The Capital Grille Reviews | Glassdoor

The Capital Grille Reviews

Updated Jun 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 145 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Clarence Otis Jr.
44 Ratings
  1. "Wine Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in King of Prussia, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at The Capital Grille full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great company, great benefits, and people focused.

    Cons

    Not a lot of career growth

    The Capital Grille2018-07-28
  2. "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Capital Grille part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They really care about compiling a group of hardworking dedicated people that work together well.

    Cons

    Very hard to get days off.

    The Capital Grille2018-07-12
  3. "Good all around"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Capital Grille part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Guest are great, compensation is good,

    Cons

    Holidays schedule is tough on family and life balance

    Advice to Management

    all good, The Capital Grille is a pretty good place to work

    The Capital Grille2018-07-04
  4. "Hostess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Capital Grille part-time

    Pros

    -Good pay -Nice management -Generous customers -Close-knit staff -Opportunity to make extra income through coat check tips, bonuses and customer tips -Extremely professional environment

    Cons

    -Rude customers -Angry servers -Unfair management decisions -Having to always cover yourself so you don't get blamed for others mistakes -Mild favoritism -Not enough hours/overstaffed

    Advice to Management

    The management here is actually some of the best and most understanding management I've worked under. You're doing a great job... only advice is to treat everyone equally. Don't play favorites.

    The Capital Grille2018-06-06
  5. "Really great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at The Capital Grille part-time

      Pros

      good environment to work in

      Cons

      not a lot of growth potential

      The Capital Grille2018-05-19
    • "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Server in Dallas, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at The Capital Grille part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      great money, very good company to work if you are in the restaurant industry.

      Cons

      management not very flexible with employees.

      Advice to Management

      don't be to hard on your employees

      The Capital Grille2018-03-05
    • "host"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at The Capital Grille part-time

        Pros

        there are many good people

        Cons

        the environment is fast paced

        The Capital Grille2017-11-01
      • "Best company I have ever worked for"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at The Capital Grille full-time

        Pros

        All around thoughtful compensation package. Well planned and encouraged development process. Guest first philosophy. Consistency in their treatment of their people and the overall brand.

        Cons

        The upward mobility is there, but it can take awhile to get to the next step.

        Advice to Management

        N/A

        The Capital Grille2017-10-12
      • "Server Assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Worth, TX
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at The Capital Grille part-time

        Pros

        Flexible work schedule, short hours

        Cons

        poor management, not always consistent

        The Capital Grille2017-09-22
      • "Host"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Host in Rosemont, IL
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at The Capital Grille part-time

        Pros

        At the Capital Grille, you are a family! You love each other tremendously and your job is very supportive of you. YOU get treated as a real family member. They care about your well being.

        Cons

        You don't want to leave the Darden family!

        Advice to Management

        Continue building the family. I love the Darden family.

        The Capital Grille2017-09-12
      Found 145 reviews