The Black Tux Reviews | Glassdoor

The Black Tux Reviews

Updated 26 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
The Black Tux CEO Andrew Blackmon
Andrew Blackmon
38 Ratings
  1. "Best Company Culture I've Experienced Thus Far!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Project Manager in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Black Tux full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am relatively new here at The Black Tux and so far I absolutely love it! It is quite evident that both the owners, Andrew and Patrick, have a great understanding of what motivates folks to do their best work. They key is believing in your employees and the talent they bring to the table. TBT is a highly collaborative/entrepreneurial environment. You are in control of your success and have the support of upper... management to reach your career goals. How can I forget, the company culture is friendly, energetic, and positive.

    Show More

    Cons

    No cons from what I can see.

    The Black Tux2018-01-25
  2. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Black Tux full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked for The Black Tux for 3 years and had a really good experience. I've seen it grow from a small operation of fewer than 10 people with a garage fulfillment facility to now over 150 employees and warehouses across the US. I recommend working here, especially if you're a self-starter and looking for career growth. Reasons why it's great: * Lots of opportunity for growth. * Collaborative environment with... good workspace. * Flat organizational structure where all voices can be heard. * Good benefits and perks. * Concern for company culture and employee satisfaction. * Fair and equal compensation. * Smart and unpretentious people.

    Show More

    Cons

    There have been plenty of growing pains over the years, but management is aware of it's weakest points and is constantly looking for ways to improve.

    Advice to Management

    Overall, management across all departments seems to have improved a lot over the past year. I would say inter-department communication is probably one area that could still be better.

    The Black Tux2018-01-24
  3. Helpful (7)

    "No structure, no accountability, no loyalty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Black Tux full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They sold me on the kumbaya start up stuff and the location being cool with dogs in the office

    Cons

    Where do I begin? They are very controlling of their image and they suppress the truth. It's evident across all their social media. Whenever someone (customer or employee) presents an issue or a problem, they bury it with happy go lucky reviews that dilute or hide the truth. Why are they so afraid of the truth? Well, because they've screwed over enough of their employees that their exes are coming home to roost.

    Advice to Management

    Honesty is the best policy. We know you like to present the company in the best possible light but don't bury the truth with distorted reality. No one is buying it. Quit screwing over employees and making them into ex employees. Treat your people better and truly listen to them. We're not robots who are there to service the company and be humored. We deserve the truth. So do your customers!

    The Black Tux2017-12-24
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Falling Apart at the Seams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Black Tux full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The concept, while intriguing, is quickly losing its' validity. Nice location, decent perks, below industry standard pay.

    Cons

    Complete lack of vision, beginning with the 2 founders who are still part of the company. No profit on the horizon. B and C round raises keeping the lights on, barely. Lack of awareness for who the customer really is. Just another case of a couple kids having a novel idea, but ultimately having zero clue how to action on it. Upper management tries, but holes abound in the structure. Interviewing process, if... you can call it that, is miserable and alienates top prospects. Would you interview 10-15 times and then be unable to understand where things stand in the process? If you can't make a decision as a company by that point, how can you ever expect to compete with the big boys in this space?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take the money that's left, pay out the employees who have been there, lick your wounds and move on to the next thing. This horse has run already and it's not getting back into that starting gate. Outsourced customer service, shoddy supply chain techniques, no concept of digital marketing strategies and a under trained workforce is the ultimate recipe for disaster. On the bright side, at least there will be new... space for rent in Santa Monica.

    Show More
    The Black Tux2017-12-20
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Exceptional place to grow personally and professionally"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Black Tux full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is the first company I've worked at that values my thoughts, ideas, and work product greater than my years of experience or title. It's truly a meritocracy, which is a difficult thing to find these days. + Smart, hard-working team across the board + You can take on as much responsibility within the business as you're willing/able to handle + Flat org structure - there are still titles, but everyone is... expected to be a leader and has the autonomy to make decisions within their area of responsibility + Market opportunity - the company has grown tremendously in its short lifetime and is tackling an attractive market that's ripe for change + Flexible work - each team is slightly different, but most teams have highly flexible work hours and work-from-home policies + Snacks, free Friday lunches, holiday parties, happy hours, etc. - what you'd expect out of a startup like this

    Show More

    Cons

    The company is not without a few growing pains. Early on there was a lack of alignment around company values (both in terms of what they wanted the culture to be and how that would influence hiring/firing decisions), but they've taken more deliberate steps to codify that and there is good momentum around the new direction internally. - Not a great place for those who prefer a high degree of structure and... direction in their work - As could be expected with a startup, the priorities of the business can change abruptly and require certain teams to move in a new direction. This can be frustrating for people that prefer a more stable and predictable (less fluid) work environment.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue on the path you're heading and maintain consistency in your cultural values and mission.

    The Black Tux2017-12-18
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Helping gents dress to the nines"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The Black Tux full-time

    Pros

    I really love my job and my coworkers are amazing people. I believe in the vision and the future of this startup and I am inspired by the potential of the business. It's easy to get excited at work because I feel that I'm contributing.

    Cons

    I've noticed a little bit of favoritism and how senior management pays attention to certain people while they seem to ignore others who fly under the radar. I've also noticed a pattern for when they are criticized on social media. They fluff up social media accounts to make business appear better and make everything seem more favorable. They tend to control their image across all social media platforms.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Allow for honest feedback and encourage more employee discussions. Also allow for more honest customer feedback and don't jam social media channels with made up reviews.

    The Black Tux2017-12-03
  7. "Amazing culture + talented team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Black Tux full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company truly believes in a horizontal business structure, which isn't for those who aren't self-starting. This creates a ton of opportunity to increase your workload and responsibilities across different areas of the business, which is a huge positive. Main pros: - No egos - Talented teams in most areas of the business - Openness to new ideas - Huge company growth - Awesome culture (parties, free lunch,... etc.) - Transparency with funding - Overly fair paying

    Show More

    Cons

    As mentioned, if you aren't a self-starter it can be difficult to find your way. Other than that I don't have any complaints.

    Advice to Management

    Increase employee reviews.

    The Black Tux2017-12-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "This company truly cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Black Tux full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This place is amazing! I have never had such a want to come to work! They truly take great care of you! I come in to fresh brewed coffee every morning, and a wide variety of snacks. I get to work with some truly amazing people, and we all help each other out. There is free lunch every Friday. They will also give us random snacks as surprises, like a make your own ice cream sandwich bar. I like as well that they... give you a lot of freedom, but they also give you a lot of responsibility. Like you have all day to work, and they don't fully police you, but you can't be slacking off. Since I have more freedom at work, I feel that I can perform my best! (And it shows!) They also hire a lot from within. If you work your hardest, they want to keep you. Other benefits are amazing, like heath insurance, paid parking/public transport, snacks, sparking water, kombucha, cold brew coffee, and performance contests! I like how everyone is nice to each other, like we all have lunch together, and hang out after work. We have company planned co-mingle lunches, where you have lunch with people in different departments. I lie as well how even the co-founders know who I am and they ask me about my day! I took a bit of a pay cut coming to this job, but that's only because I came from a ritzy corporate job. That corporate job paid well, but they treated their employees like crap. I'm glad I quit to work at TBT!

    Show More

    Cons

    The only down side are that there are some (a few) employees that don't know how good we have it, and don't appreciate what an amazing company we work for. I think that's because they never had a boring corporate job. I also love the work life balance. I have had ohs where I have taken work home with me mentally. Here I just show up to work, and can leave, without a worry.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!!! Keep surprising me! You never stop! :)

    The Black Tux2017-10-01
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Wish they were more direct and less fake"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Black Tux full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good experience, they feed you well and free tux rentals

    Cons

    Dishonest, condescending management, they are very flighty and unfair. No transparency and all employees operate in the dark even tho management pretends to care what employees have to say with fake all hands meetings full of self congratulatory managers patting themselves on the back and stroking egos.

    Advice to Management

    Be real and drop the baloney

    The Black Tux2017-09-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Friendly Work Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Black Tux full-time

    Pros

    My manager truly cares about me and my team member's wellbeing--professionally and personally. I think this is important to have because you spend so much time with each other. I appreciate the constant feedback from my team. Very friendly work atmosphere. I see a lot of employees become close friends in and out of work, e.g. becoming lunch buddies at work to attending concerts together. These are just a few... things I really appreciate about this company. I've never worked for a company like this and it helps me appreciate that TBT genuinely cares about their employees.

    Show More

    Cons

    None I can think of now

    The Black Tux2017-09-26
Found 62 reviews