The British Army Reviews | Glassdoor

The British Army Reviews

Updated 21 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 861 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
The British Army CEO Nicholas Patrick Carter (no image)
Nicholas Patrick Carter
100 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Job interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Army in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The British Army part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Higher salary and Job security

    Cons

    Hard working and bad working environment

    Advice to Management

    It is good to work

    The British Army2018-01-06
  2. "Captain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The British Army

    Pros

    The Adventure, Responsibility, Status and holiday allowance

    Cons

    Work-life balance, lack of meritocratic opportunity

    Advice to Management

    Fast track junior officers with high potential

    The British Army2017-10-24
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The British Army full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great life as a junior officer

    Cons

    Erosion of quality of life and benefits mean staying on past short commission is a true calling

    Advice to Management

    Don't lose sight of why you joined!

    The British Army2017-08-07
  4. "Time to leave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Major in Salisbury, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The British Army full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Love variety, work overseas (when you can get it), ethos, can do attitude etc

    Cons

    Senior leaders increasingly over autocratic. Overly bureaucratic e.g. submit a business case for a rail ticket!

    Advice to Management

    Empower your junior and middle leaders/managers - most of us join for early responsibility and adventure.

    The British Army2017-05-10
  5. "Awesome experiance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The British Army

    Pros

    Travel, Investment in people, time off, excitement, great opportunities.

    Cons

    Travel, Harsh working conditions, time away from family.

    The British Army2017-01-18
  6. "CTVSICU Incharge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    RN, Male Nurse in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The British Army

    Pros

    Co-operative,honest,bears a good moral character

    Cons

    some calculative errors,Time management,work efficiency

    Advice to Management

    Consider me to CTVS ICU Post op

    The British Army2016-11-01
  7. "POSITIVE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Logistics Controller in Muncie, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The British Army for more than 3 years

    Pros

    form very close friend and cordiality

    Cons

    everyone is looking after themselves,beaurocracy

    Advice to Management

    be more friendly

    The British Army2016-08-15
  8. "Full Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The British Army

    Pros

    Offers a full career or short term if it suits. Still opportunities to travel and some (but getting less) interesting jobs out there.

    Cons

    Pay constantly being degraded versus civilian counterparts. Most jobs are mundane staff jobs in UK which have long hours, not much benefit and promotions are getting more difficult.

    The British Army2016-01-19
  9. "Life in the British Army"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Seragent in Tacoma, WA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The British Army full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This was the only job I wanted growing up. I joined at 16 years, as soon as I left school and served 24 years.

    Cons

    Some stations were better than others but that is personal rather than the Army it's self, loved every moment of the 24 years.

    The British Army2015-09-25
  10. "Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The British Army full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, sense of camaraderie, interesting opportunities

    Cons

    Effect on partner, lack of flexibility in locations

    The British Army2015-09-15
Found 861 reviews