The Body Shop "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

The Body Shop Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Sep 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
71%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
The Body Shop CEO David Boynton
David Boynton
115 Ratings
Pros
  • "great products and ethics/values of company(in 93 reviews)

  • "free products when you start and this can renew 3 times a year(in 75 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sometimes disorganized, communication from upper management not always consistent(in 50 reviews)

  • "part time role yet feels full time as they want you to be flexible and available all the time but you don’t get full time hours(in 36 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop full-time

    Pros

    friendly staff, always have to do busy work since it was so slow. Hours were good and the product was great.

    Cons

    very slow. Hardly ever met our sales goals. Upper management was very demanding of the entire staff.

    Continue reading
    The Body Shop2015-11-23
  2. "Purpose at work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great leadership, excellent products, great leadership

    Cons

    Sometimes disorganized, communication from upper management not always consistent

    The Body Shop2019-09-30
  3. "Customer Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Associate in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay, Good Hours, Good Background

    Cons

    Upper Management (regional), Forced Sales

    The Body Shop2018-12-03
  4. "Don’t work here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Shop Manager in Braintree, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very generous discounts/gratis product Company doesn’t test on animals/is forward about charity

    Cons

    Unreasonable/unrealistic sales goals that pit employees against each other Managers can manipulate sales goals to make themselves look better Upper management cutthroat and not understanding about ridiculous sales goals Unclear policies/quick policy changes Below average compensation Potential for extremely low hours Terrible benefits package High turnover

    Continue reading
    The Body Shop2018-12-15
  5. "warehouse supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop full-time

    Pros

    great work life balance, plenty of parties throughout the year

    Cons

    terrible pay, upper management makes poor decisions, everyone is a temp, low pay for workers so you can get everyone from Henderson who wash out after a few weeks.

    Continue reading
    The Body Shop2018-09-11
  6. "Dissatisfied"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Holder 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent employee discount. Ethical products.

    Cons

    This company is failing in the US. Numerous store closings. High turnovers. Store Goals are reflective of company’s deficits. In store technology is 15 years behind. Inconsistent support from Upper Management (Regional, District, Shipping).

    The Body Shop2018-07-26
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Horrible experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time

    Pros

    Company as a whole has amazing beliefs, Cruelty free and fair trade. Products are excellent, and the employee discount is pretty great too.

    Cons

    Upper management is an ungodly nightmare. The regional manager was rude, unprofessional, uncommunicative with employees, and generally unfit for her position. No manager willing to use personal insults, nor willing to control their emotions towards employees and customers, should be manager. At least two stores in the district are dangerously under-employed and in horrible conditions (we're talking one employee for an entire store, 12-18 hour shifts 7 days a week all by themselves). There is a refusal for direct communication about anything, including payments and hours worked.

    Continue reading
    The Body Shop2017-11-20
  8. "Being creative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at The Body Shop

    Pros

    I liked the company because I was able to be creative. I had great hours and worked with great sale associates.

    Cons

    There is no structure or boundaries. They will hire anyone. Upper Management has no experience and has no direction. Do not waste your time if there is a problem with in the store because there will be no solution.

    Continue reading
    The Body Shop2017-08-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "CSR Key holder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The Body Shop part-time

    Pros

    I had the best Manager

    Cons

    Upper Management not engaged in processing what was unique about a store or area.

    The Body Shop2017-07-20
  10. "Good Values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shop Manager in San Jose, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Body Shop full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great products. Values are truly reflected in what they strive to offer customers. Lots of gratis products, so you can really try them and offer your own experiences.

    Cons

    There is "it's never enough" attitude from upper management. No "on the ground" support from upper management.

    Continue reading
    The Body Shop2017-05-09
Found 50 reviews