The Capital Grille Reviews | Glassdoor

The Capital Grille Reviews

Updated Jun 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 144 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Clarence Otis Jr.
44 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great for students!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hostess in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Capital Grille part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This job was very beneficial to me as I am in college and have very different schedules per semester. It was great to get an accommodating schedule that can work around my schooling.

    Cons

    The biggest con I can think of, is the job can be SUPER boring! when you're by yourself for hours and are not allowed to do anything besides stare out the window it is not fun, but I will say it's usually only summer time that it is boring.

    Advice to Management

    Do not be super strict about guidelines by the handbook! I feel the managers become so obsessed with trying to micromanage us it can become an unpleasant experience.

    The Capital Grille2017-07-14
  2. "Management team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Capital Grille full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Darden is a great company!

    Cons

    Hours are a little long for managers

    The Capital Grille2017-07-03
  3. "Please read"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Capital Grille full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Networking, food discounts, health care

    Cons

    Poor work/life balance, sometimes working for multiple departments, rude guests

    The Capital Grille2017-06-22
  4. "restaurant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Capital Grille full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    organized, industry leader, huge buying power

    Cons

    poor leadership, poor decisions from upper management, corporate atmosphere

    Advice to Management

    listen more to employees concerns

    The Capital Grille2017-06-19
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent opportunities for personal and professional growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bartender in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Capital Grille full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, responsive management, excellent pay, possibility to move into a management position, ability to transfer to other restaurants, free online wine sommelier training, amazing medical dental vision retirement savings and stock purchasing program. At the Cleveland location we have a team oriented front of house, a consistent and professional back of house and solid communication between the two groups....

    Show More

    Cons

    Service industry job so you need to hustle and multi-task. Guests are paying alot for food and drink so consistent, quick, cheerful, and correct service is expected. You will work holidays and weekends- but again this is service industry and it is what we have signed up for.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course.

    The Capital Grille2017-05-27
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at The Capital Grille full-time

      Pros

      Benefits, pay, teamwork, flexible, good food and vibes.

      Cons

      Not much to say here.

      The Capital Grille2017-06-13
    • "Once a great place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at The Capital Grille full-time

      Pros

      High per person average, great repeat clientle, amazing steaks

      Cons

      Menu seldom changes, company management doesn't understand the changing landscape of food service.

      Advice to Management

      Find a more nimble business model.

      The Capital Grille2017-05-16
    • "Good company over all as an employer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Server in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at The Capital Grille full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Good money to be made

      Cons

      Hard work in a heavy corporate environment.

      Advice to Management

      Pay attention to staff.

      The Capital Grille2017-05-16
    • Helpful (2)

      "Great company to work for."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Server in Sarasota, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at The Capital Grille full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Solid clientele, good work hours, great money, supportive management, well structured training for all staff. Continued training throughout your career to help with advancement

      Cons

      There can be challenging guests at time. Benefits for health care are lacking for non management positions. Stress levels through a shift can be high.

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what you're doing

      The Capital Grille2017-04-13
    • "Not at all what I was promised and expected"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Server in Lyndhurst, OH
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at The Capital Grille full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The money (when there are guests) The wine training is informative. The opportunity to network with your guests that may have other opportunities for you.

      Cons

      Managers play favorites. You either have to be a man, or white to be on the large parties. inconsistent business, no real contracts for parties, so people stroll in whenever they want. Everything is always the server's fault and the managers will write you up over absolutely anything. The higher ups come down on them, and it is taken out directly on the employees. The sous chef speaks to everyone like they're worthless....

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Take care of the servers that have shown and proved since we've opened, not your buddy that you'd like to hang out with. Learn how to speak to people like the adults that they are.

      The Capital Grille2017-04-27
    Found 144 reviews