The Capital Grille Reviews | Glassdoor

The Capital Grille Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 143 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Clarence Otis Jr.
43 Ratings
  1. "Help I have fallen and I can not get up."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Capital Grille full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Pay is above average for the industry.

    Cons

    The managers are useless and constantly bugging you.

    Advice to Management

    There isn't any advice I could offer at this time.

    The Capital Grille2018-06-15
  2. "Really great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at The Capital Grille part-time

      Pros

      good environment to work in

      Cons

      not a lot of growth potential

      The Capital Grille2018-05-19
    • Helpful (1)

      "Don’t be afraid to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Server/Bartender in Dallas, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at The Capital Grille full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      For a restaurant job you do have the opportunity to make a very decent amount of money. Probably one of the highest averages for tips consistently as the menu prices are high. Benefits are okay if you qualify.

      Cons

      The company will make you feel like they own you. They will say they have a great work life balance but if you don’t work off the clock and work a ton you may not be able to make ends meet.

      Advice to Management

      There must be room for upward mobility and it cannot only be for those who think like you do. For your company to progress you do need some people who see things differently than you do.

      The Capital Grille2018-04-27
    • "Hostess"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Hostess in Chestnut Hill, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at The Capital Grille full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good pay in comparison to similar position elsewhere. Great managers. "Family dinner" every night before we opened for dinner

      Cons

      A few of the servers were pretty rude. Female hostesses could not wear pants which was the most outdated rule.

      The Capital Grille2018-04-12
    • "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Server in Dallas, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at The Capital Grille part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      great money, very good company to work if you are in the restaurant industry.

      Cons

      management not very flexible with employees.

      Advice to Management

      don't be to hard on your employees

      The Capital Grille2018-03-05
    • "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Server in Tampa, FL

      I worked at The Capital Grille full-time

      Pros

      Great food and wine.

      Cons

      Menu hasn’t changed very much

      Advice to Management

      Introduce new menu items

      The Capital Grille2018-01-26
    • "The Capital Grille restaurant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at The Capital Grille full-time

      Pros

      We Have Fantastic Clientele!

      Cons

      Pay varies tremendously from week to week

      Advice to Management

      Treat everyone fairly

      The Capital Grille2018-01-11
    • "Host at Capital Grille"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Hostess 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at The Capital Grille part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Employee meals before shifts Meeting/maintaining relationships with guests

      Cons

      Management was always very rude and catty - so were some of the servers/hosts. Talking bad about guests behind back

      The Capital Grille2018-01-31
    • "Hostess"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at The Capital Grille full-time

      Pros

      Great teamwork in the environment

      Cons

      Favoritism in the work place

      Advice to Management

      Be fair

      The Capital Grille2017-12-09
    • "host"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at The Capital Grille part-time

        Pros

        there are many good people

        Cons

        the environment is fast paced

        The Capital Grille2017-11-01
      Found 143 reviews