The Capital Grille Hostess Reviews | Glassdoor

The Capital Grille Hostess Reviews

Updated Apr 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
98%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Clarence Otis Jr.
5 Ratings
  1. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Host/Hostess 
      Recommends

      I have been working at The Capital Grille part-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Family meals, great training, company's name holds weight

      Cons

      Holidays are crazy busy but servers/bartenders make more money

      The Capital Grille2019-03-31
    • "Good overall company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Hostess in Atlanta, GA

        I worked at The Capital Grille part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Great benefits, good pay

        Cons

        Management needs better organization and clear definition of roles

        The Capital Grille2019-04-05
      • "Great place to work!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Hostess in Milwaukee, WI
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at The Capital Grille part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Supportive work environment with a great management team. The starting wage is good and based upon experience in the industry, you then have the opportunity for a raise every year and it can be a dollar or more. They are excellent at accommodating school schedules. Coworkers feel more like family!

        Cons

        Hours can be unpredictable sometimes, but that is the nature of the restaurant industry.

        Advice to Management

        N/A

        The Capital Grille2019-03-28
      • "Good place"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Hostess 

          I worked at The Capital Grille part-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Good with school schedule Decent pay

          Cons

          No scheduled breaks, on feet all day

          The Capital Grille2019-01-19
        • "Fun!"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Host/Hostess in Miami, FL
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at The Capital Grille part-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          Fun environment, house dinners, great staff, good pay, flexible hours, rewarded for hard work.

          Cons

          Have to work holidays

          The Capital Grille2018-12-13
        • "Great People"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Hostess in Boston, MA
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at The Capital Grille part-time for less than a year

          Pros

          They really care about compiling a group of hardworking dedicated people that work together well.

          Cons

          Very hard to get days off.

          The Capital Grille2018-07-12
        • "Host/Hostess"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Hostess in King of Prussia, PA
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at The Capital Grille part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Meeting interesting people every day, a great opportunity to learn about wine, and the best pay your going to find for being a host/hostess.

          Cons

          Management didn't seem to care about the host team until someone messed up. None of our team heard the words "Good Job" once in the 18 months I was there. Working Holidays is mandatory just like most restaurants. And the work environment can be pretty toxic when all of the serving staff are trying to get as much money as possible.

          Advice to Management

          Worry about your people before the money, a happy staff can bring in much more value in the long run.

          The Capital Grille2018-07-07
        • "Hostess"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Hostess in Chestnut Hill, MA
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at The Capital Grille full-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Good pay in comparison to similar position elsewhere. Great managers. "Family dinner" every night before we opened for dinner

          Cons

          A few of the servers were pretty rude. Female hostesses could not wear pants which was the most outdated rule.

          The Capital Grille2018-04-12
        • "Host at Capital Grille"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Hostess 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at The Capital Grille part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Employee meals before shifts Meeting/maintaining relationships with guests

          Cons

          Management was always very rude and catty - so were some of the servers/hosts. Talking bad about guests behind back

          The Capital Grille2018-01-31
        • Helpful (1)

          "Great for students!"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Hostess in Tampa, FL
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at The Capital Grille part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          This job was very beneficial to me as I am in college and have very different schedules per semester. It was great to get an accommodating schedule that can work around my schooling.

          Cons

          The biggest con I can think of, is the job can be SUPER boring! when you're by yourself for hours and are not allowed to do anything besides stare out the window it is not fun, but I will say it's usually only summer time that it is boring.

          Advice to Management

          Do not be super strict about guidelines by the handbook! I feel the managers become so obsessed with trying to micromanage us it can become an unpleasant experience.

          The Capital Grille2017-07-14
        Found 21 reviews