The Broad Institute Reviews | Glassdoor

The Broad Institute Reviews

Updated Jul 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 260 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
The Broad Institute CEO Eric Lander
Eric Lander
148 Ratings
Pros
  • "There are lectures going on constantly in all different areas of science and you have the opportunity to work on cutting edge projects(in 36 reviews)

  • "If your job allows it than the work/life balance is great(in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are people at the Broad who have had excellent carrers as staff scientists but they joined when it was growing(in 17 reviews)

  • "Staff scientist career path not fully charted(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful place to work -- supportive, flexible, challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Broad Institute full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Career growth, Flexibility, Support, Exciting mission, Benefits

    Cons

    There aren't always clear career ladders, but there is plenty of support to help you figure out your career growth.

    The Broad Institute2019-03-05
  2. "Beginner who wants to see info on glass door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Process Development Associate 

      I have been working at The Broad Institute full-time

      Pros

      Good insurance and flexible hours

      Cons

      Lots of similar assays and busy work

      The Broad Institute2019-07-12
    • "An Intellectual Institute that Fosters Growth and Progress"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Research Associate 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at The Broad Institute full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      I have not been here for long, but the people that work directly above me are incredibly helpful in advancing my understanding of different research fields. They also know what level of experience I have and set realistic goals and standards for me based on this.

      Cons

      There is a lengthy process to get cleared to perform research. This isn't so much of a problem as a nuisance in the first couple weeks.

      The Broad Institute2019-06-24
    • "Innovative, collaborative, science and patient oriented"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Broad Institute full-time

      Pros

      Cutting edge technology, tons of opportunity for collaboration, exciting science, and care about patients.

      Cons

      Deemed by outsiders as "academic" even many employees do industrial like work

      The Broad Institute2019-06-05
    • "Good Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA

      I have been working at The Broad Institute full-time

      Pros

      Friendly environment, great benefits, decent salary.

      Cons

      Production Environment, not research, slow promotion opportunities

      The Broad Institute2019-05-19
    • "Love The Broad!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Research Associate 

        I have been working at The Broad Institute full-time

        Pros

        Great Benefits, positive work environment, career development encouraged.

        Cons

        Slight lack of diversity, mostly racial.

        The Broad Institute2019-05-15
      • "Great place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at The Broad Institute full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Smart people, good collaborative community. Great work/life balance

        Cons

        Careers not well defined. You need to find your way to grow.

        The Broad Institute2019-05-13
      • "It's about the science"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at The Broad Institute full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        If your job allows it than the work/life balance is great. Just having the option to work from home some days is great. The culture of The Broad reminds me of a start-up. They really promote career growth and there are so many opportunities to work on your development. The benefits are great, I love having the one week off between xmas and new years.

        Cons

        I would say the only downside to working at the Broad is working around the science can be difficult and isolating at times if you don't understand it.

        The Broad Institute2019-05-12
      • "Great place to work and learn"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Research Scientist I in Cambridge, MA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at The Broad Institute full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Fast paced science, efficient operations, excellent benefits, aims to be true equal opportunity employer, many opportunities to learn

        Cons

        can be very intense and hard to balance work/life, driven by highly competitive grad students and post docs

        The Broad Institute2019-04-26

        The Broad Institute Response

        May 10, 2019Associate Director, Talent Acquisition

        Hi, this is Chelsea from Human Resources. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback! It’s great to see that in your 8+ years with us you have positive experiences in regards to our science, operations, and benefits. Improving the Broadie experience is always at the ...

        Show More
      • Helpful (1)

        "Ambitious, large-scale science"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Postdoctoral Associate 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at The Broad Institute full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Lots of resources, tons of private money. Generally high-quality scientists.

        Cons

        Private money comes with strings attached. Intense emphasis on staking out intellectual property rights. Not really an academic environment (few students, no teaching).

        The Broad Institute2019-04-14
      Found 260 reviews