The Carlstar Group Reviews | Glassdoor

The Carlstar Group Reviews

Updated Jun 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 67 reviews

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
27%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
David Roberts
17 Ratings
  1. "Employement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Consultant in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The Carlstar Group for less than a year

    Pros

    The top management is easily accessible. You will have a great work life balance and everyone has a positive attitude.

    Cons

    With less manpower, everyone has huge responsibilities. Depending upon the responsibilities, the individual priorities may shift.

    The Carlstar Group2016-10-05
  2. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Carlstar Group

    Pros

    Everyone is really helpful and positive!

    Cons

    Nothing negative I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    The Carlstar Group2016-09-30
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Wrongful termination"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Operations Supervisor in McDonough, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Carlstar Group full-time

    Pros

    Company has some really good people who are genuine.

    Cons

    Company will terminate yyou based off of false accusations and less than through investigation.

    Advice to Management

    Treat everyone the same and make sure you listen and investigate both sides of any accusations made against associates. Unfair treatment will eventually get the company in legal troubles.

    The Carlstar Group2016-10-24
  4. "Just say no"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Carlstar Group

    Pros

    Certain people are good. That is about as good as it gets. I can not think of anything else to say.

    Cons

    Corporate leaders are horrible. Expect you to work 6-7 days a week. Low pay. Micro managers. Question every decision. Just bad.

    Advice to Management

    Don't be jerks.

    The Carlstar Group2016-10-09
  5. "Be cautious"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Carlstar Group full-time

    Pros

    Coworkers are awesome. Job can be challenging.

    Cons

    IT is severely underfunded.

    Advice to Management

    Fund IT like other companies.

    The Carlstar Group2016-09-09
  6. "Great Place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Carlstar Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Customer focused and dynamic team

    Cons

    Specific and limited tire industry

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on the customer

    The Carlstar Group2016-07-25
  7. "Tire builder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tire Builder in Clinton, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at The Carlstar Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some the workers are pretty nice working with. Pay is okay.

    Cons

    Very hot inside not much ventilation. New management is the saddest cannot be trusted.

    Advice to Management

    Talk to the workers like real people. Management switched the material to something cheap and not worth anything so they can pocket the profits.

    The Carlstar Group2016-08-05
  8. "Design Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Clinton, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Carlstar Group

    Pros

    Not to much to say except I had friends there and enjoyed working with most.

    Cons

    one rotten apple ruins it for everyone!

    Advice to Management

    Take a good look at your people and their capabilities.

    The Carlstar Group2016-07-04
  9. "HR Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Human Resources Intern in Jackson, TN

      I have been working at The Carlstar Group

      Pros

      Decent intern pay or the summer.

      Cons

      Just a little unorganized. No effective communication between management.

      The Carlstar Group2016-05-10
    • Helpful (2)

      "Was a Great Place Until......"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at The Carlstar Group

      Pros

      There are not any pros to working for this place; there used to be but those went away when the new CEO was brought on-board. You know it is bad when many employees who have been there for YEARS start to jump ship.

      Cons

      This place was a good place to work until the new CEO came on board. He talks a big game but talk is cheap. He is BIG into segregation between upper management and regular employees and you feel it. He brings many chiefs in with high salaries yet forgets about the worker bees who make the place run.

      The Carlstar Group2016-05-19
    Found 67 reviews