The Capital Grille Reviews | Glassdoor

The Capital Grille Reviews

Updated Jun 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 144 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Clarence Otis Jr.
44 Ratings
  1. "host"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at The Capital Grille part-time

      Pros

      there are many good people

      Cons

      the environment is fast paced

      The Capital Grille2017-11-01
    • "Best company I have ever worked for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at The Capital Grille full-time

      Pros

      All around thoughtful compensation package. Well planned and encouraged development process. Guest first philosophy. Consistency in their treatment of their people and the overall brand.

      Cons

      The upward mobility is there, but it can take awhile to get to the next step.

      Advice to Management

      N/A

      The Capital Grille2017-10-12
    • "Server Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Worth, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at The Capital Grille part-time

      Pros

      Flexible work schedule, short hours

      Cons

      poor management, not always consistent

      The Capital Grille2017-09-22
    • "Wonderful guests, Terrible management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Bartender in Denver, CO
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at The Capital Grille part-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Wonderful guests and fellow service staff, potential to make decent money is there for the most part although not like it used to be

      Cons

      Terrible management, hostile work environment, micromanaging, no respect for staff, money has greatly declined, poor work/life balance, often get scheduled regardless of availability

      Advice to Management

      I thought I would be a lifer in my service industry career at the Capital Grille in Denver until the lastest MP took over! Now I'm hunting for another job :( He has created a very hostile work environment and treats his staff with zero respect as his employees and as individuals. So disappointing to have worked at a place for so many years and to want to leave so badly because of this person. It's often said "people don't...

      Show More
      The Capital Grille2017-10-06
    • "Host"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Host in Rosemont, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Capital Grille part-time

      Pros

      At the Capital Grille, you are a family! You love each other tremendously and your job is very supportive of you. YOU get treated as a real family member. They care about your well being.

      Cons

      You don't want to leave the Darden family!

      Advice to Management

      Continue building the family. I love the Darden family.

      The Capital Grille2017-09-12
    • Helpful (2)

      "Server"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Server in Dunwoody, GA

      I have been working at The Capital Grille part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Make your own schedule Money is great

      Cons

      Management Too many programs Make you feel responsible for restaurant being slow.

      The Capital Grille2017-09-06
    • Helpful (1)

      "Server"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at The Capital Grille full-time

      Pros

      We all work together as a team! Great moral and clear goals with room for growth within the company! Flexible schedule!

      Cons

      Unfortunately there is no paid time off

      The Capital Grille2017-08-25
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good Gateway & Career Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Prep Cook/Dishwasher in Atlanta, GA

      I have been working at The Capital Grille part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      There are a variety of benefits and discounts provided through this company. There is weekly pay early Friday mornings. Friendly staff. Fast Paced Environment. Moderately high opportunities for promotions.

      Cons

      Can be stressful due to face paced environment. Certain seasons of the year will have employees hours cut due to low volume of customers during those seasons

      The Capital Grille2017-08-27
    • Helpful (1)

      "Best Steakhouse"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Server in Garden City, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Capital Grille full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Room to grow. Very Organized

      Cons

      Hours, Holiday work, Can be overwhelming sometimes with busy nights.

      The Capital Grille2017-08-05
    • "Blah"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at The Capital Grille

      Pros

      Good job great management at same opportunity

      Cons

      Dont stop doing what they are doing

      Advice to Management

      Keeo it up

      The Capital Grille2017-07-13
    Found 144 reviews