The Black Dog Reviews | Glassdoor

The Black Dog Reviews

Updated May 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Robert S. Douglas
4 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Black Dog full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount Appreciation for positive results Support and coaching when improvement is needed Investing in good performers Locations of stores Direct contact with Home Office Great people to work with and for

    Cons

    Seems very operationally focused Training could be improved

    Advice to Management

    Turn your focus to driving sales instead of operational tasks Develop an official training program

    The Black Dog2019-04-11
  2. "Best job of my career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Black Dog full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Caring environment on all levels. Competitive salary. You are listened to and your opinions matter. I have seen things change because of ideas from store level employees. Family atmosphere across the board.

    Cons

    No door blowers to keep cool air in and bugs out.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to us and keep talking.

    The Black Dog2019-05-30
  3. "Good job for college student or high school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sales Associate 

      I worked at The Black Dog part-time

      Pros

      flexibility and safe work environment

      Cons

      management is not that organized

      The Black Dog2019-05-11
    • "Great Brand, Productive and Fun Place to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Marketing in Falmouth, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Black Dog full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      I have thoroughly enjoyed my time here at The Black Dog since I started in April 2018. It has an excellent strong culture for a brand that is growing as quickly as it is. Everyone works hard and the company is always open to trying new things. There are checkpoints and a degree of accountability, but it's great to work in an environment where so many employees have the ability to lead and run projects without micromanagement....

      Show More

      Cons

      Like most small companies, you wear different several hats and need to roll up your sleeves. This would not be a place for those who only feel comfortable working in a defined role.

      The Black Dog2019-01-17
    • "You are definitly on a leash"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Manager in Vineyard Haven, MA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at The Black Dog full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Staff and co workers are mostly great workers and a strong team.

      Cons

      Certain employees are used to spy and intimidate. Conspiracies are created for upper management which believes in motivating employees by fear. Employees and successful managing are not valued. CEO does nothing. Others run the business and create negative culture.

      Advice to Management

      Put egos and self interest aside and allow people to use their skills and talent to create success. Pay people what they deserve and the bonus's promised.

      The Black Dog2019-01-13
    • "The Black Dog"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at The Black Dog part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great atmosphere for those who want to feel like they matter to a company.

      Cons

      Tough to get a hire up position because of how small the company is.

      Advice to Management

      Help those who want to further their working career with the company in hope to keep the nostalgic feel for the company.

      The Black Dog2018-08-21
    • "Regional Manager is the WORST!!!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Store Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at The Black Dog full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      In seaside towns. Dogs get to come in store.

      Cons

      The Regional Manager that they hired is ruining the family owned business. They should have already fired her for all the crazy things she has implemented. She is ruining everything that employees use to love about the company. They need to fire her ASAP!!!

      Advice to Management

      You don’t need a regional manager. Let everyone interview for open jobs!

      The Black Dog2018-07-19
    • Helpful (3)

      "Store Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at The Black Dog full-time

      Pros

      Family owned business and everyone knows everyone

      Cons

      Policies change constantly, no growth, expectations are changed every day, upper management does not care about employees anymore, no vacations allowed from May - September.....

      The Black Dog2018-07-05
    • Helpful (1)

      "Part Time Summer Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends

        I worked at The Black Dog part-time

        Pros

        Good summer job, fun staff, consistent schedule

        Cons

        Poorly managed, late hours and unpaid lunch break

        The Black Dog2018-04-30
      • Helpful (1)

        "Dogs treated better than employees"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook

          I worked at The Black Dog full-time for less than a year

          Pros

          The merchandise quality and dog friendly also doggie adoption

          Cons

          No time and a half on Sunday, and only 3 paid holidays

          The Black Dog2018-04-18
        Found 26 reviews