The Borgen Project Journalism Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

The Borgen Project Reviews

Updated Oct 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 50 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
The Borgen Project CEO Clint Borgen (no image)
Clint Borgen
29 Ratings
  1. "Working at Borgen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Writer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Borgen Project part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The staff has been really helpful when it comes to any questions that I've had.

    Cons

    Not having a lot of friends or family members to send letters to.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for your positive and encouraging attitudes.

    The Borgen Project2019-08-11
  2. "Overview of the position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Political Affairs Intern 

    I worked at The Borgen Project part-time

    Pros

    Good experience and nice meeting congressional staffers. Get to learn a lot about US bills.

    Cons

    Fundraising is hard if you are by yourself in a city

    The Borgen Project2019-10-08
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Reality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Borgen Project part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed getting to learn more about the particular poverty-related issues that The Borgen Project was advocating on behalf of. I also appreciated the fact that the organization gave me access to members of Congress to discuss legislation.

    Cons

    After raising over $1,000 and lobbying two members of Congress, I still found it extremely difficult to take away a reference or letter of recommendation from my program. I repeatedly requested a phone number or a letter to legitimize the program to future employers, but was met with near silence. The program takes advantage of interns by forcing them to reach out to family and friends for money, while not... reciprocating their appreciation through a reasonable reference. Additionally, the weekly goals are ambiguous and often have little impact.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate the ground work your interns are carrying out and provide them with a reference contact and/or letter of recommendation. It is common courtesy if your employees have done a good job for you.

    The Borgen Project2019-09-05
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to intern!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Contributor in Temecula, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Borgen Project part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Given the choice to pick when you want to start your internship - Flexible schedule -Ability to pick your own topics - Setting up meetings with the content manager was extremely easy - Really helpful with coming up with fundraising ideas - If you needed an extension for your articles they would give you one, they're really understanding - Extremely informative -Give you all the materials you need in order... to talk about the organization to friends and family

    Show More

    Cons

    - Sometimes approvals for the articles take a little longer than expected, even if topics are submitted early

    The Borgen Project2019-04-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Borgen Project"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at The Borgen Project

    Pros

    Communication was good when being hired on

    Cons

    None to share at this point in time

    The Borgen Project2018-12-03
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Borgen Project full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible with your time, good managers, great cause and get the experience what the political world is like.

    Cons

    Have to raise at least $500

    Advice to Management

    Do more training and give more tips

    The Borgen Project2018-07-10
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Great Cause, Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Editor in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Borgen Project part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love The Borgen Project's incredible staff, flexible hours, company culture, values, resources, professional support, and overarching admirable cause that's worth lobbying, fundraising, and fighting for!

    Cons

    I only wish I could see my co-workers and bosses in-person more often!

    Advice to Management

    I'd love to see more articles published, our staff and intern levels grow, and higher pay for current employees/contract employees!

    The Borgen Project2018-05-29
  8. Helpful (6)

    "PR/Marketing Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing Intern in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Borgen Project for less than a year

    Pros

    Fairly reputable non-profit with a large resource base

    Cons

    Majority of the weekly requirements for the position serve no purpose in learning experiences for the employee or increased awareness for the company.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on what really matters: raising money and building brand awareness. Allow for professional growth for employees by allowing for specialization if requirements are being met.

    The Borgen Project2018-06-18
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Where does all the money go?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Journalist in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Borgen Project for less than a year

    Pros

    Resume boost I guess, probably not worth the time

    Cons

    Really just all of it

    Advice to Management

    Quit

    The Borgen Project2018-06-22
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Worked for the nonprofit as a marketing and public relations intern in 2016-2017."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing and Public Relations Specialist in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Borgen Project part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Remote and/or local opportunities (Settle based) - Travel - Meet local and national government officials - Learn different marketing techniques: grant writing, event planning, public speaking - Helping those who can’t help themselves - Learn about U.S history that wasn’t taught in school - It’s a great company to be apart of, especially if you’re interested in nonprofit and want to make a difference in the... world.

    Show More

    Cons

    I can’t think of any cons. I really had a blast working here AND I helped the company, the less fortunate and myself.

    Advice to Management

    Make it mandatory that everyone checks in weekly. Remote or local employees.

    The Borgen Project2018-05-09
Found 50 reviews