The Borgen Project Reviews | Glassdoor

The Borgen Project Reviews

Updated Oct 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 50 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
The Borgen Project CEO Clint Borgen (no image)
Clint Borgen
29 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Hard but Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Borgen Project part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Quality people. They weed out slackers right away and it creates a friendly, helpful work environment. Most places I've worked have people who complain a lot or are lazy. This place doesn't. The training links and videos make it easy to learn assignments.

    Cons

    The organization was all volunteer until recently so there are very few paid opportunities. Only a handful of interns have been hired for paid positions.

    Continue reading
    The Borgen Project2014-09-17
  2. Helpful (11)

    "Amounted to......nothing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Borgen Project part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not really a pro, but just a disclaimer: there are some regional directors who do a lot of good work for the Borgen Project, so I don't want this review to slander their position. However, any accomplishments they have are due to their own initiative and abilities and not to BP's resources or "training".

    Cons

    Unfortunately, when I interviewed there weren't many reviews on Glassdoor and the website seemed very credible. I interviewed and was selected as a regional director. It's volunteer work, the time expectation is clearly stated, OK cool. I was excited to help. But they give you zero resources to get started or even be motivated to start doing work. The job is inherently meaningless. The weekly teleconferences are a huge waste of time. It's the equivalent of getting hired by JP Morgan and being told "you're job is to do things with money, go!" and provided with zero training or useful resources. Now of course, I'm not stupid, I'm capable of organizing fundraisers or calling up a congressional representative. But the Borgen Project provided zero enhancement of those abilities. And from what I can gather, the accountability is iffy at best, so I was pretty hesitant to start sending off money to an intern-staffed office across the country. You are given no direction or strategy. It is not a coordinated effort by any means. Ultimately, I just stopped wasting my time. I stopped calling in to the weekly conferences, I stopped doing anything. Now, you would think that if one of your regional directors stopped working, you might call them? Or email them? Or see if anything was wrong? I never heard from anyone. I can't fathom a non-profit being effective when a regional director can just disappear and no one even notice or care.

    Continue reading
    The Borgen Project2014-08-10
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Proud to be part of the cause"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Borgen Project part-time

    Pros

    Everyone is very warm and friendly. It was neat being part of the political process and helping move legislation through Congress. I learned more about politics during my internship than I learned majoring in Political Science.

    Cons

    The office was very packed when I worked there. It's donated office space, but the organization is probably overdue for a bigger building. It's not that big of deal and actually probably met more people because of the close quarters, but private cubicles would have been good.

    Continue reading
    The Borgen Project2014-06-08
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Lack of transparency, passion and zero ROI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Borgen Project for less than a year

    Pros

    The cause in itself is commendable and you get to meet at least a couple of interesting and smart people

    Cons

    1) No method of tracking progress which really translates to no motivation 2) Severely under-funded and hence heavily reliant on interns (who are working for free!) to raise funds 3) Run by inexperienced college students or just out of college making the whole organization, a trial and error sort of place 4) Mundane tasks and even if one has skill or talent, rarely utilized 5) Really pathetic culture of strict times and no flexibility whatsoever

    Continue reading
    The Borgen Project2014-05-17
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Overall very positive team to be part of."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Writer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Borgen Project part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I gained real world experience and had lots of my articles published. I feel my work improved a lot during my time there.

    Cons

    It would be nice if the internships were paid, but I recognize that's rare in nonprofits. The writers work outside of the office so your kind of on your own.

    Continue reading
    The Borgen Project2014-01-05
  6. Helpful (3)

    "I really enjoyed working there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at The Borgen Project

    Pros

    You get real world experience. Interns that work hard have opportunities they won't find anywhere else... Interviewing candidates, helping to manage national volunteers, etc.

    Cons

    There aren't enough managers. It's smart for a nonprofit to not spend a lot of money on management, but as an intern it would be nice. There

    Continue reading
    The Borgen Project2013-03-13
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Small Non-Profit with lots of potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Communications Intern in Seattle, WA

    I worked at The Borgen Project

    Pros

    Very impressive, effective non-profit that has been in existence for 7 or 8 years now. Well respected within the advocacy community and is a powerful player. Large national regional director program with volunteers spread out through the country.

    Cons

    Poor management by Borgen's namesake founder and president. Management is very introverted and doesn't have any prior supervisory experience. Pay is bad (but what else did you expect for a non-profit internship!). Expectations aren't communicated often and communication is poor in general.

    Continue reading
    The Borgen Project2012-01-23
  8. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at The Borgen Project

    Pros

    Great experience working in an NGO. Flexible hours

    Cons

    Not paid. Can feel isolated working remotely.

    Continue reading
    The Borgen Project2016-07-14
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Not a bad place for a first internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Borgen Project

    Pros

    I worked as an HR intern for The Borgen Project in the summer of 2014. All the other interns were great, lots of smart and friendly people. If you have an interest in HR or politics and don't have much experience it's a good place to start out. I learned the basics of recruiting, which I could leverage in later interviews. Working hours were flexible.

    Cons

    The work seemed monotonous at times, with no real, consequent strategy for growth. I found the requirement of each intern to raise $500 absurd, if you're already paying for transport to get to the office (which isn't deductible from that goal) and working for free that should not be pressed upon you. It seemed like at the end of the day the $500 requirement was the main way the organization generated cash flow. Management seemed autocratic at times as well, not being open to new ideas or suggestions. If you have experience, look for an internship elsewhere.

    Continue reading
    The Borgen Project2016-04-13
  10. "Well-organized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Regional Director 
    Recommends

    I have been working at The Borgen Project for less than a year

    Pros

    All of the higher-ups are responsive and organized. Couldn't ask for a better team.

    Cons

    You get what you put in -- regional directors work remotely, so it's all up to you to stay motivated!

    The Borgen Project2015-11-03
Found 50 reviews