The CBE Group Reviews | Glassdoor

The CBE Group Reviews

Updated Oct 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
The CBE Group CEO Thomas R Penaluna (no image)
Thomas R Penaluna
44 Ratings
  1. "Fraud Prevention Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Fraud Prevention Specialist 

    I have been working at The CBE Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Great management, flexible schedules for those who really need it, wonderful atmosphere.

    Cons

    I don't really have any.

    The CBE Group2016-11-04
  2. "Collection Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The CBE Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best reason to work for CBE Group is the flexibility to your schedule if you have events or need a day off.

    Cons

    The cons to working at CBE Group is the lack of follow through of their culture, beliefs, and values from day to day.

    The CBE Group2016-10-31
  3. "Great opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at The CBE Group

    Pros

    Growth opportunity, flexibility, formal development and review program,

    Cons

    Multiple competing visions, ethics in some areas

    Advice to Management

    Transparency, follow through, appreciation

    The CBE Group2016-10-26
  4. "I was very successful working there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The CBE Group full-time

    Pros

    First couple years amazing then they chamged commission which was going to cost melike 400 a month

    Cons

    Its every man, woman, and child for themselves until they get the ed contract screwed me over on pto make sure u are using pto

    Advice to Management

    Dont build while u are waiting on Ed contract makes no sense, hopefully this year u will do better than 200k profit on 70 mil rev

    The CBE Group2016-10-10
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Healthcare Collections"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The CBE Group

    Pros

    Weekdays no weekends coworkers were helpful and genuine!

    Cons

    Management did not feel like I was part of a team consumers

    Advice to Management

    Stop playing favorites and help everyone.

    The CBE Group2016-09-08
  6. "Good ideas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The CBE Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company cares about the employees.

    Cons

    Typical call center with turnover, gossip, and general high school behavior

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening and continue to make the changes that matter.

    The CBE Group2016-08-03
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waterloo, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at The CBE Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, great employees, great benefits

    Cons

    Poor management, bad scheduling, not enough training to maintain good stats

    Advice to Management

    Work on effective training

    The CBE Group2016-08-01
  8. "fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The CBE Group

    Pros

    I worked in ED for 2 years and the people are great, supervisors/middle management are a blast, very laid back atmosphere. You're free to keep to yourself all day long and work without anybody breathing down your neck, which is nice that they trust you enough to give you pretty much full reign over your time. As long as you're not away from your desk all day and you're hitting your goal you can pretty much do... whatever you want. Everyone is very helpful when it comes to answering questions and management encourages collaborating to solve a problem or brainstorm. It's not unusual to have a person who is really good at something stop what they're doing and take an hour out of their day to help a coworker learn. Company as a whole is usually very transparent.

    Show More

    Cons

    Benefits are outrageously expensive, as far as the government services department goes policies and procedures change almost every other day, it's hard to keep up with all of the changes in requirements and rules while still being expected to hit or exceed your goal.

    Advice to Management

    Work on how new job requirements are rolled out to employees and implemented. It usually seems like management throws their game plan together in a conference room and then blurts it out to everyone in a fairly unorganized way

    The CBE Group2016-06-23
  9. Helpful (2)

    "why there is such a huge turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fraud Investigator in New Braunfels, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The CBE Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    at first it seemed like a great place to work, they have drawings for prizes and buy you lunches

    Cons

    management is meh, change hours and days off without warning, younger people were paid more even without experience, promises of getting more than one contract never happened so no diversification, teams were made and the need for them wasn't there

    The CBE Group2016-06-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Dedicated Employee of NWA in Haverhill, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The CBE Group for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are none that come to mind. The branch where I was employed was acquired simply for the client base. They closed the office roughly one year after the acquisition.

    Cons

    Poor communication company wide. Executive management failed to listen to sound advice provided by the management team of the company they acquired.

    Advice to Management

    After two failed acquisitions (Atlanta and Boston) I would suggest executive management develop an ability to humble themselves. In business the acquiring company does not always possess the best practices. You can learn a lot by listening to advice contributed by existing employees. There should never be an us against them mentality after a merger. Before making an investment to acquire any additional agencies... I would suggest a few changes be made to their management team.

    Show More
    The CBE Group2016-07-15
Found 93 reviews