The Black Tux Reviews | Glassdoor

The Black Tux Reviews

Updated Jul 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 61 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
The Black Tux CEO Andrew Blackmon
Andrew Blackmon
37 Ratings
  1. Helpful (8)

    "Wish they were more direct and less fake"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Black Tux full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good experience, they feed you well and free tux rentals

    Cons

    Dishonest, condescending management, they are very flighty and unfair. No transparency and all employees operate in the dark even tho management pretends to care what employees have to say with fake all hands meetings full of self congratulatory managers patting themselves on the back and stroking egos.

    Advice to Management

    Be real and drop the baloney

    The Black Tux2017-09-28
  2. Helpful (7)

    "DevOps Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Devops Engineer in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Black Tux full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Young startup perks. When I first joined it was really exciting with free drinks, snacks and lunches. But even those started to go away. Really flexible work hours.

    Cons

    When I started at The Black Tux I was really excited and ready to engage with the teams. I quickly learned that the the teams were very cliquish and would write you off if you weren't on their side or praise them at every turn. Within a month my team was laid off leaving me to pick up their work and start from scratch. They never promised to rehire or provide me any help. The manager 1-on-1s were worthless and my manager,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Guys, get rid of the write up system and coach people instead. Its only there to get people to quit. Also if you are going to punish workers for miss steps then be prepared to punish management too. Just because, "They came from Nordstrom's" does not make them a good employee.

    The Black Tux2017-08-23
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Startup With Serious Growing Pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Black Tux full-time

    Pros

    Work colleagues are good people.

    Cons

    The company is trying to stress certain values: transparency, good work ethic, communication, trust, and high performers, but you don't see a lot of that exercised with upper management in the different departments. They ask why company culture is so bad but fail to realize their managers probably aren't meant to manage people just because they are good at their specific job skill set. Things seem very sneaky and a lot...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Not only listen but act on the employee feedback you ask for so that things will actually turn around for the employee morale. It's not about great snacks and more happy hour activities, it's about respecting employees as real people and holding everyone to the values you're trying to instill.

    The Black Tux2017-09-08
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Pretentious company that treats employees like replaceable pawns"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Black Tux

    Pros

    I like my coworkers and the start up atmosphere is fun

    Cons

    Snobs, no communication between departments, crammed workspace. Customer service department is a revolving door.

    Advice to Management

    Commit to people and maybe they will commit to you

    The Black Tux2017-08-30
  5. Helpful (5)

    "TBT sure SUCKS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at The Black Tux full-time

    Pros

    Nice office location near the beach and dog friendly

    Cons

    At first glance it seems like a cool place to work. But once you get in, watch out. They change policies and rules it seems every month or so and they make stuff up as they go along. There's no cohesion and you can tell everyone is there for just a paycheck. The concept seems good but the management is about as real as the illusion they like to portray to prospects. Don't buy into their nonsense.

    Advice to Management

    The way you treat people will eventually come back to bite you in the tuxedo

    The Black Tux2017-07-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at The Black Tux

    Pros

    -Great culture -Good career opportunity since it's a young start up -Smart business model & the product is top of the line -Intelligent, driven people

    Cons

    I don't really have any cons for TBT. I had a great time working here and highly recommend it to anyone who is interested in learning about fashion, retail, or tech.

    The Black Tux2017-05-25
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Nice place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Black Tux full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoy working here and feel very positive about the company outlook. The upper management is really striving to instill a worthy set of culture and align them with company goals.

    Cons

    I feel that the department I work in (withheld because I may be easy to sniff out), is not interested in growing leaders from within the company ranks. It is for this reason, that I feel this company is better suited for younger people than myself.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work with the company culture and values. More personal, human interactions and less email threads with animated GIFs. The same people who just emailed me a "congrats!" don't even say "hello" or actually know me - gives a feeling of disingenuousness (is that a word?)

    The Black Tux2017-05-31

    The Black Tux Response

    June 27, 2017Recruiter

    We are constantly working on improving TBT at every level, and we appreciate that you took the time to provide this feedback. We have a yearly performance review and salary increase around the same time each year. This year, we had this cycle in March so at the time you posted this ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (3)

    "No established culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The Black Tux full-time

    Pros

    - Dog friendly office was exciting - Snacks and lots of food provided - Truly awesome vision and product!

    Cons

    - I was thrilled when I did my interview. This hip, startup in sexy Santa Monica is taking the time to interview me!?! Everything seemed really exciting in the interview. On day 1 of training though, it just became so apparent that nobody liked the job, their co-workers, and least of all the customers. The attrition was super high. People constantly came and left, including me. Pay wasn't good either and like many companies...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Don't make it okay to talk about customers in such a negative light. Putting them on hold is not an excuse to call them stupid!

    The Black Tux2017-06-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful Startup"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The Black Tux full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people, really fun company outings, endless perks, (Dog friendly office was a big one) & annual travel vouchers!!

    Cons

    Communication- something most startups need to work on, Upper management could improve on this but I see them doing so in the future as they grow!

    Advice to Management

    Find a way to communicate throughout the company better- from team to team. Encourage your employees to grow within their role or expand outside of it. Aside from that, keep being awesome.

    The Black Tux2017-04-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great employee benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The Black Tux full-time

    Pros

    free HMO plans dental and vision are 100% covered

    Cons

    Communication and inventory management could definitely improve

    The Black Tux2017-02-03
Found 61 reviews