The Borgen Project Human Resources Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

The Borgen Project Human Resources Intern Reviews

Updated May 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
26%
Recommend to a Friend
25%
Approve of CEO
The Borgen Project CEO Clint Borgen (no image)
Clint Borgen
5 Ratings
  1. "Great HR experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Human Resources Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Borgen Project

    Pros

    While this may not be a paid internship, the level of experience gained is superb. As an HR intern, I posted open positions across various platforms, screened applications, and conducted countless interviews and made selections for who to add to the team.

    Cons

    The only con was th fact that it ended.

    The Borgen Project2018-11-05
  2. "meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Human Resources Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Borgen Project

    Pros

    you get SOME experience and a pretty name to slap on your resume. my manager was very nice.

    Cons

    This did not focus on the HR aspect as I would've liked it to. I also understand that this is a non-profit organization and you need to advocate on their behalf, but the $400 fundraising requirement was ridiculous and unnecessary. you don't even know where your money is going. so essentially you're paying $400 for an unpaid internship that offers you little to no experience. I thought it was a major waste of time.

    Advice to Management

    Tone down the fundraising requirement.

    The Borgen Project2019-05-23
  3. "Good opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Human Resources Intern in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Borgen Project for less than a year

    Pros

    Helpful entry level experience for human resources and it was telecommute

    Cons

    This internship was not-paid and some of the tasks are not related to HR

    The Borgen Project2019-04-24
  4. "So Rude and Waste of time and your money!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Human Resources Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Borgen Project

    Pros

    you can Work remotely at home

    Cons

    You cannot really learn anything, even though it is a HR program, you did not even get a chance to get in touch with really candidates and interviews. The manager is so rude and does not help with your problem. All you do here is to advertise them and do fundraising (you do not even know where those money goes). You are required to do some tasks but the orgnization would not give back the money you spent yourself.... This is an unpaid job but you have to pay extra money for it. so sucks. I would not recommend this job.

    Show More
    The Borgen Project2019-03-23
  5. Helpful (9)

    "HR intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Borgen Project part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you have nothing on your resume this would look good as it says INTERN. You could sugar coat what you did and sell it.

    Cons

    Pretty much using you and your time to do their small work. You are REQUIRED to raise $500 in any intern position. (You arent paid at all also.) Pretty much a weird pyramid scheme but by using the word intern so it sounds more attractive. Waste of time and money. They really hassle you to ask your friends and family to donate.

    Advice to Management

    Have an actual location interns can go too and make them feel valued.

    The Borgen Project2018-01-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "I loved working with The Borgen Project"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Human Resources Intern 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Borgen Project for less than a year

    Pros

    - Lots of learning and good chance to gain some work experience - Chance to do HR/Recruiting tasks - Timely communication and appreciation from the manager This was a telecommute position. Besides HR functions there was fundraising and other activities as well. If you do care for the cause they support you wont feel that you are being made work without any returns. Of course the return is satisfaction and... happiness of being able to help.

    Show More

    Cons

    Really can't think of anything, they are doing a great job as a Non Profit.

    The Borgen Project2017-06-20
  7. "Simply the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Human Resources Intern in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Borgen Project for less than a year

    Pros

    Invaluable experience. Thorough selection process. A compelling mission in service of others.

    Cons

    Can't think of any downsides right now.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work.

    The Borgen Project2017-03-08
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Ok Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Human Resources Intern in Seattle, WA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Borgen Project

    Pros

    It was telecommute, therefore making it accessible to more people. The interview process was very easy and the managers are passionate about their jobs.

    Cons

    The fundraising expectation is quite high considering the number of interns the Borgen Project has at a time. Tasks felt somewhat tedious at first but started to have real meaning at the end. No mobility after the internship.

    The Borgen Project2017-01-17
Found 8 reviews