The Borgen Project Writer Reviews | Glassdoor

The Borgen Project Writer Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
The Borgen Project CEO Clint Borgen (no image)
Clint Borgen
9 Ratings
  1. "10/10 Recommend!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Content Writer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Borgen Project

    Pros

    This organization is truly driven to effect positive change in the world. Their strategic approach to spreading awareness of global poverty and inequity is unparalleled to other similar initiatives. The content managers I dealt with were incredibly kind and understanding and accommodated to the needs of the interns very thoroughly. This was much appreciated, as I spent a good portion of my 3-month internship at a... summer scholarship intensive and had to work later hours to create quality content. I was very happy with my experience as an intern and learned a great deal about perfecting my writing process, time-management techniques, and the ins-and-outs of nonprofit work as a whole, something I would like to invest in as a possible career option. I plan to continue my efforts with the Borgen Project as a volunteer editor and a guest content contributor!

    Show More

    Cons

    I don't have anything negative to say! Even when I needed more time to finish a weekly task, the team was very understanding. Though sometimes I may have felt I was unprepared to accomplish some of the internship requirements, I was able to inherently develop the correct time management techniques to complete them successfully. As long as it is apparent that an intern has tried their hardest to fulfill the goals of... the internship and is reflected in their writing and social media output especially, they will have a successful internship.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Thank you, Tatiana, Maia, and Kim, for always helping me out when I was in need! I could not have asked for a better content management team to keep in correspondence with, to learn the crucial details of successful online contributions, and to develop a great respect for! Each conference call and informational session was thorough and allowed me to develop as a writer thoroughly. Thank you again for selecting me... and for providing me with this incredible experience!

    Show More
    The Borgen Project2019-10-09
  2. "I loved interning for The Borgen Project!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Writer Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Borgen Project for less than a year

    Pros

    Builds experience Learn about global poverty Learn about politics and government Grow and improve as a writer Learn about SEO Pick your own schedule

    Cons

    no cons, the experience was extremely positive.

    The Borgen Project2019-09-25
  3. "Great experience with great training and communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Writer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Borgen Project for less than a year

    Pros

    Mentors are very communicative and understanding. Opportunities to work remote.

    Cons

    No communication between writers and editors. Internships are unpaid.

    The Borgen Project2019-09-07
  4. "Working at Borgen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Writer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Borgen Project part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The staff has been really helpful when it comes to any questions that I've had.

    Cons

    Not having a lot of friends or family members to send letters to.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for your positive and encouraging attitudes.

    The Borgen Project2019-08-11
  5. "Unpaid Writer Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Writer Intern in Fort Myers, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Borgen Project for less than a year

    Pros

    A remote Writer Internship. This was a great experience for me to improve my writing and research skills plus getting credit for the articles I had written. I asked a lot of questions during the internship and received quick responses. The Content Team Manager, Tatiana, was great. Everyone was nice and friendly. I would say it was definitely worth it to participate in this internship! I really enjoyed it!

    Cons

    The fundraising was a disaster for me and way outside of my comfort zone. This was the main thing I had a problem with during the internship. I would have liked to stay on at The Borgen Project but there was no salary or stipend offered.

    Advice to Management

    Please bear in mind that those of us with work or family obligations might find it difficult to really do a heavy duty fundraiser as you suggest. Maybe pick one Team Leader from each group and let them do the fundraiser instead of trying to have individuals create fundraisers. Those in larger cities are always going to have a better advantage than someone in a rural area. Just sayin'...

    The Borgen Project2019-04-28
  6. Helpful (1)

    "INCOMPETENCE REIGNS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Writer Intern in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Borgen Project for less than a year

    Pros

    Allowed me to build up my resume, which can be accomplished without The Borgen Project; therefore, my advice to all new writers out there -- go elsewhere for your experience.

    Cons

    Unpaid interns (even writing interns) are required to lobby Congress and fundraise to earn money for The Borgen Project. Therefore, you are working to pay them. The Editorial Department is INCOMPETENT and INCAPABLE. As as writing intern, you expect to see your articles published in a timely manner, not 2 or 3 (or more) months after you've submitted them, and that's after following up with management. Who knows how... long it would take the Editorial Department to publish writing interns' articles if they weren't their own advocates. If you want to see your work published during your internship, good luck. I had to follow-up on a regular basis with my "managers" to even get a status update, and all I got was a response email with a condescending tone. Also, there is the problem with Editors creating errors in a Writer's articles. It is obvious the Editors are not fluent in the English language and/or do not have a grasp of English grammar. A writing intern should not have to fact-check an Editor's work (and spend hours for each article doing so) just to ensure an article accurately reflects their talent and skills -- especially after the Writer has spent days researching and writing an article. And if you're lucky enough to get an article published, hopefully it stays published. One of my articles was published then mysteriously disappeared. I had to call The Borgen Project to find out what happened. Apparently, it was a "domain problem" and needed to be republished. Finally, when a Writer who has completed their internship reaches out to both the head of the Editorial Department and the CEO via emails for weeks about getting their articles published and fixing a new set of errors (created by a Borgen Project Editor) in their final articles (which were submitted months earlier) it's recommended that you answer emails and not dismiss your former writing interns on the phone by saying "We get a lot of emails. We've done all we can for you. We've published your articles," then hang up on them. I guess quality assurance, accuracy, and credibility aren't of the utmost importance to The Borgen Project, only money. I assume the Borgen Magazine and Borgen Project blog are fronts for their lobbying (which is one they really are at the heart of it all.) It's pretty evident, especially when you tell your writers what topics they can and cannot write about in their articles because it will upset one political party or another and hurt The Borgen Project's agenda. Smells like censorship to me.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Clint (and the rest of the skeleton crew at The Borgen Project) LISTEN and RESPOND to the interns. Without them you wouldn't exist. And Clint, hire more people (maybe some of your past interns) so that you aren't operating on a skeleton crew. AND, if you invite back your writers because their work was so stellar, PAY THEM. Don't find that legal loophole and make it a volunteer writing position but still call it a... Feature Writer position. STOP PREYING ON NEWCOMERS.

    Show More
    The Borgen Project2019-04-09
  7. "Not Much Guidance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Writer Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at The Borgen Project for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to write articles raising awareness for global poverty

    Cons

    The lack of accountability in this organization is baffling. I've written seven articles so far, only three have been published, and without an adequate explanation. But most appalling is how they expect you to raise $500, without providing a detailed account of their financials, or how the funds are allocated. Seems like a pretty key detail when you're asking a potential donor for their support.

    The Borgen Project2019-02-12
  8. "Simple"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Writer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Borgen Project for less than a year

    Pros

    Good feedback on articles. Response time is fairly fast. Decent on resume. You write an article a week. Straight-forward. Does this look good on the resume? Maybe. It's professional writing experience, so I would hope so. You write AP Style. Articles go on blog or magazine. You learn about SEO as well (search engine optimization).

    Cons

    Only 12 weeks (like a contract job). Unpaid. Have to keep advertising on social media for company. Have to write at least 15 letters to friends and family asking for donations. You're pretty much giving money to the company in order to work for them, but it's also a non-profit. I asked the person I interviewed why the job was only for 12 weeks and she said "that's just how it's always been." Not a good answer. And... where "exactly" does the money go? It's vague, but it states on the website. Maybe to Clint Borgen's flight cost when he goes to D.C. Is that okay? Up to you to decide. They seek to eradicate poverty as the political level, meaning through bills that go to congress and finally to the president. That's good, but it sounded sketchy before and after getting the job. They said the CEO didn't get paid for working at The Borgen Project for ten years. But still you wonder if most of the money goes to the ten or so employees, as there is no talk about how much money they need to accomplish any goal. It's just "will you be able to raise the $500?" that was asked during the five minute interview, during the first few minutes, was peculiar. Most of the job is advertising and raising money, as writing a single article takes a day, maybe two, depending on if you're still in school or just graduated.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more specific about where the money goes, as many people have wondered the same thing. Describe how much money is needed for each goal, just like any company does.

    The Borgen Project2019-01-20
  9. "Internship benefits The Borgen Project, not the intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Writer Intern in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Borgen Project for less than a year

    Pros

    Interns end up with 45+ published articles.

    Cons

    Borgen staff expects each intern to fundraise $500 for The Borgen Project, which wouldn't be entirely ludicrous if the internship were not unpaid. As an intern, I felt as though the only purpose I served was to take advantage of the generosity of my friends and family to support The Borgen Project financially. Not cool.

    Advice to Management

    Don't take interns to make money -- take interns to spread support for your mission!

    The Borgen Project2016-12-19
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Writer Intern - Great Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Writer Intern in Freehold, NJ
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Borgen Project for less than a year

    Pros

    They work for a really good cause and the supervisors are very attentive to the interns.

    Cons

    the internship was not paid

    The Borgen Project2016-08-11
Found 15 reviews