The Borgen Project Reviews | Glassdoor

The Borgen Project Reviews

Updated Oct 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
The Borgen Project CEO Clint Borgen (no image)
Clint Borgen
29 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good first NGO experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    PR and Visual Editor in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Borgen Project

    Pros

    Good first step into the world of NGOs. The interview was easy and the work load it very doable.

    Cons

    The weekly phone meetings were often pointless. It can be difficult to fundraise.

    Advice to Management

    Keep fighting for this great cause. Maybe instead of phone meetings each week try and encourage interns working in the same area to gather and discuss their progress.

    The Borgen Project2015-10-13
  2. "Learned a Ton!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Borgen Project part-time

    Pros

    Terrific group of people who are compassionate about helping others. Good place to learn about politics, advocacy and global issues.

    Cons

    I can't really think of any, but more meetings would be nice.

    Advice to Management

    Try to find more ways to engage people working out of the office.

    The Borgen Project2015-09-16
  3. "Good group of people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Borgen Project part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very nice group of people to work with. Everyone is passionate about making a difference and easy to get along with.

    Cons

    Everyone likes that the organization does a lot with a small budget, but for employees that really limits your job growth there.

    Advice to Management

    More career opportunities.

    The Borgen Project2015-09-08
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Good opportunity, limited engagement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    News & Content Writer in Seattle, WA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Borgen Project

    Pros

    The Borgen Project does good things and if you are trying to become a writer for their online blog or magazine, it will really help you hone your research and writing skills and can open doors for other jobs. may jobs are now looking for some blog writing experience. they also have monthly conference calls which have great guest speakers, are informative and make you feel like part of a team.

    Cons

    working remotely can make you feel like you are not part of a team. nothing they can do about it, so it isn't a knock on them, just what comes with the job. they do their best to keep in contact with you. however, when I was working they had a few editors for over 120 content writers. everything was backlogged and you just felt like a number. even with those 120 writers, they expect everyone to submit three articles... per week. the problem was that this doesn't allow enough time to do sufficient research and many articles came out looking like they were just cleverly copied and pasted from other news sources. many of the writing was subpar and innaccurate.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    try and balance out the editors to content writer ratio and rather than filling up your blog with fluff and clickbait try and have people write in depth analysis that will actually contribute to your end goals and attract more praise. basically, raise the bar.

    The Borgen Project2015-09-15
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Borgen Project

    Pros

    None that I can think of right now.

    Cons

    Everything under the sun dude.

    Advice to Management

    Quit

    The Borgen Project2015-08-19
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Volunteer advocate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Volunteer Advocate in Rockwall, TX

    I worked at The Borgen Project for less than a year

    Pros

    it works well with your schedule because the work is online!

    Cons

    The conference calls are time consuming sometimes.

    The Borgen Project2015-06-23
  7. "Borgen Project Staff Writer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Borgen Project

    Pros

    Friendly and helpful staff who are passionate about the work being done. Managers provide feedback and are always available if you have questions. Weekly conference calls provided the opportunity to listen to experts speak.

    Cons

    Although an incredibly valuable experience, the position is unpaid.

    The Borgen Project2015-06-29
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Overall beneficial experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
     

    I worked at The Borgen Project

    Pros

    Great people and Seattle is a very cool area. Learning about non profits and yourself as an individual is a great starting point for a career

    Cons

    The environment is very micromanaged, their is no compensation, sometimes the work is mundane and might leave you bored. Some of the job titles do not specify exactly what you will be doing

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees suggestions

    The Borgen Project2015-01-19
  9. Helpful (6)

    "One disappointing internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Borgen Project

    Pros

    There cannot be a single good thing that I can think of, mainly because all that they do would not teach a single thing, serve no purpose, and are pure hideous.

    Cons

    From the title of the internship till the work one does, everything is a sham. There is absolutely no work which makes any sort of sense. There is a list of highly useless tasks which serve no purpose, and are a complete waste of time and effort. At the drop of the hat, they wish to do fundraising and leave no opportunity to ask money. The best thing is when you ask them what do they do for fundraising, they remain... as clueless as any outsider. I feel bad for all those just out of college folks (including me), who try to build a career on this note. My advice: Please do not waste your time here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please have some list of sensible tasks. This organization has been around for so long. The basic meaning of internship is, when an individual learns something out of the entire experience. I agree it is unpaid, the least you can do is have something useful and when they complete the internship, they should be proud to put this experience on their resume and not be shameful.

    The Borgen Project2014-12-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Positive group of people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Borgen Project part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are great. The office is nice. I liked my fellow interns and I enjoyed working with Clint and Dayna. I would recommend working here.

    Cons

    I'd like to see bigger investments made in fundraising. The organization hardly invests anything in fundraising, which donors like, but honestly I think it does limit the organization in the long-term.

    Advice to Management

    Spending more on fundraising.

    The Borgen Project2014-10-03
Found 50 reviews