The Carlyle Group Reviews | Glassdoor

The Carlyle Group Reviews

Updated 22 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
The Carlyle Group CEO Glenn A. Youngkin
Glenn A. Youngkin
49 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great team in NY!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Carlyle Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - great compensation - extremely smart and well connected people - you will learn ALOT - location!

    Cons

    Sometimes you will work long hours but you will always be compensated nicely!

    Advice to Management

    Can only speak to the teams in NY: You're doing a great job!

    The Carlyle Group2016-12-06
  2. "Power Plant Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Power Plant Operator in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The Carlyle Group for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Pay for what you have to do

    Cons

    Long and changing work shifts

    The Carlyle Group2016-11-21
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Accountant in Rosslyn, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Carlyle Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    + Management focuses on making improving processes. When I first started the accounting department faced a lot of challenges, and over my 3 years here real improvements have been made. + A ton of opportunities for growth + Management is very open to suggestions and shows respect to all employees + Food is regularly provided + Great people to work with + End of year bonus is solid

    Cons

    - We are required to work some weekends and holidays - Could use more balance in work load; Certain times of the year are extremely busy while others are very slow

    Advice to Management

    Keep promoting a positive work environment!

    The Carlyle Group2016-11-04
  4. "Get In if You Can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The Carlyle Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Exposure to top level management and record-breaking deals, Compensation, Elite team, Recognition and Promotions feasible

    Cons

    Commitment and hours, especially when closing deal

    Advice to Management

    None

    The Carlyle Group2016-10-07
  5. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Carlyle Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very smart people, great managers, cool industry, learning environment, friendly coworkers, fast paced and challenging. If you are intelligent and care about doing well, you will really enjoy working here.

    Cons

    Focus is sometimes too much on quantity of hours instead of quality of hours. Some groups seem to look down upon those in other groups. Pros definitely outweigh the cons.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Decrease the pay gap a bit between senior and mid/junior folks. Keep making intelligent decisions.

    The Carlyle Group2016-02-10
  6. Helpful (2)

    "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fund Accountant in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Carlyle Group full-time

    Pros

    great place to work. You will have opportunities to work with many smart people. Great working environment in general, senior management are humble and kind. I have been employed for three years.

    Cons

    overall I think the company is excellent. They pay well and they give you opportunity to grow if you have the capability to do the job. There are two ways for career advancement, first, you are smart, you are outstanding at your work and your boss values career advancement as much as you do. Second, socializing :) I think people do have concerns about their long hours at work and overtimes. However, you will be... able to learn a ton in a very short period of time. So if you are still young and are ambitious or career driven, why not choose Carlyle?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    good company

    The Carlyle Group2015-12-15
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Executive Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Carlyle Group

    Pros

    Most efficient and ethical and successful Private Equity company in the global community.

    Cons

    Obtaining a promotion within the administrative side to a higher level position is not likely.

    The Carlyle Group2015-12-08
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The Carlyle Group full-time

    Pros

    culture, people, team-oriented workplace, great benefits and salary

    Cons

    professional development, few women in the workplace

    The Carlyle Group2015-10-07
  9. "Great Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Carlyle Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Prestigious, well-known, well-respected Fair and reasonable in their dealings with employees Profitable, successful, and definitely provides job-security Collegial co-workers, friendly, and all very committed to doing a great job

    Cons

    Be prepared for long days and hours as dues for yours and the firm's success Sometimes everyone is too busy and overworked but then again, most successful big firms are

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great job and making Carlyle the envy of prestige and success amongst its competitors!

    The Carlyle Group2015-08-04
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Probably least favorite workplace I've been in for IT."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Carlyle Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, compensation, bonus. Some people in the firm are really cool. But without great benefits and pay, there is really no reason to stick around.

    Cons

    No real team value, especially in IT. No help, leadership, or guidance from management. Lots of empty promises on career development. Debit IT management seems to jump from one project to another without finishing anything. Managers also have favorites, based more so on "yes man" than skill. In less than 3 years I've had 3 managers, and no additional training for career development.

    Advice to Management

    Develop your employees. Good compensation without career development created a static environment where most just slide by, and the "good ole boys club" is strong.

    The Carlyle Group2015-01-17
Found 125 reviews