KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

The Broad Institute

Engaged Employer

The Broad Institute

Add a Review

The Broad Institute Reviews

Updated May 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
92%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
The Broad Institute Director 	Todd Golub
Todd Golub
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "They were on the cutting edge of offering testing to employees (and scaled quickly to offer it to the greater community as well)(in 40 reviews)

  • "wonderful and collaborative work environment, nice work-life balance(in 29 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Staff scientist career path not fully charted(in 15 reviews)

  • "Career development requires (an unusual amount of) personal initiative(in 13 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of The Broad Institute and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years
      Featured Review

      Thoughtful, compassionate leadership and friendly, supportive co-workers and culture

      Feb 28, 2021 - Research Associate II 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      has really stepped up support for on- and offsite employees in different ways during the COVID-19 pandemic; appears to be working hard and thoughtfully to delivery on goals related to racial diversity and equity in science; good career support through networking, programming, and trainings

      Cons

      when asked, HR mentioned that they view sharing salary ranges for specific titles as an unfair policy

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great experience

      May 11, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Kind, dedicated employees - Culture of learning

      Cons

      - Lower market pay - Potential mentors are spread thin

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      May 7, 2021 - Associate Computational Biologist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coworkers are friendly and open to collaboration

      Cons

      Feels like less than optimal work life boundaries but not everyone’s experience is like this

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Come for Research, leave because of HR

      May 2, 2021 - Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to learn and for your resume.

      Cons

      HR is the worst I ever dealt with. As long as you are working hard and making no waves, you are fine. The day you have an issue...oh boy. Personal story: my father was dying in my home country and I had to come back. He passed away, unfortunately. However, Covid was making things difficult to come back to the USA. One day after I buried my father, HR threatened me that now I had one month to find a way to be back in the country or I "will be forced to resign". Finding no way of going back to the country, I had to take a leave. HR deleted then my access to everything and I lost all my documents. Despite asking, they never allowed me to retrieve some important visa documents (emails, scans etc...) so I could finally be back in the USA. Back from the leave, they played dumb and continued to lock all the access to my Broad account, containing the visa information. They gave me a countdown to be back in the USA so I could work again, while pretending not understanding what documents I was asking for. Obviously, I couldn't get the authorization to go back and HR terminated me for "failure to be in Massachusetts" (as a reminder, I am a Software Engineer so I didn't need to be in Massachusetts to work). I was on my way to get promoted, so I suspect they didn't want an employee who just "lost his father" and they used the opportunity of covid to fire me. I have heard a lot of stories about threats to foreign people who were stuck in their home countries, so it was also probably a good way to downsize given covid while still communicating that they don't fire anybody during these tough times. And who can be heard when they are miles away from the workplace with all communication accesses locked? Smart, like Broad. Oh, and they will try to give you a generous package so we are not able to post anything bad in here. Which I have refused for the sake of truth and justice. My advice: Don't stay more than 2 years so you minimize risks of dealing with HR. If you have health issues, you are in trouble.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work!

      Apr 17, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Supportive managers and co-workers who are willing to go thr extra mile to help get work done. For the most part, thoughtful and accessible leadership. Great benefits.

      Cons

      Pace of work in covid has increased and burnout is real on the science and admin front. Not enough staff on our DEI work.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great place to work

      Apr 20, 2021 - Director in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Exciting science, early access to new techniques, lots of internal funding sources

      Cons

      Can be challenging to recruit and retain staff scientists when competing with area biotech

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Place to work

      Apr 21, 2021 - Associate Director in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work, Great people, Smart People

      Cons

      Academic, Sometimes things are a little slow to come to fruition.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great

      Apr 20, 2021 - Senior Research Administrator in Plano, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Supportive culture and innovative work place.

      Cons

      None that i can think of.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Best Job Ever

      Apr 5, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      For any one who loves the academic atmosphere without the constant office politics of the corporate world, this is the place for you.

      Cons

      Work days can be very unstructured and your salary partly depends on annual Federal grants. So, those are elements of uncertainty.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Apr 14, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great science, flexibility, caring environment

      Cons

      Lower salary relative to similar positions in industry

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 362 Reviews

    Popular Careers with The Broad Institute Job Seekers

    Research Scientist I
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Associate Computational Biologist
    Learn About the Job

    Work at The Broad Institute? Share Your Experiences

    or