The Blue Bench Reviews | Glassdoor

The Blue Bench Reviews

Updated Jan 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
The Blue Bench CEO Karmen Carter
Karmen Carter
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Canvasser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Canvasser 
    Recommends

    I worked at The Blue Bench part-time

    Pros

    This is an incredible experience for anyone who is passionate about participating in activist careers. Everyday, each employees' contributions provide for the center's sexual assault prevention and survivor care. The staff is passionate and understanding.

    Cons

    It can be difficult for those with mobility restrictions.

    The Blue Bench2017-08-30
  2. "Community Organizer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The Blue Bench part-time

    Pros

    Get to be a part of preventing sexual violence. Work to educate members about the great resources The Blue Bench provides to sexual assault survivors, the prevention education done in schools, and getting the hotline number out there.

    Cons

    Difficult to go door-to-door asking for money. Have to have a thick skin (worth it for the cause). Swing shift hours.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work.

    The Blue Bench2019-01-10
  3. "Best Work Experience of My Life so Far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The Blue Bench part-time

    Pros

    The people at The Blue Bench are really what make it such a rewarding experience. Not only are you able to raise money for an outstanding organization, but the people you work with day in and day out are by far the most friendly, charismatic group of people of know. Everyone loves what they do and they make working a tough job, very easy.

    Cons

    Only con is the hours, but such is the canvassing life.

    Advice to Management

    The only thing I can think if, is maybe help new hires (especially people new to canvassing) with the pay scale a little more. It was detailed and outlined well, but a quick glance was not all it should be really.

    The Blue Bench2017-08-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "The Blue Bench Canvassing Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at The Blue Bench part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Wonderful beliefs and morals.

      Cons

      Felt more like a salesperson instead of a person actually contributing to donations for education. Interview and job description was very misleading and the pay is a scam. Felt very wrong asking people at their doors for money, all while being in the freezing weather. Take precaution when canvassing in this weather because they never call off weather days.

      Advice to Management

      I advise management to be more clear about the job position, pay and the responsibilities of a canvasser.

      The Blue Bench2016-02-29
    • Helpful (2)

      "Canvasser"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Community Organizer - Trainer in Denver, CO
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at The Blue Bench

      Pros

      As community organizers, we are able to enter the communities of Colorado that we serve and talk to folks about sexual assault, as well as providing them with information and resources that they may have not had access to. We go into the community to break the silence about the prevalence of sexual violence and empower individuals to get involved in taking the fight into their own hands. The canvassing staff is a group...

      Show More

      Cons

      The work is emotionally draining at times and is not for the faint of heart. This is a job that requires you speak to roughly forty people a night and requires energy, perseverance and enthusiasm. Also, because the canvassing staff is separated from the rest of the organization (prevention, counseling, case-management, etc.), there is limited opportunity to move into other positions at the Blue Bench.

      Advice to Management

      The Field Management staff is a group of some of the hardest working folks around - they are the first ones in the office and the last to leave. It is important to recognize that burnout happens and making sure that their voices are heard and their needs are being met will lead to higher retention.

      The Blue Bench2015-09-29
    • Helpful (4)

      "Canvasser"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at The Blue Bench full-time

      Pros

      Great training and virtually all fellow employees are nice, genuine and fun people. It's a great cause to be working for and one of a kind. The job keeps you in shape and outside. There are opportunities for advancement and travel. There is at least one briefing a week on a variety of subjects, this job teaches you a lot about yourself and the social justice world as a whole. The pay is good for what you do but if...

      Show More

      Cons

      The work can get emotionally hard some days. Since you performance based and not hourly they will try to squeeze as much time out of you as they can. Getting out late can be difficult if you rely on the bus schedule.

      Advice to Management

      Be careful about not over working and under appreciating employees Particularity long time ones. I see the management team in early and out late, they are the glue that holds the office together, don't take them and their help for granted.

      The Blue Bench2015-08-27
    • Helpful (4)

      "Canvassing Department"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Field Manager 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at The Blue Bench full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      As a field manager in the field canvass department, I have experienced many great things at The Blue Bench. The canvassing staff are all compassionate about the work we do and the change we create in the communities we reach out to. Currently sitting as the top grossing office in a network of non profits, the opportunities for growth in the network is great. The network not only houses personal development opportunities,...

      Show More

      Cons

      Opportunities to move up in position at The Blue Bench as an organization is more uncommon. The canvass staff is one of the larger groups at The Blue Bench, and the prevention, counseling, and case management team are definitely smaller. I have experienced folks who have wanted to move departments, but have been postponed due to lack of positions available.

      The Blue Bench2015-08-24
    • Helpful (3)

      "Canvasser review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Canvasser in Denver, CO
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at The Blue Bench

      Pros

      It's really great to be outside all day and talk to so many wonderful people. The staff here is really amazing and supportive.

      Cons

      As you move up you start to make less money per hour because you're required to work so many extra hours. It's also commission based pay which can be hard if you're having other things going on. You have to be there 100% mentally all the time.

      The Blue Bench2015-09-08
    • Helpful (6)

      "Avoid at all costs! Very poor executive management and supervision, high burnout, low salary"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at The Blue Bench

      Pros

      The cause is important, the clients are sincerely wanting help, and many of the employees are passionate and sincere in their dedication.

      Cons

      All of the executives and supervisors are burned out, unhealthy, and unfortunately acting out their own issues of power and control against those people working under them. This place is being operated unconsciously and ineffectively, and anyone seeking to improve things or contribute positively is seen with suspicion and eventually either fired or pushed out. One employee was asked to leave immediately after constructively...

      Show More
      The Blue Bench2015-06-13
    • Helpful (2)

      "Canvasser"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Canvasser in Denver, CO

      I have been working at The Blue Bench part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Training is probably the best out there for canvassing, and the employees are great people.

      Cons

      Lots of turnover. They give you quotas that if you don't meet, you receive minimum wage for that day. The interview process is somewhat misleading when they tell you how much you'll be making. It's a great job if money doesn't mean that much to you.

      Advice to Management

      Give part-time employees some type of incentive to stick around.

      The Blue Bench2015-05-13
    Found 10 reviews