The Carlstar Group Reviews | Glassdoor

The Carlstar Group Reviews

Updated Jun 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 67 reviews

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
27%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
David Roberts
17 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Aiken, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Carlstar Group

    Pros

    none that i can think of

    Cons

    catty environment. weak plant management. crumble under pressure. Employee safety not priority,

    Advice to Management

    recognize your talent and remember that work is not a country club.

    The Carlstar Group2016-06-09
  2. Helpful (2)

    "manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Carlstar Group full-time

    Pros

    good pay and good location

    Cons

    executive team thinks very highly of themselves

    The Carlstar Group2016-03-30
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at The Carlstar Group full-time

    Pros

    Opportunities for advancement if you're willing to relocate. Freedom to make your own decisions and try new strategies. Opportunities to travel to different facilities and truly get to know the processes and people that make the company profitable.

    Cons

    Inefficient (but improving) supply chain, company routinely struggles to serve internal customers. Nearly every salaried employee is stretched paper thin, tough to get a response from anyone on any non-critical issue. Reactive culture that has most people focused on solving the issue in front of them as opposed to implementing a process to prevent the problem from recurring.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in quality, increase accountability with regard to serving internal customers (distribution, HR, IT, etc), improve machine maintenance and replace failing equipment when possible.

    The Carlstar Group2016-02-17
  4. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The Carlstar Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love my job and my career

    Cons

    I have a long commute to work daily

    The Carlstar Group2016-01-30
  5. "Just for workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at The Carlstar Group

    Pros

    Decent pay, five word minimum so I'm writing this since I can't think of five words of pros.

    Cons

    Everything else. High Turnover, no direction from upper management. High secrecy

    Advice to Management

    Resign

    The Carlstar Group2016-02-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Carlstar Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Carlisle tire and wheel used to be good place to work

    Cons

    Unrealistic and unnecessary inexperienced large number of Managers, VP, Directors etc but lack of front line specialist. Lot of confusion and distraction in corporate level, Lack of guidance, goal metrics etc

    Advice to Management

    Get clear goal, walk you talk, reduce overhead. concetrate on value added employee rather than layers of VP. Be aware of employee dissatisfaction and nostalgia for previous leadership. Be aware of high technical and labor turnoover. Invest in hiring Process engineering, R&D rather than administration work force. The company does not have proper or common structure typical in tire business. Focus more on customer relationship...

    Show More
    The Carlstar Group2016-02-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible Company to work for- lacks concern for employee safety- horrible business practices- discriminates between empl"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Factory Worker in Clinton, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at The Carlstar Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The factory workers are friendly, good people to work with good overall environment with regard to co-workers some supervisors are great Benefits are comparable but dwindling rapidly

    Cons

    Lacks respect or value for lower position employees such as factory workers Disciminates with regard to employees Lacks concern for employee safety Sudden removal of long term benefits

    Advice to Management

    I would like to address the blatant lack of concern for employee safety. Since your company has changed hands, you have become intolerable. Carlisle use to respect and value their loyal employees however since changing hands, have only have you cut benefits for long term employees but you have no concern for employee safety. During severe and dangerous weather, you allow clerical and upper position employees to leave,...

    Show More
    The Carlstar Group2016-01-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Operations Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Edwardsville, KS
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Carlstar Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company with good benefits. Safety is the primary goal of the company to make sure everyone goes home the same way they came to work. Quality is good.

    Cons

    Take care of the customer.

    Advice to Management

    Keep working hard and don't get rid of good, hard-working people.

    The Carlstar Group2015-11-15
  9. "Carlstar Tire builder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Clinton, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at The Carlstar Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, holiday/vacation pay, raises also come quick. A great fast pace hands on production career!

    Cons

    Gets very hot in the summer, can start having to work long ours. (12-16hrs) They decide who stays over for overtime a few hours before shift end.

    Advice to Management

    Great workin experience, but if could start determining who's staying overtime a day before would be perfect.

    The Carlstar Group2015-11-02
  10. "A Company in Pain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Tustin, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Carlstar Group for more than 5 years

    Pros

    CTP sells into all major U.S. distributors.

    Cons

    While they profess to be lean and practice Six Sigma, they don't understand it at all. Morale is terrible. They can't keep anyone with talent.

    Advice to Management

    Spend some real time in Ontario.

    The Carlstar Group2015-11-19
Found 67 reviews