The Capital Grille Reviews | Glassdoor

The Capital Grille Reviews

Updated Jun 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 144 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Clarence Otis Jr.
44 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at The Capital Grille

      Pros

      Great development program, great money, many opportunities to grow within the orginization, and they keep you involved

      Cons

      Working with people that do not have the equivalent experience as you. Making double the $$ the managers, often feeling made as if your doing something wrong with making so much money.

      The Capital Grille2015-03-01
    • "The end of the line for your service career."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Server in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at The Capital Grille full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great money, freedom to do what's right by your guest. Able to stand by your product (90 percent of the time). Personalities are encouraged.

      Cons

      Very corporate atmosphere. Can be somewhat cutthroat. Can be both emotionally and physically challenging. Unpredictability of schedule. Very shareholder driven mentality.

      The Capital Grille2014-10-25
    • "Great food"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Hostess in Orlando, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at The Capital Grille part-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Excellent wine list and hours are great

      Cons

      Long hours on your feet but people are great

      The Capital Grille2014-04-28
    • "Great potential to grow"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Capital Grille

      Pros

      Great money and great relationships.

      Cons

      Wine knowledge needed. Have to be great with people and up selling.

      The Capital Grille2013-10-02
    • "Awesome"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Server in Orlando, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at The Capital Grille full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great training, family meal, talented culinary professionals with pride, fantastic atmosphere

      Cons

      None as of this moment

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the good work

      The Capital Grille2013-04-26
    • "Best decision ever!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Server in Fort Worth, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at The Capital Grille full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Money is great, professionalism, company culture, opportunity for growth in one's career

      Cons

      Typical restaurant drama, immaturity and jealousy amongst coworkers

      Advice to Management

      Take care of the people who are a major contributing factor in helping make your restaurant successful.

      The Capital Grille2013-04-20
    • Helpful (1)

      "Fantastic Opportunity"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Server in Milwaukee, WI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at The Capital Grille part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great people to work with and for. True to their motto "Ladies and gentelmen, serving ladies and gentlemen."

      Cons

      At the end of the night you still depend on tips, and some people do not know how to properly tip.

      The Capital Grille2012-12-21
    • "Must have 'game face' on 24/7"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Hostess in Troy, MI
      Recommends

      I worked at The Capital Grille

      Pros

      Networking, organized, leadership, recognition, fun, respectful. Very disciplined and consistent management. I learned a lot about being professional and team work environment.

      Cons

      very stuffy work environment, have to use 'capital grille' vocabulary. I was never offered a raise in the two years employed.

      Advice to Management

      I think the management is amazing. I do not have any advice, in fact I learned a lot from them

      The Capital Grille2011-10-01
    • "Good Practice for Professionalism"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Host in Phila, PA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at The Capital Grille part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Fast-paced, high-intensity, professional environment, exposure to high level professionals, good marketing

      Cons

      Demanding management, sometimes can be rude

      Advice to Management

      Be kind to your employees

      The Capital Grille2019-05-21
    • "Good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Food Server in Burlington, MA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at The Capital Grille part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Money is good for servers

        Cons

        Hard because it can be busy

        The Capital Grille2019-04-18
      Found 144 reviews