The Carlyle Group Executive Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

The Carlyle Group Executive Assistant Reviews

Updated Dec 10, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
The Carlyle Group CEO Glenn A. Youngkin
Glenn A. Youngkin
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Executive Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Carlyle Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and environment, a lot of internal training opportunities, very good salaries and excellent bonuses, catered lunches for meetings. Very good leadership and diversity is shifting and changing all the time.

    Cons

    No upward growth for EAs.

    The Carlyle Group2018-04-30
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Executive Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Carlyle Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Congenial Environment, Abundant Resources,

    Cons

    Long Hours, Executive Assistant's are typically not offered opportunities for advancement

    Advice to Management

    Promote diversity at all levels, create more professional development opportunities for mid-level employees.

    The Carlyle Group2017-11-28
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great team in NY!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Carlyle Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - great compensation - extremely smart and well connected people - you will learn ALOT - location!

    Cons

    Sometimes you will work long hours but you will always be compensated nicely!

    Advice to Management

    Can only speak to the teams in NY: You're doing a great job!

    The Carlyle Group2016-12-06
  4. "Executive Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Carlyle Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company culture is professional without being too buttoned up. Most all other employees, including high level executives, are friendly and approachable.

    Cons

    There are some departments that make the rules. Can be quite political.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to recruit and hire the best and brightest.

    The Carlyle Group2016-09-09
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Our company merged with The Carlyle Group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Carlyle Group

    Pros

    Benefits, realistic work hours, corporate perks

    Cons

    Politics Inefficient HR No room for growth outside of your track

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees concerns. Don't promote the sense of being ONE if it's not what you mean.

    The Carlyle Group2015-03-09
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Hard work not rewarded"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Carlyle Group

    Pros

    great location. 3 metro stops within a block from the office. great restaurants in the area. They have excellent healthcare benefits.

    Cons

    it's worse than high school. If you are in the "cool" clique, you are golden. If you question what is tasked of you because you want to learn more, watch out. They don't like it when people want to ask and learn. HR needs to well, be an HR department and look out for their employees. I had a situation where a boss was asking me to some personal tasks. I'm not talking getting coffee, either. How about sending his...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Develop an HR department with integrity. Otherwise, one day one of these incidents you sweep under the rug will be to big to sweep away.

    The Carlyle Group2010-05-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great for job stability"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Carlyle Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great salary and benefits Great colleagues (when at similar levels) Nice offices If you fit in, you can be sure you have a stable job.

    Cons

    No room for promotions for EAs. Back office and investors live in 2 different worlds, don't expect to mingle too much except at the summer and Christmas parties Not the most flexible in terms of work/life balance

    Advice to Management

    Open up a bit more to the modern world where remote working is possible . Although advertised on intranet, it is near impossible to move on from a EA position to the next level up.

    The Carlyle Group2018-07-11
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Carlyle Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Management were friendly, atmosphere was great - conservative in a positive way, I felt appreciated and was well-paid. Was given opportunities to expand role and learn a lot.

    Cons

    I can think of very few cons. I very much enjoyed working for the company.

    The Carlyle Group2013-08-18
  9. "Equipe très débordée"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Luxembourg
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Carlyle Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Localisation, en plein centre de la ville Office Manager toujours à l'écoute

    Cons

    Departements débordés de travail, en sous effectif

    The Carlyle Group2018-12-10
Found 9 reviews