The Black Tux Reviews | Glassdoor

The Black Tux Reviews

Updated Jul 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 61 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
The Black Tux CEO Andrew Blackmon
Andrew Blackmon
37 Ratings
  1. "Come work with us!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Coordinator in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Black Tux full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Teamwork makes the dream work mentality, inclusive/diverse and a growing company that supports their employee's health and happiness!

    Cons

    If you aren't interested in building things out and innovation this may not be the right place for you at this time

    The Black Tux2019-07-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Overall great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Black Tux full-time

    Pros

    - Great size and stage of company. Small enough to be nimble and not worry much about politics, large enough to avoid most of the startup chaos - Really strong culture. From the new hire onboarding program to the offsites to the emphasis on cultural values, the company does a great job ensuring that it's a good place to work. Also an overall great place for work/life balance. - High expectations. The... leadership really does try to assemble an A team. While this can lead to some turnover, I appreciate the dedication to excellence. - Investment in career development. Managers are encouraged to develop career pathways for all functions and career development is not overlooked.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Leadership can do a better / more intentional job about sharing strategy / prioritized initiatives / roadmap with the teams at large. - Like many startups, can be prone to chase the next shiny penny, and this lack of focus can create some thrash.

    The Black Tux2019-07-25
  3. "Bad and Good sides"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Administrative in Santa Monica, CA

    I worked at The Black Tux full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and people with lots of fun activities and caterings Annual salary adjustment Dog friendly Free health care Cell phone and parking reimbursement You can work remotely once in a while (if you work in the HQ) Unlimited PTO No micromanagement

    Cons

    Different departments are not on the same different page. Processes can be deviated from standard policies which causes difficulties to accomplish a common goal among goal. People are hired with no prior related work experiences which causes challenges to work others Will cut corners to save cost

    The Black Tux2019-07-23
  4. "Horrible Start up company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Returns and Put-away 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Black Tux full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Speak Spanish and LGBT friendly.

    Cons

    This company is a biased company. I worked there for 3 weeks and noticed the culture there favors Hispanic Spanish speaking workers and the LGBT community. I am a straight male and endured harassment at this company. Also the company moves people around departments a lot and are able to manipulate data in reference to what the company calls "Transactions per hour" . I would advise against working at this company.

    The Black Tux2019-07-01
  5. "Black Tux Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ambassador 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Black Tux full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Meet and greet a lot of new people help fit and pick out outfits for future events in their life

    Cons

    Understaffed and it can get chaotic sometimes. They are a start up company so a lot of random problems do tend to occur.

    Advice to Management

    Needs to make sure that all locations are steady and have a good foundation before starting others. Also better communication through out the business I feel like I am unaware of a lot of things that happen.

    The Black Tux2019-06-28
  6. "Great experience, great team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brand Ambassador in Washington, DC
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Black Tux full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's great experience helping people plan thier event, weddings, helping them look Thier best On that special day.

    Cons

    Very technical job requirements, one has to have a little bit tailoring and fitting knowledge , I mean, you fit people all day for absent pieces , if it's not done right you would have lots of unhappy customers.

    Advice to Management

    The pay is so at $15/ hour is not equate to the work load,

    The Black Tux2019-06-03
  7. "Good Company with Poor Execution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Black Tux full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good People, Good Work-Life Balance, Has the potential to be a much bigger company if they want to become that

    Cons

    Lack of communication and a solid growth plan leads to poor execution leaving employees stressed. The cultural differences between the headquarters and the rest of the company leaves something to be desired.

    The Black Tux2019-05-02
  8. "Great team in a maturing start-up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Black Tux full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I’ve worked at a lot of startups, and TBT is one of the more mature in terms of its organization. They have a solid onboarding, culture-related training, annual performance reviews and cost-of-living raises, volunteer days, monthly employee recognition, annual training budgets for tech, and things like that. It feels like the company genuinely cares about employee retention. But because the company is still small, I... still feel heard and like I can have a real impact on culture, tech, process, etc. And there are so many dogs. I also really like all of my coworkers. They have put together a team of really smart, caring people. I also appreciate that the company is super transparent about finances, challenges, and other high-level trends. I feel like I can trust what I’m being told about how the company is doing.

    Show More

    Cons

    There was a ton of turnover on the tech team, which sometimes means it feels like there’s no historical knowledge. And the tech is definitely over-complicated and it’s hard to find time to focus on it when there’s always a lot going on

    Advice to Management

    As we go from being an early start-up to whatever is next, make sure we have time and space to build things for the long run.

    The Black Tux2019-04-11
  9. "avoid this place like the plague"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Black Tux full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    pretty office and that's it

    Cons

    too many to name...most of the downfall stems from shoddy product and bad management.

    The Black Tux2019-04-09
  10. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work for adults"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Black Tux full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Forward thinking, innovative company who hires a lot of great people. The management team is really smart. Great with the way they spend money, and they don't blow cash like other Silicon Valley startups. They make smart decisions of who they hire, how they invest in the culture, and how departments budget. They pay people well. Anyone who says otherwise isn't being honest with themselves. There is a lot of... freedom, autonomy, ability to be creative with how you solve problems, and you get to work along smart really smart people. It's a great place for people to work who love to learn, solve problems, and have a real meaningful impact. This place is filled with compassionate people who really care about one another. Great work-life balance and supportive of people with families. Events are super fun, and you can tell the Talent and People team really cares about the employees. The management's is focused on building the right culture that is progressive and innovative. They're shifting the culture to focus on self-improvement, and ask people to be vulnerable at work, have low egos, own their mistakes, and have open and direct honest conversations with each other.

    Show More

    Cons

    This place is great for people who speak up about their needs. People who proactively ask for feedback, flag areas for improvement (within their own role and internally within the company). It's not a place for people who have big egos, or who complain about their job or the company, and don't proactively do anything to make their situation or the company better. There are still some entitled employees on the team... who don't realize how great they have it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on self improvement for yourselves. This behavior has to be displayed by management in order for others to follow.

    The Black Tux2019-04-09
Found 61 reviews