quite a few events where you would get to know your fellow employees and build connections.

        Cons

        None that come to mind

        The Biodesign Institute2016-03-23
      • "Research Scientist"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Research Scientist in Gilbert, AZ
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at The Biodesign Institute full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Nice facility. Original idea of purposes and task of this institution was great.

        Cons

        Leadership and directions of this organization were changed too often for the last 6-8 years.

        The Biodesign Institute2016-02-03
      • "Great place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Lab Technician in Tempe, AZ
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I worked at The Biodesign Institute

        Pros

        Fun, collaborative place to work.

        Cons

        I did not have any problems working here.

        Advice to Management

        Keep up the great work!

        The Biodesign Institute2016-01-14
      Found 11 reviews